We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a most enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a most enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Absolutely fantastic. From the moment I pulled up in the car I was greeted both with enthusiasm and importance. On entering the reservation staff greeted me by name and had my early check in ready to go. I was upgraded to a Junior suite which was very nice. I had the the Assistant Manger welcome me and escort to my room. The room was well appointed and I thought the location of the Hotel was very good. My only disappointment was that I only had time to stay there for 1 night, but will be back next time I'm in Milan. Thank you again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris13Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    131
    44
    12
    7
See reviews for
128
298
55
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed here recently for a long weekend after being recommended by friends. I was greeted on my arrival by friendly helpful staff. The hotel is stylish and elegant and my room was situated in the inner courtyard which was very quiet. The bathroom was large and spacious and had a lovely walk in shower. In a previous review they had complained about the tv and internet but i didn't go to Milan to stay in my room as there is so much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel ie the Duomo, La Scala, restaurants and fantastic shopping!!
The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and served in a bright sunny room and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. In the evening i was joined by friends and we had drinks in the comfortable and elegant bar. I loved my stay at this hotel and would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room dont have one facing the street - ask for one in the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Grand Hotel is a great combination of old and new world. The rooms are lovely and have all the modern conveniences. The 24 hour room service is great if you're working international hours. I was there the week after Fashion Week and they were still having events at the hotel. It is a stone's throw from great fashion stores. You are in the heart of Milan and can walk everywhere. It was a great base from which to tour a beautiful city. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauaidudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I love this hotel. I stay here in business but would love to come on vacation. It is excellent for business but would be lovely for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_and_pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend on my first trip to Milan, in the Maria Callas Suite. Arriving jet-lagged and sleep deprived, the surroundings were overwhelmingly beautiful. From the high-ceilings, to the tall windows, classic decor, large bathrooms and general opulence, I couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to experience the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_N28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were greeted by professional staff upon check in. Each of them are courteous and efficient.
Also, the location of the Grand Hotel was the best for shopping and spending a few days in Milan. It is literally across Via Napoleone and it is very convenient.
The room is classically decorated, not too old school but the color is very neutral and comfortable. Our room is very spacious (fitting all 4 giant pieces of luggage - we just finished skiing in Switzerland!) and the bathroom is also very spacious (what a treat in Europe!)

The concierge deserves a special mention as they helped us with getting the "Last Supper" tickets on line. They also made numerous restaurant recommendations and bookings for us. Thank you Walter and Tarik!!!

We will certainly come back to the Grand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

A very nice hotel in a good location, the bar and restaurant served excellent drinks and food. Yet again the down fall of the hotel is that you have to pay for wifi they give free Internet access on the TV but you can not down load so useless for most people, why 5 star hotels do this when basic hotels give free wifi, makes me look elsewhere when booking.
The rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy try and avoid these rooms as I think Ferrari do there testing here, by the noise at night.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing the street they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,623 reviews
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
599 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Property: Grand Hotel et de Milan
Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing