We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel/Not the best location”
Review of Melia Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Milano
Ranked #65 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Overall a good stay. The staff is excellent and always willing to help. Rooms are large, modern and clean. The gym needs some work.
The breakfast is top level and room service as well. Overall a great hotel for business. But the location is far from any nice walking areas. This is mostly a business hotel. Not recomendable for families with children (no special childrens activities)
But based on the rooms, space and quality, it is a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BosteroBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

We needed a room for one night and paid the unpublished Expedia.com price for this hotel. We unfortunately arrived on a day that the national football team was staying there and couldn't get into our room until 8pm, because our room wasn't ready. The man at the desk was a little rude and was semihelpful when it came to helping us find something to do to fill our time. They did give us free Internet and an upgrade for our inconvenience, so he redeemed himself in the end. The hotel is not in the best area and is NOT surrounded by shopping, but is near the Metro. Although the rooms were clean, the bathtub didn't hold the water, which was a drag after a day of traveling by train from Venice. It is located about 45 minutes from the airport by car and 35 by train. For 90 euros the hotel will provide a car or you an just take the Metro, which is faster and cheaper.In my experience the service seems to be better at 4 star hotels. I'm also wondering if we would have been treated better if our room was booked directly with them and not through a travel site. Since our room was already paid for, the man at the desk didn't feel the need to keep our business by being cordial. Although he later made up for his behavior, our initial interaction was less than favorable. The best way to choose a good room would be to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Price level and breakfast are really 5-star, but the rooms very not in especially good fit (especially the bathrooms; toilet was leaking, some paint was hanging from the roof, wc-paper & kleenex stands falled on the floor). Check-in and check-out in the lobby took very long time - althoug the room was booked and garanteed with a credit card. Also the hotel is situated in quite a quite boring neighbourhood. Easy access from the airport with the shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Some upper level (5th) rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 189934Kap64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Perfect Location
Excellent and quite Rooms
Excellent Breakfast,
Excellent Staff service

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rezi-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear rezi-x

Thank you for choosing the Meliá Milano and for sharing your experience with us.
We are thrilled to see that we surpassed your expectation, our Team will be delighted to know that you appreciate our friendliness and our Service and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

e-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Hotel in Milan for our wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out, it was fantastic.
We came early (about 11am) and registered since we couldn't fully check in. When we came back in the late afternoon, our luggage had already been taken to our room and the key was sitting ready at the desk. All very smooth and very 'five star'!
Our room was absolutely lovely - bigger than we were expecting, perfectly clean and very well appointed. The free one hour of internet per room per day is a nice touch.
We didn't eat in the restaurant at any point, so can't comment on that.
The gym is fantastic - this is the best hotel gym I've been to in Europe. Very big and lots of equipment.
The spa treatments looked good and the prices fair for a hotel spa, but they were heavily booked and there wasn't an appointment at a time that suited me, so I didn't try it.
The hotel is very close to the metro, which makes this a VERY convenient location - it's out of the hustle and bustle of the city (very quiet at night, which is good for light sleepers), but only 10 minutes from the centre.
The staff are excellent - every single interaction we had was perfect. Particularly the spa & gym staff who I spoke with quite a lot - they were genuinely interested in helping and it seemed like nothing was too much trouble.
We will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Vicky_TR

Congratulations on the milestone reached first, and thank you for sharing with us your feelings about the experience at Meliá Milano.
We were delighted to read your comments and to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

e-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a very nice hotel. I can't comment on the price because my company took care of everything. Friendly front desk staff. Very nice and spacious rooms. Everything spotless, especially the bathroom. Nice workout facitlity and business office to get online or print out documents. Nice quiet par of town with a subway and supermarket right around the corner. Several places to grab a simple breakfast or lunch. Nice area to go running. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RADARSHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear RADARSHE

Thank you for choosing the Meliá Milano and for sharing your experience with us.
We are thrilled to see that we surpassed your expectation, our Team will be delighted to know that you appreciate our friendliness and our Service and we very much look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I have stayed at the Melia a few times over the years and was never disappointed. My stay this week was no exception, its a good standard hotel which does most things very well and is in a good location near to the Fiera and the San Siro Stadium. Rooms are comfortable and clean if a little dated. Think the WiFi should be free though as its quite slow and not reliable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear Martin H

Thank you for sharing with us your feelings about the experience at Melia Milano.
We passed your message to the entire Staff, it is a strong motivational tool and a good way to thank the Team for the Passion put everyday in the job.
We catch the opportunity to say that Melia Hotels International is working to offer soon a better Wi-Fi connection in all our Hotels.
We hope to see you soon at Melia Milano.

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 431 in Milan
1,747 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Ramada Plaza Milano
#58 of 431 in Milan
1,363 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 431 in Milan
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Milano

Address: Via Masaccio 19, 20149 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Milan
#22 Spa Hotel in Milan
#56 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#69 Business Hotel in Milan
#77 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: C$165 - C$703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Milano 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Milano is so tailored to your needs that it may deserve an entirely different name: yours! Located in the most dynamic and fastest growing district of Milan, near the EXPO 2015 pavilions, the district of CityLife, the brand new area of Porta Vittoria to which AC Milan moved its legendary museum, LG, Vittoria Assicurazioni and many other international companies, next to Lotto underground station and 10 minutes from MiCo Congress Centre and San Siro Stadium, the Melia Milano is proud to present its newly renovated hotel designed with only you in mind: the brand new THE LEVEL Lounge, the largest in Europe with services including private check-in & check-out, private breakfast and afternoon cocktails; 56 brand new THE LEVEL rooms & suites with exclusive services and amenities; the brand new Jigger Food & Cocktail Bar where fresh Mediterranean cuisine is combined with an exclusive selection of premium drinks and signature cocktails; a brand new plenary room for up to 520 delegates. The Melia Milano has reinvented everything. Or almost everything. There is one thing it does not want to change: its characteristic personalized customer service and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Milano Hotel Milan
Sol Melia Milano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing