We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
40
74
28
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
74
28
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car small friendly hotel indoor pool fish or meat main town tea towels quiet area minute walk to the centre lovely little hotel ferry stop public ferries veal rover ticket croissants comfortable room locarno in switzerland boat station
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 155 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2017

Very clean and comfortable room, attentive and friendly staff, good food.
Close to the lake and the cable car up mount Mattarone.
A pleasant 20 minute walk to the centre of Stresa along the lakeside.
About 15 minutes walk to the station allowing easy access to Milan and other towns on the lake.
Carlo the owner acts as the Maitre d' at dinner and is genuinely multilingual: a very pleasant and courteous man.
My only criticism is that, although the food is good, the menus could be a little more varied and adventurous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view and balcony
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank geoffandtrish2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

This hotel is close to the Isola Bella which you access by boat. However, the town centre is .900 metres walk away that can be very tiring, particularly if you are an older person. The town can be accessed by boat, however be careful, as the service finishes at 5.30pm and you will have to walk back to the hotel. Taxis are rare and require a phone call, probably from your hotel if you plan ahead.

The Hotel is extremely clean and the staff are very friendly and you can tell they are family orientated and just beautiful people. We asked about laundry and for for 4 euros we did our washing in the actual hotel laundry, to which we were so thankful. The hotel has a set menu for dinner (you have two choices of meal) for 25.00 euros, you are waited on very professionally, however I was not really that impressed with the food itself and did not think it was worth the money. We had veal which was a little tough and had no sauce. I didnt want to tell them and offend them because they were so nice.The hotel did provide breakfast which was very nice.

The following evening, I did the 900 metre walk into town and visited again a cafe in the inner centre of town called Caffe Torino, P.zza Cadorna, 23 - Stresa. OMG you have to taste their Minestrone (vegetable) soup. 10/10 and the pastas and Veal were exceptional. The prices were very good.

In regards to staying at this hotel, you have to outweigh the serenity of being close to Isobel Bella ( which is a must to see, the castle, gardens and palace are extraordinary) to being in town itself and close to shops).

Room Tip: Rooms on the Isobel Side have a small view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017

This hotel served us very well for our holiday. Its a nice base, no entertainment, food good, although did get a bit predictable. The hotel is next to the lido, and many boats go from here, but if you want to visit the main part of Stresa it is about a mile, a lot if hot,as we went in August. It is a beautiful view from the lido. The cable car is literally next door which is handy. The hotel is very clean, and well kept, staff ok, polite, not overly friendly. One reception lady was quite abrupt! Our cleaner was brilliant and friendly. Head waiter, we believe he was, was entertaining, others nice, again one abrupt waitress. There is a nice small indoor pool, open all times. So all in all, definitely not a bad experience, although I wouldnt say amazing. This hotel was cheaper, which does have to be a consideration. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: We had a rear room, was ok and quiet. If you get a room facing the lido, the view is lovely. Some inward rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

When arriving at this hotel, we were warmly greeted by helpful staff and given tips on the sights and attractions. The breakfast buffet was lovely and the service was great. We found the rooms to be quite dated in terms of decor, bed coverings, bathroom towels and general functioning of the bathroom facility. Although the room appeared to be clean, we found hair in our bed sheets upon checking in to our room and on the towels in the bathroom. The pillows on the bed were very thin as well which did not make for a comfortable sleep. The greatest benefit to staying in this hotel is the location; it is away from the main town which makes for a peaceful stay but very close to the boat docks.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank L905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

The hotel is situated out of the main town of Stresa but very close to boats and cable car.
The hotel was very quiet when we stayed especially after dinner, the bar area is nice but the bar itself was very limited.
Most of the staff helpful and Carlos at dinner is areal asset.
Smallest wine glasses i have ever seen but the limited wine list sufficed.

Room Tip: Most rooms with lake obscured by cable car building
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews