We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
299
356
132
34
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
356
132
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rail discoveries lake maggiore opposite the ferry terminal sweet trolley dining room dessert trolley top floor sister hotel small balcony extra pillows single room changed every day excellent location croissants bus stop hard boiled eggs half board
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 844 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for one night driving through the lakes region. I chose it since it's in the main area of Stressa next to the lake. It does not seem like a 4 star hotel. The room was very small, and the bathroom had a sliding door that you can't close properly. The bed was the worst-with springs coming out and a huge gap between two matraces. It seemed like the bed and the pillows are at least 20 years old. Breakfast is kind of short and there is not much space-we were escorted to a separate building. Oh yea and my stroller barely fits in the elevator. A baby crib is possible for extra price, butthere's really no space to put it in the room.
The staff is quite nice.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DainaZvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

It would have been fair and edifying to discuss your issues directly on the spot with our resident manager instead of writing a terrible review just for the sake of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Stayed here for 4 nights. Found this hard to review because it depends on your particular needs and likes. My wife couldn’t make trip and so I ended up booking a single bed - basically the cheapest room I suspect.

The hotel is actually 2 hotels next to each other. I was in the milan one.
The room was very small and had really thin walls - which didn’t worry me but I was sick and was coughing all night so applogies to the people either side of me. It did have a little balcony with great view of lake which was nice. Mattress was on its last legs and air con struggled with humidity. Internet was good. Parking and I think the swimming pool is actually at another hotel about 5 minutes walk up the road. There is a parking area out front of the hotel that serves the ferries but it was full when I arrived and it took me 30 minutes to find some parking to check in.

Location was excellent though. Price was reasonable. Reakfast was typically Italian and good. Didn’t eat at restraunt for other meals, but menu looked a bit more expensive than other places that I ate at.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SydM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

We supply complimentary parking as well. It is clearly stated everywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Very small room but great views both from the bed and outside on the balcony. Unfortunately smoking is allowed on the balcony so if you are unfortunate enough to have a smoker next door as we did one night the balcony becomes unusable.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank FloraDora2057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

We do our best in order to combat this scouge called smoking but we cannot forbid it on the balconies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

The room looks like as it was furnitured 20 years ago. There is no fridge! Shame.
You have to wait 1 minute to have hot water from shower (2nd floor).

The air condition is extremely loud, and very obsolete. If you dont have a view of the lake, you can watch the other houses.

The breakfast is average. The juices are terrible, full of sugar and water.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank class_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Wow, you have definitely made the wrong choice! Thanks a lot anyway for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Stayed 4 nights and found the motel to be quite nice. Everything was clean and had a Great Lake view out of the window. Did have a balcony and although small we could sit outside.

Really good location and an easy walk to most things.

Will mention that the motel does not have a pool but as other reviewers have noted if you ask you can get a voucher which allows you to use the pool at the Hotel Regina Palace which is about a 150 m walk. Lovely pool and you can get a towel from the person on duty in the pool area. Great spot to swim at the end of the day.

No tea/coffee making facilities in the room which l find really annoying and if you do ask at the bar they will provide you with a t bag, milk, cup and hot water but there is a charge of 4 euro which l do not think is appropriate for a paying guest.

Breakfast was ok

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Kettles are available free of charge upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews