We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,788)
Filter reviews
1,788 results
Traveller rating
1,127
417
156
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,127
417
156
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hemingway suite lake view different theme an art gallery ernest hemingway grand dame junior suite star hotel an upgrade old world old style isola bella pool area is gardens are beautiful breakfast buffet is step back in time amazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,788 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of what appeared to be its great location but it was so much more than that! Just a short stroll to downtown and the Embarcadero, the hotel is a great spot for exploring Stresa and the Iles des Borromees. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and kindly upgraded to an amazing junior suite with the most amazing terrace and view of the lake! This view made it difficult to leave the room however we did! The bed was so comfy. The two pillows were not as wonderful. One was very hard and one very soft but they worked for us. I’m sure if we would’ve called for replacements, they would’ve been brought immediately! There was plenty of room to unpack and spread out with double closets, double sinks, a sitting area, a large terrace, plenty of drawer space and windows with electric black out louvres. They offered a large selection of toiletries, cozy robes and turn down service. We were so comfortable during our stay and the comfort came with genuine hospitality. From our first contact via email reservations to our departure, everyone was so kind and pleasant, even joking about how soon we would return and saying, “Back already?” when we returned to load our luggage in our car. The breakfast buffet is included with options for everyone. Scrambled eggs, bacon, salmon, breads, cheeses, pastries, juices, coffees, yogurts, fruits and more. Several tables look out on the lake and there is plenty of room to gather food. The hallways are filled with artwork and the beautiful grounds definitely require strolling. Parking is at no additional charge. There is a to notch restaurant on site and a beautiful lobby bar. The concierge is quick with helpful advice when asked and can assist with restaurant recommendations, which we relied on TA to guide us! We didn’t have time to enjoy the spa or fitness room but they looked amazing! Will definitely make time on our next visit! Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018

Actually, we had a decent rate and were pleased to enjoy an upgrade from garden to lake view room (#311).
The building is like a very comfortable but beautiful museum (check out the tile and marble in the "public" bathroom - near the concierge).
Staff were ALL nice/courteous/friendly/welcoming.
We only had one lunch at the hotel. Prices a-la-carte were not shocking (at all). Included breakfasts were UNBELIEVABLE in selection and quality. Relaxed too.
Room decor was quite opulent - room not super large but efficient. (We could have used AC but, we were there before May 1st <like it's a law or something<G>). That said, the little balcony is a godsend.
The lake and view of the islands and mountains will take your breath away. The "town" commercial area is a short walk away, so, you're not stuck at the hotel.
Lastly, the underground parking (no charge) was quite convenient.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade to lake view. I think lake view MAKES the experience.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JimGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

The hotel garden and lobby are truly beautiful. The dark wood panelled room equally impressive if a bit sad. Obviously the view on the lake is splendid, however do not forget there is a relatively busy road between the hotel and the lake, so sitting on your balcony and contemplating the lake while sipping prosecco is not the dreamlike experience you may be having in mind.
The biggest disappointment was the restaurant, with the daily menu rather average and sadly expedited. Maybe a la carte provides a better experience.
Overall not the greatest vibe. I might prefer to settle for slightly less splendour and a bit more warmth and comfort.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wojtek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

AMAZING place to stay! Our room had view of Lake and balconey. Quite luxurious room and attentive staff! I highly recommend it! The restaurant was wonderful! Hotel was close to ferry, boat and islands off of Lake Maggiore! It was a very wonderful experience

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

I am writing this review sitting on my private balcony overlooking the stunning lake. Please do yourself a favour, forget the expense and stay in this hotel. We have been fortunate enough to stay in many lovely 5 star hotels in the world but this is a must for lovers of fine experiences to enjoy. The service is impeccable, the decor is simply stunning and I feel like I have been transported into another world. We were lucky enough to be up graded to a suite and I feel like I have died and gone to heaven. The breakfast was a feast that will stay in our memories forever . This is an immersion in elegance and please stay here and enjoy a wonderful experience in the most stunning part of the world.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews