We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
178
148
39
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
148
39
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la fontana homemade pastries charming owner lake maggiore family run hotel minute walk along the lake minutes walking huge balcony every morning mid september old fashion nice breakfast charming hotel night's sleep booked this hotel cable car to mottarone third floor
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 378 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We only stayed here one night but would thoroughly recommend. We were travelling by train - it was an easy walk from the station and conveniently located for the town centre and lakeside. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff charming. The owner, in particular, was warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louisy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Because of the information from the hotel, we arrived early enough to visit the Borromees islands. The hotel is located near those beautiful hotels facing the lake. It is not as impressive as those, but it had a nice garden and fountain. We stayed for one night and had room number 33, with a huge terrace facing the lake. The room itself is not very modern and the bathroom would be in need of an upgrade (especially the hair dryer and shower), but the terrace and view made up for these setbacks.
The breakfast was very good, home made goodies and friendly service. I think that this b&b would benefit from a facelift, but we still enjoyed our stay in Stresa, a nice little town to relax and visit, especially the islands by boat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for a few nights. I would say it is an old family-run hotel with a B&B feeling. Good breakfast with sweet and salty options. Clean. I think it is more suited for old couples, even the shower had a double step-better fit for showering sitting down-I think. The owner was very attentive and was quick to answer our questions. He asked us twice what time we were planning to arrive at night. I don't think you can arrive late because it is only the owner opening the door... But we didn't plan to party late so it was fine. Location was perfect. Good value for your money.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank lematovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Due to a mess-up with other accommodation, we booked a room here the day before arriving. Good choice! The hotel, in an restrained Art Deco style, has the sort of faded old world charm that is so much more memorable and enjoyable than a modern, all mod cons, chain hotel. The owner too was absolutely charming and could not have been more helpful. He gave my wife and I one double room, and our teenage daughters the adjacent room, with our large balconies (plenty of room with table, chairs, loungers) connecting. The rooms were comfortable and air-conditioned. The hotel grounds were spacious, with a fountain and plenty of chairs and tables in the shade. The buffet breakfast was continental, with varied pastries, breads and fruit, and very ample. The hotel is on the main lake-side road, but set well back and so not noisy. It is 5 mins walk from the station, 5 mins from ferries to the islands, and 10-15 minutes walk into the centre of town. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a large balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Professor_Null
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

I have mixed feelings for this hotel. Considering the price we paid, I think the hotel offers a good ratio between the quality offered and what you pay for. It is clearly a very old fashion family run hotel, that probably has not been touched since decades. You can see this from the rooms, that have very old furniture, not so good paining at the walls and a quite uncomfortable bed. The bathroom is also really old, and the shower is a bit dangerous with a strange double step inside: if you do not see it, there is the risk of falling. The good things are the nice owner, always kind and available and indeed a nice breakfast for Italian standard. The park is quite big and nice, and some rooms have a very good view over the lake and the islands. The position is fine, ten minutes walk from the town, but right on the main road. So in the night you can hear quite a lot of noise from the cars that pass by all the time. So, in the end, it could be fine for few days if you do not want to pay the very high prices of downtown Stresa and are fine with these issues.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews