We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The plastic coffee cups are still there!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Visconti Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The plastic coffee cups are still there!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Had to laugh when I saw the little plastic coffee cups described by other Trip Advisor reviewers, especially since the hotel kept responding that they were "evaluating other options". Italy, home of espresso and an incredible coffee culture, and PLASTIC cups? Is so contrary to the upscale image the hotel is trying so hard to achieve! Would rather have had a plastic drinking cup in the bathroom and have a REAL cup for my coffee, if they are really pinching the pennies so tightly. That said, the room was comfortable and quiet, the linens very elaborate, the bed cozy. Amenities included a hot water pot and complimentary instant coffee, teas. No bottled water provided, but front desk stated water was potable. There was no clock/radio or alarm clock device in the room, but the wake-up service through the reception desk was reliable. Also a little odd that they did not provide irons or an ironing board, instead requiring that clothing be sent "out" for pressing (at a charge of course). I found the internet access to be reliable every day for the week I was here (but it cost 48 EU for seven days), but I was also told it can be very problematic when the hotel is full and the server slows down. Be alert when having any food from the bar in the lobby. Look at the asterisks on the menu, which means "may contain frozen items". 90% of the items on the bar menu have these asterisks present. Think you are getting a good Italian pizza? Not so! Frozen, tasteless, cardboard, better for the kids to use as a frisbee. The room service menu was very limited in choices, offering a few apperitivo, primario and secondi dishes and 3 desserts. The room service menu is not available until after 7:30 p.m. when the restaurant opens, nor is it available for breakfast (nor is the restaurant open) before 7:00 a.m., making it difficult if you have early morning meetings. If you can eat later, the restaurant actually has a very nice breakfast provided that is included in the room rate. For dinner, the concierge made a big deal out of asking if we had reservations, but when we arrived at the restaurant there were only two people in the entire room. ?? Staff were consistently courteous and helpful, though, which was appreciated. There is a very nice fitness center on site with a treadmill, elliptical trainers and some weight machines and limited free weights. There is also a pool here, but I didn't see/use it. As mentioned elsewhere, the Metro entrance is an easy block or two from the hotel and it's a quick trip and three stops to the Duomo. There is (limited) shopping nearby and also a few local restaurants. There are also a couple of grocery stores within walking distance if you want to stock up your own breakfast items in the hotel mini-bar refrigerator.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up and away from street if possible, as the location is in a fairly high traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Caljogger,

we thank you for taking the time to write down your review.

It is true we are evaluating other options other than the plastic cups in the rooms for the coffee facilities, however as you are probably aware, it take time and it is not something we can change from one day to another.

As far as the bottle of waters, we actually have a new package that you can book trough our website; it is our “Offerta Plus” where you can book a room at a special rate and it include a free bottle of water which you will find on top of the desk.

Our management decide not to put any alarm clock in the rooms as we prefer to personalize the service.

We neither provide the rooms with iron and ironboard for safety reasons as in the past unpleasant accidents have occured.

We are surprised to hear that internet could be slow as it usually works just fine with all 172 rooms occupied, infact you said you hadn't had any problems either. However our provider Swisscom has a 24 hours technical assistance which can be called when needed.

Our bar has a small snack menu which is there to cover the needs of our guests when the restaurant is closed; it offers toasts, club sandwich and pizza, which is the only frozen dish, the rest is all freshly made. You are absolutely wright, we italians are famous for our pizzas, which can be eaten in a pizzeria and not in a snack bar.
During the opening hours of our restaurant (12:30-14:30, 19:30-22:30) there is also the room service menu available.

Our breakfast starts at 07:00am, however for our guests who leaves earlier we can provide breakfast boxes which have inside a bottle of water, a fruit, some biscuits, jam and/or Nutella and can be requested and collected the night before the departure.

Our concierge is there to assist our guests, suggesting restaurants and making reservations, we only insist as we think if we make the reservation you will be well looked after.

Our fitness centre is free to use for all our guests and it is located on floor -1. Adiacent you can find the entrance to our Spa where you can find the swimmingpool, the biggest amongst the Milan’s hotels.

Hopefully you will be soon visiting us again and we will be happy to show you where it is.

Kindes Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    588
    127
    46
    27
See reviews for
305
555
65
408
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We unfortunately ended up in this place during design week & paid a fortune. When we looked up their standard rates online we found we were paying 4 times their published rates & it was just NOT worth it. There was a big stain on our carpet, the room was dirty, the decor was dreadful (its a very utilitarian business type place) & the staff were awful. We had come from the Principe De Savoia (which was full, sadly) & the contrast was marked. How they can call themselves luxury I really dont know, they are far from it. We couldnt even bear to have breakfast there as the breakfast room was horrid. Oh, & its in the middle of nowhere. Just dont.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Mrs. Tina,
we would like to thank you for your feed back, we are actually extremely surprised in reading your words since, as you can see from most of the Trip Advisor comments posted so far, some of the best compliments are regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the hotel in general, as well as for the professionalism and friendliness of our staff. We are honoured you have compared us to Principe di Savoia but we want to remark the fact the Grand Visconti is 4star S not a 5 luxury as the Principe is, therefore with different type of standard and service. We are very interested in having more details regarding your disappointment, we kindly ask you if it would be possible for you to contact our Front Office Manager, Mrs. Corthier, her email address is yveline.corthier@grandviscontipalace.com in order to follow up your discontent.
Kindest Regards
Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have been coming to this hotel on and off for business over the last couple of years and I have to say it's pretty good. It's located at Piazzale Lodi which is edge of city centre but this works great for me as I often have to travel in Italy by car and I invariably have to go either East or South. There is a yellow line metro station pretty much right outside which will take you in 10 minutes to Piazza del Duomo (where you can change lines to go pretty much everywhere in Milan) or if you go further the yellow will take you to Stazione Centrale. I lived in Milan for 9 years and used to stay in this area. It's a pretty nice residential area and there are some great restaurants within walking distance, particularly in Viale Umbria such as Da Angelo's where they do the best 'Fiorentina' steak in Milan. The hotel is classically styled and so a wee bit old fashioned but nice none the less. It's also spotless and the rooms are very nice. The beds are pretty firm and I always seem to get a pretty good night's sleep as you can make it pitch black and silent. Staff are efficient if not super friendly (as in all of Milan) and the Hotel restaurant is very good if a little pricey. There's also a gym and a pool which you don't always get in Hotels in Milan. In summary it's not the best hotel in Milan but it's pretty good for the price you pay and great if you don't want get involved in rush hour traffic to travel East or South on the highways.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I have had have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Milan1899,

We would like to thank you for your kind input. We are very glad to know you have been renovating your preference to Grand Visconti Palace for your stays in Milan for the last couple of years.

We agree the area is interesting and to discover, so many little interesting spots are there hidden waiting to be discovered!

The metro serves very well the hotel therefore there is no need to get stuck in the City traffic, most of the destinations within and outside the city are pretty much reachable by public transports, we usually suggest the 1 or 2 day ticket to travel around with convenient rates.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards.



Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Nice hotel , clean room and large bathroom with enough towels. Bath and shower
Professional staff.Bernie advised us a few cosy restaurants close to the hotel
Location is ok Near to Metro station and only for stops to the DUOMO ( the place to be )
Minor point : WIFI did not work.
We will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 174manja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear 174manja,

We thank you so much for spending the time writing your feedback.

We are sorry wifi was not working, we can assist our guests 24 hours on 24 hours calling a Swisscom technician everytime is needed.

Our staff is our pride and we will definitely tell Bernie you found his help useful.

We hope we will have you once again as our welcomed guest.

Kind Regards.

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We travelled for a long weekend with a toddler and found the hotel generally pleasant. There is a prominence to the swimming pool on the advertising- be aware that this is part of the Spa and is chargeable at €15 per person per day... According to the duty manger, "there is nothing on the advertising to say it is free, so you have to assume it's not"... There is nothing about the escalators either but nobody tried to charge for those... Hard to argue with fuzzy logic. Otherwise a very clean and spacious hotel, 10 minutes from the centre of Milan and 3 minutes walk to the nearby metro station. Restaurant was well priced and food was. Reasonable but aimed at business guests rather than families. Room was large enough for two adults and a hotel crib and adequately provisioned. Only issue is there don't appear to be many places to eat nearby with kids, but the concierge recommended Osso restaurant an they opened early when asked- that was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear wilkinic,
We thank you for visiting Grand Visconti Palace Milano as well as for taking the time give us your feedback: your opinion is important to us!

Our website states clearly that the wellness centre is subject to “Fee-paying entrance. Special rates for house guests and companies.” And the same thing is written in all the websites where you can book our hotel. We have also special offers that include the entrance to the Spa. When you book one of our exclusive room is also included whilst if you book a classic room the cost is €10,00 per person or €15,00 per couple.

We will let the Food & Beverage Manager know about your concern regarding our restaurant, we recently changed the menu and all the suggestions are welcome.

Kindest Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Nice hotel, located near Metro station so travelling to tourists' sites are easier. Service can be better, though. Receptionist not very friendly, the same with guest relation. Internet is not included, so for those of you that cant live without internet,you should consider the additional 9€/day.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyosetya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear yyosetya,

Thank you for your comment which is very useful for us in order to improve our service as well as to be aware of our weaknesses.

We do apologize for not meeting with your expectations about the services we offer. We have already taken actions during the reception's meeting to prevent this from happening again in the future.

Internet connection is available for free in the lobby with your laptop/I-phone and with our computers with printers in our business point located in the lobby as well. In the rooms the 24-hour wi-fi connection costs € 9 for I-Phone and € 12 for Laptop inclusive of 24/7 assistance and many interactive services such as on line international newspapers, radio, tv and chats.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Visconti Palace in the near future.

Best regards,

Yveline Cothier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel has it's own tradition and style. As such, this is an excellent place to stay ... for those who like this kind of decor. Personally, I prefer to stay in small design hotels... with a unique experience of design every time I visit such. Nevertheless, during my business stay I was please with everything in Visconti: clean rooms, perfect service, great breakfast, secure parking space (although overprices!), etc...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondina_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Good evening Ondina_2011,

thanks for taking the time to write your comment about us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace. We are not a design hotel but we take pride of our top service and the well decorated rooms and suites we have.

As far as the parking is concerned we passed on your comment to our management. Our fee is Euro 29,00 per night which we consider to be competitive with all the other parking in the area.

Best Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,935 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity.ca, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing