We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
299
356
132
34
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
356
132
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rail discoveries lake maggiore opposite the ferry terminal sweet trolley dining room dessert trolley top floor sister hotel small balcony extra pillows single room changed every day excellent location croissants hard boiled eggs half board a lake view room
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 844 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2017

This Holel is a typical grand over the top Italian hotel,and I love it. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely with a turret which looked out on the lake. Breakfast had plenty of choice, no egg or bacon which is not a problem for us but some guests might not like it.

Room tip: Ask for a lake view. Air conditioning not very cold so don't go in middle of summer if you want to stay cool .
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flossie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Thank you, Flossie! We remind you that breakfast is complimentary and included in our rates. Eggs and whatever you prefer is always available à la carte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2017

This was our third stay at this hotel. We had a lovely room overlooking the lake. The Hotel is well placed in the town, close to the lake and where the boats depart.
Breakfast is good and the waiting staff are very helpful and so attentive. The Reception staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. We would definitely return.

Room tip: Would choose a room with a Lake view even though this is a bit more expensive.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank francis738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

What could we say, Francis? Nothing as simple as that we're looking forward to welcoming you back in Stresa. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

Its pretty hard to write this review as despite having a confirmed booking on booking.com when we arrived at the hotel they told us we were actually staying at a different hotel (Regina Palace Hotel) which is down the road. No discussion, apologies, no advanced notice so that we didn't find a park and pay for 24 hours parking outside the wrong hotel. I actually booked a room at Milan Speranza Au Lac because as a photographer I wanted a room facing Isola Bella so I could take photos and monitor light levels. I'm pretty disappointed and would not try booking here again.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank EvilParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Dear Sir, first of all we would like to apologize for the supposed rude attitude of our reception team upon your arrival in Stresa. It's kind of weird because normally our front desk employees are praised for their flawless behaviour. We are investigating the case. As a matter of fact because of unforeseen last-minute raisons we were in over booking on Saturday, June 10th, 2017. Booking.com do not give us your personal data and we were then unable to inform you. Your reservation for a double room standard without lake view was reprotected at nearby Hotel Regina Palace, one of the two leading hotels in Stresa. We offer on all sites two different typology of rooms: standard and lake view. You have chosen the first one and therefore you were accommodate consequently even at the Hotel Regina Palace, which, by the way, is closer than us to the Isola Bella! You should have booked wisely, if we can dare. Sorry, but we cannot trust you concerning the parking. We have an agreement with the Regina Place and all our guests can use the parking complimentary since a long time ago. Nobody was ever unable to find a place to park there! You might have occured in a sort of misunderstanding that we cannot explain. In any case you have already punished us enough with a rating of two out of five. Thank you. All the best and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017

I am really pleased we booked this hotel, although their air conditioning could be a little cooler, it's 31degrees outside, so a lot hotter than we thought it would be.
The location is perfect for catching the numerous boats to the islands in the middle of the lake, and the size of the room is fabulous and beautifully appointed, even has a Murano glass chandelier over he bed.

Room tip: The ones with lake views, whilst a little more expensive, are certainly worth the extra. The double glazing makes for s peaceful room.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Ozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

The Murano glass chandlers have been added to quite a few of our rooms during the two last two off seasons with a big financial effort by our property. It's a great reward for us to gave clients like you that appreciate this sort of improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

This hotel was overlooking Lake Maggiore and we paid a small amount extra in order to have a lake view. It was well worth it. This was my first visit to Italy and was a perfect choice. The hotel, the staff and the choice of excursions were superb.

Room tip: Pay extra for a lake view - well worth it
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

It might be tempting to use your review, Anne, as a great way to advertise our hotel among possible Rail Discovery's clients! Thank you so much and we hope to welcoming you back to Stresa in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews