We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location with panoramic views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rigoli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baveno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rigoli
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
wilotshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location with panoramic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Chose this hotel as one of the very few hotels which is directly on the lakeside and away from the busy main road. and were not disappointed. We had a corner room which, as another reviewer mentioned has a slightly smaller balcony but offers a wider view. We agree a refrigerator in the room would be welcome. We ate in one night, which was excellent, we would also recommend La Posta Restaurant in the main square of Baveno, really nice food, friendly staff and a good price.

For a day out take the Maggiore Express to Locarno but be prepared to pay twice the price for food and drink as you would in the \italian part of the lake.

Don't come to Baveno expecting lots of shops and bars, Stressa is the place for this.

To sum up a super position,very clean, friendly staff with excellent breakfasts spent on the terrace overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: pay for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judiWilotshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudiab_11, Proprietario at Hotel Rigoli, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Sirs,
we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay, and we hope we will be in your memories as a place where you spent a nice and relaxing period.
Best wishes from all of us, looking forward to having you here again.
Yours sincerely.
Claudia e Patrizia
Hotel Rigoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    59
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
207
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel lived up to the many excellent reviews we'd seen before we booked it. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake was a fantastic way to start each day, with a good spread of cereals, cheeses and meat, etc, and the option of eggs cooked to order.
The majority of rooms have a balcony with an uninterrupted view of the lake and it's islands. We had a corner room which meant the balcony was smaller than some but offered a more open aspect. It's 'swings and roundabouts' as to which is the better option. The en-suite bathroom (no bath, shower only) was perhaps a little on the small side but this is a very minor complaint. The whole hotel had a genuine charm and the service was excellent. The staff actually looked to be pleased to be working there! I would agree with an earlier review that it would have been nice to have had a refrigerator in the room but, as for the comment someone made about not being able to turn the air conditioning off, we found that turning it up above the room temperature had the effect of turning it off. (i.e It was not configured to provide heat). Having said that, leaving it on a low setting kept the room cool and was virtually silent anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warriewood, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Fantastic family owned hotel in Baveno, Piedmont wiggy great style and comfort.

The staff are amazing, the owners fantastic (note that quite often the staff and owners are one and the same!).

Great food, great location from which to explore this exquisite part of Italy being the lakes and mountains of the north.

Don't forget to hire the hotel's pedal boat for and hour and enjoy a lazy breakfast, with an excellent cappuccino.

This one is for those looking for an unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We wanted a small hotel on the lake in a pretty town accessible by train. This is the perfect match. Waking up to the view and the "lap lap" of the water was so nice. Flowers enhance the whole scene. We ate dinner in the dining room the first night. Food was so delicious and service just right. We never considered eating dinner anywhere else. Staff speaks English and is helpful.
Rodger and Carolyn, Sisters Oregon

Room Tip: Spending the extra for a lake view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbi8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rigoli - perfect setting at the lakeside edge, friendly and helpful staff (we were even spotted waiting for a bus at nearby Feriolo and offered a lift back to the hotel) and starting each day with a splendid breakfast.

Our only reservation was that whilst the quality of the evening meal was very good indeed, it was served up far too quickly.

We thought the "bucket" cable car at Laveno out in the fresh air and able to look in all directions much better than the Stressa cable car , crammed in with other people and trying to see out dirty windows. As for other tours we had excellent service from Maggiore Discovery

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelsoArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We spent 9 nights at the Rigoli spanning the Easter weekend. This is an experience all but lost in the UK - a family run hotel with excellent staff and great food, all at a reasonable price. We paid the half board supplement which is well worth the extra for a four course meal all cooked from scratch. The Easter Sunday buffet was magnificent ( including complimentary prosecco) and the breakfast buffet was sumptuous. The bedroom was clean and functional with plenty of storage. The shower room was a little on the small size but did contain a bidet. The views are stunning - Lake Maggiore and Isola Madre from our room. Well located for the Lake ferries and 10 minutes to the railway station if you fancy a day in Milan or up to Domodossola for the saturday market or trip into Switzerland on the Centovalli line (don't miss this) Will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Pay extra and go for the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithsonscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Lovely hotel run by friendly multilingual staff, right on Lago Maggiore in Northern Italy.

Private shoreline, balconied lake view rooms, fantastic continental buffet breakfast - it all adds up to a lovely stay.

Good value for money!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms don't get afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank absgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.5 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
3.4 km away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
21.6 km away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
0.2 km away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigoli

Property: Hotel Rigoli
Address: Via Piave 48, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Baveno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#2 Family Hotel in Baveno
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigoli 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the lakeside in a quiet, sunny position with a magnidicient view over the Borromeo islands and the Alps in the distance. The only hotel far from the main road. Bedrooms with panoramic balcony overlooking the lake, wi-fi, satellite TV, safe and air conditioning. Panoramic Restaurant and bar, private beach, buffet breakfast served on the terrace by lake. A warm welcome from the family run hotel. Countless opportunities for walks and trips motorboat and ferry far only 5 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rigoli Hotel Baveno
Hotel Rigoli Baveno, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing