We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #20 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lancaster and felt so welcome there. The staff were just excellent, very polite and helpful. The breakfast was complimentary and was very good. The room, despite being in the heart of the city, was so quite and peaceful at night, and the bathroom was spotless! Beds were very comfortable too. Within walking distance of everything. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had our son with us so had a room for 3. Even the little bed for him was comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flohenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Hotel Lancaster is a extremely well run hotel on a quiet residential street in north Milan. There is an old-fashioned feel about the place, but it is totally modern and convenient. Our room was large and comfortable; the bathroom had every convenience that one could want. And I certainly couldn't praise the staff more -- they were very kind and careful -- even to the point of helping me master the differences between an Italian computer keyboard and a conventional computer keyboard. Breakfast was quite ample -- and beautifully laid out. The neighbourhood has a number of interesting restaurants ranging from Michelin Guide level to plain and friendly. Public transit is a bit of a walk -- there's a tram line nearby, mind you, but the Metro is a bit of a long walk away. These are minor points -- this hotel is excellent!! What a find!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Mr Tucker,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our property, which are the best complimets for all of us.
Thank you once again (ref. room key).
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Lancaster Hotel Milan,
Sauro Baldasseroni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We couldn't have been happier with the Lancaster. Nice room, attentive service and good location. It's in a primarliy residential area but is only 20 minutes walk through Parco Sempioneto the city centre . And it is close to many (non-tourist) restaurants along
Corso Sepione. I would definitely staff here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Mr John G,

Thank you so much for sharing this great review following your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read you appreciated the room, the service and the location that is exactly as you described. I am so pleased you had a good stay with us and to read you will be back. On behalf of the Lancaster team, I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes,
Sauro Baldasseroni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Lancaster hotel is quite close to Milan's dom (20-25 minutes walking). Very professional personnel, 3.5 Euro for 24 hours. Decent breakfest, nice decorated small rooms. I recommend the hotel due to the personnel and value/money ratio.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed at the Lancaster for the first time last month. I was in Milan on business and was there about three weeks. The hotel was very comfortable, extremely clean, and quiet. I had a small single room and it was very adequate and big enough for a big bed, good desk space, etc. The staff were very nice, knowledgeable of all the restaurants, bars, shopping areas I needed to find. The bar is comfortable and they'll open it at any time and provide drinks, coffee, snacks, etc. Breakfast was typical of small European hotels, meats, breads, sweets, fruit cups, etc. The location is perfect, walking distance to the Corso Sempione, Arch, tram lines and tons of bars and restaurants in the area. The last night of my stay, my wife joined me and they moved us into a double room, very spacious with separate sitting area, small balcony, etc. I go to Milan frequently and will be staying here regularly in the future. Loved the place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband travels to Milan for work and I typical tag along. We always stay at Lancaster. The sleeping areas and bathrooms are clean/spacious, and the staff is helpful and professional. Internet is about 3 euro daily if that's something you require. The signal has always been strong for us. Many of the rooms have a nice balcony with a bistro table and chairs overlooking a charming courtyard. It's perfect for having a quiet dinner if you want a break from the restaurants.

We really enjoyed the breakfast. It includes cured meats, hard-boiled eggs, mozzarella balls, tomatoes and and assortment of pastries and fruits. The best part is that it's all complementary!

The hotel is in a semi-residential area next to beautiful Sempione park. You can easily walk to the tourist sites. If you are driving, be aware of the dreaded ZTL zones for nonresidents. The limited traffic zones are intended to keep traffic out of historic, narrow-streeted areas. Luckily the hotel is accessible without passing through these areas, just pay attention to the signs. This only applies to you if you are driving here. Just a block away is a "hip" area with bars and restaurants that specialize in apperitivo (sp?). If you are not familiar with this, it's really popular in Milan. Essentially, you buy one cocktail and then get to eat off of an unlimited snack buffet that includes pastas, breads, sandwiches, meats, and cheeses.

Milan is a fabulous city, probably my favorite large city in Italy. I would highly recommend Lancaster to both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CortneyY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We were very pleased with our room at the Lancaster. It had an extra bed for my adult son who was traveling with us. i loved the little balcony off the room. The bathroom was immaculate with a good shower. It also had a nice hardwood floor. They also included a small breakfast buffet that we enjoyed. we would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakegal2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#11 of 428 in Milan
6,684 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
669 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 428 in Milan
489 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#32 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $121 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing