We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Ranked #54 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This property sits on an intersection along the very busy Via Melchiorre Gioia near Milan Centrale station. The immediate neighbourhood is typical of the dreary residential areas surrounding major railway stations all over the world. But that is where the bad news ends. The hotel itself is a relatively new property. Rooms are spacious, modern (without being hip or cutting edge), warm and well appointed. A sense of understated luxury is invoked. The gym at the top floor has large windows with views stretching to the mountains north of Milan. It has a new treadmill, cross trainer and stationary bike as well as a small area for stretching and/or light lifting (a set of very funky module style free weights is provided). The breakfast is a large and tasty spread. The hotel is located next to Sondrio metro station from where trains run every 3 to 5 minutes into the heart of Milan which is 10 minutes/4 metro stations away. Given the high room rates of many Milan hotels I consider that this hotel offers good value and a comfortable stay in Milan.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay over a weekend ask for a room on an upper floor facing the street. There is a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a couple of days in Milan and needed somewhere that family of four could stay relatively inexpensively. This place was great - interconnecting rooms, very quiet (when you had the windows closed) and very nicely appointed. Also above the train station, 3 stops to the city for 1.50 euro. Beds were great ...and an iron, not usually found in Italian hotels!

Breakfast was included in our tariff and it was excellent. We didn't use the restaurant but ate nearby, in a terrific little pizza place.

It's also only a 5 min walk to the Central Station, exceptionally handy as we took day trips to Lake Como on the fast train.

Downside? No convenience stores nearby, and a bit seedy if you went far from the hotel but perfectly safe.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high floor if you can. There's no view but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardlizkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is probably my favorite hotel in Milano. The room are small but very nice, the service is great, it's really at the subway station. Once I had to cancel my first night at the hotel for a problem and I cancelled really last minute but they were so kind that at the end they didn't ask me to pay. Beds are really confortable and the bathroom is very beautiful. Only suggestion: breakfast is good but could be better.

Room Tip: If you are member of the hotel chain, you get free wifi which unfortunately is quite rare in Italy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcello68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were clean but rather small, so as in most Europe hotels.
Breakfast was good. Bathroom door was a nuisane, got locked in and had trouble opening it from inside because of the small handle.
Rooms had aircon so it was cool and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked our Italy vacation through virgin vacations. We selected our the tier 2 rate for accommodations so I honestly didn't have high hopes for the hotels....but this exceeded my expectations. Yes, space is tight. But what eurpean hotel is big and spacious? They must have recently renovated because the hotel and rooms were in very near new condition. This was bar far the best hotel we stayed in on our Italy trip. Its literally at a metro stop,just a few stops from the duomo. Other than that to far from the Brera district. Definitely worth the price for the quality. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is walking distance to Milano Centrale. Metro station is just outside the hotel making it very convenient to go to places using the metro.

Rooms are good size compared to other hotel rooms we’ve stayed in Italy. Spotlessly clean bathrooms. Beds are very comfortable and the free sleeping aroma kits are brilliant! We stayed in adjoining rooms with good view of the streets outside the hotel.

Staffs are very accommodating. We asked for free WiFi and they send us the password. We asked for late check-out and we were allowed to stay until 4pm. We were also able to use the computer and printer which come really handy when we need to check-in online and print our boarding pass. We arrived in Milan late in the evening and decided to have dinner in the hotel. We we’re served with glass of Prosecco each for free and the chef even came out to ask one of my friends who ordered a steak how he wanted it done (which is very unusual).

Because the weather is terrible while we were in Milan, we ended up staying more in the hotel. But that wasn’t a bad thing because the hotel is lovely and we were accommodated very well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippydory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stay here if you plan to take the train as it's a few blocks away--super convenient. Free WiFi--though cumbersome due to Italian law. Rooms were comfy and large. Parking was expensive, but convenient. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank therealjoeyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 431 in Milan
2,767 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#36 of 431 in Milan
1,386 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#102 of 431 in Milan
1,007 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#51 of 431 in Milan
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Milan
#33 Business Hotel in Milan
#48 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $170 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing