We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated - should be 3 star and ranked in 200s on tripadvisor”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I'm beginning to lose faith in tripadvisor rankings. Being number 5 on this list and a 4 star hotel I would expect a decent sized room and level of service. We had just stayed 4 nights in Rome in a 4 star hotel ranked in 200s on tripadvisor but room/service was fantastic. Hotel Berna was opposite.

First, the good:
Room is clean, renovated and they have a few free drinks. And close to train station. That's it.

Bad:
We had booked a superior room and was told one of better rooms in hotel, though our room size is tiny, room basically just big enough to fit queen bed and small table. Oversized luggage will barely fit in room. Strike 1.
Also, we had been put into a wheelchair access room which meant no tub and uncomfortably high toilet. When we first asked reception about this, the first person on the phone who is obviously new or clueless assured us our room had a tub. Umm...no. Strike 2
Finally when discussing issue later with manager at front desk, he told us they were full, had limited rooms with tubs and it was our fault for not requesting and just stared at us. No apology, no we're very sorry we can't accommodate your request, but it's your fault, not ours. Ok, its my fault i have to be 7 feet to sit comfortably on the toilet? Strike 3

Bottom Line: This is decent hotel with new interior, but definitely not 4 star with tiny rooms and bathrooms and arrogant service. If 3 star ranked in 100s on tripadvisor and half the price this would be acceptable but number 5 on tripadvisor and 160 euros a nite, what a ripoff. You can find much better elsewhere, worst experience we had in 5 hotels we stayed in Italy, yet the priciest.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank derek383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarloFontana-GM, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear dman383,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. Guest feedback is how we learn and hopefully improve upon our services.

We carefully read your comments and were saddened and also a bit amazed that you did not like anything about our hotel.

We realize that, being rated between the first hotels in Milan, expectations may run too high and it becomes more and more difficult to surprise and satisfy our beloved guests.

When you mentioned, we are rated number five on Tripadvisor, I hope I conveyed properly, that this is based on the quality/service versus price relationship and not star rating.
Then we read your other hotel review. We are not a chain hotel and the size of the rooms in a small four star family run hotel, cannot be compared - nor the price –
to those of a Luxury Grand Hotel (the property you staid in Rome). As a whole, our rooms are on the smaller size and similar, by European standards, to what you would find in
London or Paris for instance.

I understand, and apologise, your experience was initially affected by the lack of bathtub. We only have few rooms with bathtubs, we were not informed before your arrival
(bathtubs are assigned upon request and subject to availability) and the hotel was fully booked: for this reason only we were not able to fullfill your request.
We are proud to offer to all our guests - who receive before their arrival a confirmation mail with a link to their personal page - the possibility to “customize” their stay choosing between a large variety of preferences. This includes the room temperature, the free content of the minibar (softdrinks), a pillow choice (6 types), the indication of the bedding characteristics (nordic or mediterranean), the request of additional towels and bathrobes and many other benefits. We wish you would have reported at that time your preference for a bathtub so that we could have assigned it.

I’m really sorry if you felt the attitude of our Guest Relations – while trying to explain this situation - to be not suitable to the circumstance and not “guest oriented”. Our top priority is to make all our guests feeling welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they pass through our doors and throughout their stay. We are proud of our Staff. We know there are areas where we can always improve and it seems, the majority of our guests appreciate our customer service. Our staff are certainly not rude and arrogant. They are always on hand to assist our guests in any way possible.

I hope my explanation will be viewed as an attempt to keep a strong, ongoing relationship between us. Because for me, that is top priority. I want all of our customer's experiences to be positive so that they will come back again and again.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,283 - 3,289 of 6,683 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Clean hotel rooms, good service, friendly staff, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w12jarjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

After a 5 minute walk from Milan Central station we arrived here,,very welcoming and helpful. A clean updated hotel with complimentary coffee available in a cosy seating area. Upon request the staff recommended a restaurant and secured reservations. The room was clean comfortable and nicely decorated, we had a superior twin. Joy of joys it also had a kettle, not a coffee maker!!!! It was great to be able to make a cup of tea :) Wi-fi is free, the non alcoholic contents of the fridge were complimentary. It was a great start to our 2 night stay in Milan. At breakfast we were spoiled for choice, pastries , eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurts etc, etc.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful , always a smile. We enjoyed drinks on the bar.
I would recommend staying here, if in Milan again this is my place to stay :)

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Coilin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Driven by the reviews on Tripadvisor we booked the hotel for one night in April. The vicinity to the central station was also a criteria for booking here. We arrived early (10 AM) and we were already assigned a room, which was clean, quite, even if not very spacious. But for one night it was more then OK.
The reception was very warm and accommodating, daily papers were available, also mineral water and tea-coffee in the lobby. W-Lan is free (which is not even like that in the Waldorf Astoria in NYC).
We didn't have breakfast, so no comment possible on that. But when we left, we were offered a cappuccino by the receptionist, a nice gesture we very much appreciated. We will for sure book the hotel again when in Milan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martino V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The staffs provided intimate service which made us feel at home.There is a mini bar that offers free snack and coffee.The variety of breakfast in Hotel Berna make us energetic and pleasure.
A placid service makes a placid experience.My husband and I decided to live in Hotel Berna again not only because of the convenient location but also its nice staffs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

One of the best hotels where I stayed through the service, cleanliness and staff courtesy. Small gifts like this basket of fruit or sweets every morning at the reception, special gift on departure, advice on places to visit in Milan, and care for clients' personal property (even forgot the bag with documents and money in Internet cafes and were not problems we have received and I was asked to check if everything is fine: no problem whatsoever) made ​​the difference from another hotel.
The room was very clean and maintain them as over the course of stay, breakfast very rich for a hotel in Italy with absolutely everything you needed: fruit juices, tea, coffee, scrambled eggs, cereal, milk and sausage etc..
Certainly when I will travel to Milan, Hotel Bern is the first option, the quality vs. price is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihai76Pitesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very well located; near main railway station and adjoining airport bus terminal, and easy to find.
Plenty of resturants nearby, and a leisurely walk to a major shopping street.
Older building, typical European style hotel with compact rooms, but with all amenities provided.
The service is first-class, ditto the breakfast.Short-term luggage storage offered on day of departure.
It's very very clean, it's very comfortable - all in all this hotel is very good value..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonzodeaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#168 of 428 in Milan
6,359 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#77 of 428 in Milan
2,691 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,871 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $171 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing