We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast in Milano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porta Garibaldi B&B
Ranked #20 of 284 Milan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I booked Porta Garibaldi B&B from reviews that I read here on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. This is a good location from which to explore Milano, about 20mins to walk to the Duomo and 5mins to walk to Porta Garibaldi train station. We stayed at Porta Garibaldi in Feb for 4 nights. The house is clean and spacious, with a functioning kitchen. Alessandra is a great host and runs an exceptional B&B. She provided milk, yogurt, bread, bacon, coffee and tea for breakfast.
Highly recommend this place and we will certainly be staying here next year we are in Milano.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

This B&B is what you need in a major city like Milan: bright and spotless, fully functioning kitchen, close to everything and Alessandra is a resourceful, terrific host. It is really an apartment and the layout was excellent for the two adults and one child when we were there. Like Milan, the decor is bright and modern. It is in a good location and takes about 20 minutes to walk to the duomo, but if you get sidetracked into the fashion or food shops it could take longer, say half or a full day! It is also close to two Metro stops if you are in a hurry and one of these is the Porto Garibaldi regional station, without the common hassles this could give. I think Milan is a city that should be explored slowly and lived in a little. Out time was too short and we need to do this now we have found a place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This must be the ideal place to stay both for position, comfort and facilities. We only had a night as a short break in Milan, a longer stay would be better. We also like the help yourself breakfast idea. However the appartment was so well equipped and so much food was provided we could have had lunch and dinner too. There was a microwave plus hob, Expresso machine( perhaps expected on Italy) but also a teapot! AND kettle! Lots of provisions including home made cake, fresh fruit and nuts, eggs, bacon equivalent, yog, wonderful preserves and honey. The decor was funky/ stylish with even the washing up sponge matching the colour scheme. The bathroom had a excellent power shower, and a help yourselves to towel attitude.I am also a light sleeper and there was some road noise, but as it was a background continuous hum my sleep was not disturbed. I am a window open freak, but the modern shutters and window closed with the a/c would work. The area is great with good shops and a variety of restaurants. The walk to the centre is 20 mins or so past interesting shoe shops especially. ( restrained myself to 2 pairs!). A further great bonus for us was car parking.

Room Tip: only one appartmaent available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank difficultoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portagaribaldi, Proprietario at Porta Garibaldi B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much for your great review! I am very happy that
you had a pleasant stay with us. We try our best to make every stay enjoyable
(and the homemade food is one of our specialties). We have double glazed
windows and provided the B&B with top quality air conditioner/heater, so that
our guests can sleep peacefully. We are looking forward to having you with us
again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at Porta Garibaldi in January 2012 for four nights. The place is clean and modern. Alessandra decorated the place nicely. She provided me with a bottle of water, milk, eggs, yogurt, bread, cookies, coffee, tea and some sweets for breakfast. There were plenty of new towels in the closet. Alessandra lives next door therefore I felt very secure. The bed was comfortable as well. However, the street noise can be disturbing at night if you are sensitive. There was also a construction around the building as well. The location was good, it was minutes away to metro stations. There is a very good bakery nearby for a cup of espresso and a pastry. I was very satisfied to stay at Porta Garibaldi B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mungmung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Our first impression when Alessandra opened the door was 'wow!' The small studio apartment was so bright and fresh and modern - it was such a surprise to find this behind the grey, dull exterior. Alessandra welcomed us with homemade cakes and a personalised welcome message in the bathroom, which was such a nice touch! The fridge had yoghurt, milk, cheese, butter, bacon and filtered water. The little pantry had bread, biscuits, jams, teas - everything we needed. Alessandra lives just next door and was happy for us to buzz her if we needed anything restocked. We stayed for 3 nights - a Thursday, Friday and Saturday. The first night we had an excellent sleep but unfortunately our last two nights were not the same. The late night revellers from nearby clubs congregated in the street below our window (the apartment is on the fourth floor) where there is an all-night pizza shop and the noise kept us awake until 5am. We closed the windows and the shutters but nothing helped. Other than this I couldn't fault Porta Garibaldi - I will still rate it as excellent because no one else complained about the noise and it could be that we were just unlucky. It also seems that the road in front of the b&b is a temporary cul-de-sac due to some nearby construction, so a lot of people are parking their cars there and then returning to them late at night. So maybe when the road is open again this won't be an issue. So other than lack of sleep we had a great stay! The location is excellent and within walking distance of the shopping strips and duomo, and there are tons of great restaurants nearby. Oh, and there is also a laundromat within in walking distance if needed!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalaharikoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portagaribaldi, Proprietario at Porta Garibaldi B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your very nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed
our B&B, even though I am sorry to hear about your trouble sleeping. As you
mentioned, there is temporary construction going on in an adjacent road (not in
ours, but around the corner), so some extra cars are forced to park closer to
our building. This can cause a few extra coming and goings of people and
vehicles, hence the higher noise level. Staying in the centre of Milan always
means compromising with the lively sounds of an Italian city!
The road's viability will be back to
normal very soon and we are sure that you will not have the same problem again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This was our first experience in a B&B. We've always stayed in hotels and I normally don't feel worried if my kids play in the hotel. I was worried of staying in a home where I've to be extra careful that my kids don't get hyper but I didn't get any room at any good hotel in Milan for the day I planned to stay. I had no choice but to take the B&B and we are happy that it happened so. We enjoyed our stay perfectly at Porta Garibaldi. My kids were co-operative and felt happy staying there. They loved the cup cakes the host had thoughtfully kept in the kitchen. If we are to go to Milan again I'll now book at Porta Garibaldi knowing that there is a place that will be safe and nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoba_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portagaribaldi, Proprietario at Porta Garibaldi B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy that
you had a pleasant stay at Porta Garibaldi. Our aim is to make everyone feel at
home and we understand that travelling with children can sometimes be
tiresome...we believe a freshly baked muffin will make any kid smile :) Looking
forward to having you and your nice family again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at Porta Garibaldi B&B in Milan for 2 nights in May 2011.
After being delayed at Glasgow airport for 7 hours due to high winds we didn't get to Porta Garibaldi until 5am! We had got in touch with the owner, Alessandra to let her know we were delayed so she was expecting us at that time! Even though it was 5am Alessandra was very welcoming and showed us around the apartment.
The Apartment is spotless, very modern and the bed is very comfortable. The fridge was well stocked with food and Alessandra had even made some home-made cakes. The coffee in the morning was fantastic!!
The B&B is in a great location, very close a piazza with a few bars and really nice restaurants. It is only a 5-10 minute walk to the city underground which will take you right into the city centre in 5 minutes.
Our train to Padova wasn't leaving till 6pm but we had to check out of the room at 11am as there were other guests coming. Alessandra was kind enough to keep our luggage for the day to allow us to do more sightseeing around Milan before catching our train to Padova.
We can't thank Alessandra enough for her help and hospitality. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend Porta Garibaldi to anyone travelling to Milan.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GraemeandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portagaribaldi, Proprietario at Porta Garibaldi B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for your appreciative review of our Bed & Breakfast. We
try to attend to the personal needs of each client, making sure that you enjoy
your stay in Milan as much as possible. Our service is individual and friendly
and we were very glad to help out. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
nhow Milano
#29 of 431 in Milan
2,048 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#165 of 431 in Milan
6,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Milano
#65 of 431 in Milan
1,725 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Garibaldi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Garibaldi B&B

Address: Viale Pasubio 8, 20154 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 284 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price Range: $160 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Porta Garibaldi is a studio with it's own private entrance, fully renovated in the year 2009, located between the areas of Garibaldi, Brera and Isola. Just a few steps away you will find art galleries and museums, cinemas and theatres, the city's best fashion stores, as well as an exciting night life rich with savoury international and local restaurants.The apartment skilfully combines modern and colourful furniture with design pieces and all the comforts of a real hotel, brought together by the warmth and care of a family home.Porta Garibaldi welcomes up to two people, in two separate twin beds or one large double bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Porta Garibaldi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Garibaldi Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing