We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One star feels too generous”
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio
Ranked #372 of 431 Hotels in Milan
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The only positive thing about this hotel is it's location - minutes away from the metro station that offers a direct connection to the train station and the centre of Milan.

The room itself was very small and dated. The decor clearly hasn't been updated in at least 20 years. It was also very hot and stuffy, and we had to pay extra for aircon.

The bathroom was even worse - the shower made me feel extremely claustrophobic as it is so small, I simply could not move. Hairdryers are provided upon request, but I wish I hadn't requested one - simply not good enough.

The breakfast was equally disappointing. The coffee machine was broken for the entire duration of our stay (3 nights of horror). The pastries were stale, and I noticed a distinct lack of yogurts after the first morning - almost as if the breakfast buffet was only restocked once a week.

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, so book at your own risk...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Business trip, the hotel is situated near Naviglio Grande , you can go to the Darsena on foot. Good wi-fi, kindness, the room was clean and with a balcony access. At breakfast you can have a lot of choices. Satisfied.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Danila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Well situated and Nice employées If you go to wonderful apollo club or charming al verde trattoria but walls are very thin and you heard everything that happen next rooms. And the night was cold, no heater end no money back..

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z3670XUthierryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

While not a luxury hotel, it offers the basic services at reasonable price, on a pretty good location...a shot walk away form the navigli, and well connected to the rest of the city attactions. The attention is usually not the best, but I've found that all over Italy in al kinds of lodgings, so I'm not going to underscore it for that.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Definitely I don't really understand how Italian authorities star hotels. A 2* hotel in the rest of Europe is much more. A 2-metre-high window facing nowhere... A helpful, nice guy received you. The place is clean.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank JuanAPenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Small hotel with friendly staff. very convenient location for me. rooms were quiet small. but as i was single it was ok for me and as i had a budget constraint i preferred this place. simple breakfast

Room Tip: If you have have a thin pocket and not expecting large rooms you could think of this hotel. Staff ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank brsvasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

I stayed here a few years ago, and knew going into it that it would be a budget experience given the price and ratings. But this experience was by far one of the worst I've had in my life, even given those lower expectations. Not sure if the same front-desk agent is there, but he made my stay a nightmare. At the time, I spoke barely any Italian, and he threatened to call the cops as he accused me of breaking a lightswitch in the room (which I never touched). On the 2nd night, there was no hot water in my room, so he moved me to a shared room with 3 other guests. I asked for a private room (which is what I paid for) but he again threatened to call the cops. I couldn't negotiate with him since I didn't speak his language, and finally I asked if I could just leave. He told me I owed him the remaining nights' rates. It was an awful experience, and I eventually just left and paid the remaining tab.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Marte Milano
Hotel Marte Milano
#371 of 431 in Milan
91 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Dateo Milano
Hotel Dateo Milano
#370 of 431 in Milan
191 reviews
3.9 km away
Milano Hotel America
Milano Hotel America
#300 of 431 in Milan
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Trentina
Trentina
#404 of 431 in Milan
254 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Edy
Hotel Edy
#242 of 431 in Milan
237 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Berlino
Hotel Berlino
#156 of 431 in Milan
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Address: Via Cardinale Ascanio Sforza 73, 20141 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $95 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mercurio 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercurio Hotel, which has been completely restructured with a 24 hour reception, is ready to welcome you with 19 classically styled rooms, all of which are equipped with: private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, telephone, TV Lcd and free wi-fi internet connection. Our two stars hotel, situated in the south of Milan near Porta Ticinese, is a great base for spending an enjoyable week-end due to the numerous bars and restaurants located in the "Navigli" district. Thanks to its proximity to the Tangenziale Ovest (the West Ring Road) [exit: Viale Liguria] it is easily reached from the motorway. It is also a great position for reaching the Forum di Assago, venue of a lot of national and international concerts... The Mercurio Hotel has a warm atmosphere thanks to the two young managers who will look after your every need in a kind and professional manner. Furthermore, the Gaetano Pini, San Paolo and Humanitas hospitals are situated very near to us and we have special prices throughout the year for guests who are also attending these hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing