We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“like a 5 star”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

everything 5 stars, close to metro and historical Milan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulent95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Good evening bulent95,

thank you for taking the time to write a nice comment about the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

Hoping you will be soon visiting us again,

Kind Regards.

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    635
    142
    48
    30
See reviews for
340
595
66
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Situated in a very convenient area, this premise is heavily affected by traffic noise (at least plain classic rooms are), and windows aren't good enough to protect. To make things worse, there wasn't any air conditioning when I was there (end of March) and I had to open the windows to cool the place (26 centigrades with switched-off heating).
Desk staff has been very kind in helping to find a less noisy room (though superior rooms only overlook the quite and nice inner garden). Breakfast is very nice. Shame I couldn't try the welness centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear micgov,

we thank you for choosing the Grand Visconti Place and for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is very important for us.

It has been a pleasure for us helping you to move to a better room and we apologize for the inconveniences you had during the stay. Unfortunately, our system did not give the possibility to choose between the heater and the air conditioning.
We have different types of rooms and suites. Our classic rooms are overlooking Viale Isonzo, which is the front of the hotel where traffic passes by. Our exclusive rooms have the garden view. All of the above mentioned rooms have double glazed windows.
As you can see on our website, our offers for the exclusive rooms include, together with the inside view, also the free entrance for our Spa,for the use of our swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi.

We hope you will come and stay with us once again, in which case we do suggest you book an exclusive room.

Kind regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was the second time that I stayed at the hotel and I would certainly reccomend it, especially for the business traveler. Great for tourists as well that don't want to be near the crowds of the Duomo or want more residential surroundings than the hotels near the rail station (Centrale) offer. Even though it is not centrally located, there is a metro and bus stop at the corner and a taxi was never more than 5 minutes away. I do have to say that even though the hotel advertises itself as a 'Luxury' hotel, guests used to the W Hotel's 'Dream' beds or the Marriott Hotel's 'Supreme' beds will be disappointed...bedding and pillows are quite stiff and are sub-par for a 4* Luxury Hotel, without a doubt. In any case, hotel is fairly new, clean and very well maintained. Pool, fitness center, and spa are all great. Bar is open late and staff is friendly. The only issue I had was with the hotel's internet service 'Swiss Com' which is not user friendly and needlessly complicated. It repeatedly lost connection and had to reconnect several times, which is not a simple process. I, nor none of my colleagues, were able to access wifi in the lobby either. I remember not liking the internet service provider during my previous stay so I made sure to mention it this time. Front Desk wasn't interested and essentially brushed my comments aside, saying that this service is used throughout Europe. Just because a service is widely used however, doesn't mean that is is efficient or user friendly.
I would reccomend this hotel to others and just hope that they bring their bedding standards up to what one would expect from a 4* luxury hotel and that they change their internet service provider.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNJTraveler201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear NNNJTRAVELER201,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment. We are happy to read your second stay with us was enjoyable.
We have appreciated the suggestions you gave us and we will pass each of them to our Management in order to put in action as soon as possible. We deeply regret that the front desk did not give you the attention requested when you informed about the situation of the internet connection.
Thanking you again for having taken the time to give us your feed back, we hope to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Yveline Corthie
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Had to laugh when I saw the little plastic coffee cups described by other Trip Advisor reviewers, especially since the hotel kept responding that they were "evaluating other options". Italy, home of espresso and an incredible coffee culture, and PLASTIC cups? Is so contrary to the upscale image the hotel is trying so hard to achieve! Would rather have had a plastic drinking cup in the bathroom and have a REAL cup for my coffee, if they are really pinching the pennies so tightly. That said, the room was comfortable and quiet, the linens very elaborate, the bed cozy. Amenities included a hot water pot and complimentary instant coffee, teas. No bottled water provided, but front desk stated water was potable. There was no clock/radio or alarm clock device in the room, but the wake-up service through the reception desk was reliable. Also a little odd that they did not provide irons or an ironing board, instead requiring that clothing be sent "out" for pressing (at a charge of course). I found the internet access to be reliable every day for the week I was here (but it cost 48 EU for seven days), but I was also told it can be very problematic when the hotel is full and the server slows down. Be alert when having any food from the bar in the lobby. Look at the asterisks on the menu, which means "may contain frozen items". 90% of the items on the bar menu have these asterisks present. Think you are getting a good Italian pizza? Not so! Frozen, tasteless, cardboard, better for the kids to use as a frisbee. The room service menu was very limited in choices, offering a few apperitivo, primario and secondi dishes and 3 desserts. The room service menu is not available until after 7:30 p.m. when the restaurant opens, nor is it available for breakfast (nor is the restaurant open) before 7:00 a.m., making it difficult if you have early morning meetings. If you can eat later, the restaurant actually has a very nice breakfast provided that is included in the room rate. For dinner, the concierge made a big deal out of asking if we had reservations, but when we arrived at the restaurant there were only two people in the entire room. ?? Staff were consistently courteous and helpful, though, which was appreciated. There is a very nice fitness center on site with a treadmill, elliptical trainers and some weight machines and limited free weights. There is also a pool here, but I didn't see/use it. As mentioned elsewhere, the Metro entrance is an easy block or two from the hotel and it's a quick trip and three stops to the Duomo. There is (limited) shopping nearby and also a few local restaurants. There are also a couple of grocery stores within walking distance if you want to stock up your own breakfast items in the hotel mini-bar refrigerator.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up and away from street if possible, as the location is in a fairly high traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Caljogger,

we thank you for taking the time to write down your review.

It is true we are evaluating other options other than the plastic cups in the rooms for the coffee facilities, however as you are probably aware, it take time and it is not something we can change from one day to another.

As far as the bottle of waters, we actually have a new package that you can book trough our website; it is our “Offerta Plus” where you can book a room at a special rate and it include a free bottle of water which you will find on top of the desk.

Our management decide not to put any alarm clock in the rooms as we prefer to personalize the service.

We neither provide the rooms with iron and ironboard for safety reasons as in the past unpleasant accidents have occured.

We are surprised to hear that internet could be slow as it usually works just fine with all 172 rooms occupied, infact you said you hadn't had any problems either. However our provider Swisscom has a 24 hours technical assistance which can be called when needed.

Our bar has a small snack menu which is there to cover the needs of our guests when the restaurant is closed; it offers toasts, club sandwich and pizza, which is the only frozen dish, the rest is all freshly made. You are absolutely wright, we italians are famous for our pizzas, which can be eaten in a pizzeria and not in a snack bar.
During the opening hours of our restaurant (12:30-14:30, 19:30-22:30) there is also the room service menu available.

Our breakfast starts at 07:00am, however for our guests who leaves earlier we can provide breakfast boxes which have inside a bottle of water, a fruit, some biscuits, jam and/or Nutella and can be requested and collected the night before the departure.

Our concierge is there to assist our guests, suggesting restaurants and making reservations, we only insist as we think if we make the reservation you will be well looked after.

Our fitness centre is free to use for all our guests and it is located on floor -1. Adiacent you can find the entrance to our Spa where you can find the swimmingpool, the biggest amongst the Milan’s hotels.

Hopefully you will be soon visiting us again and we will be happy to show you where it is.

Kindes Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We unfortunately ended up in this place during design week & paid a fortune. When we looked up their standard rates online we found we were paying 4 times their published rates & it was just NOT worth it. There was a big stain on our carpet, the room was dirty, the decor was dreadful (its a very utilitarian business type place) & the staff were awful. We had come from the Principe De Savoia (which was full, sadly) & the contrast was marked. How they can call themselves luxury I really dont know, they are far from it. We couldnt even bear to have breakfast there as the breakfast room was horrid. Oh, & its in the middle of nowhere. Just dont.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Mrs. Tina,
we would like to thank you for your feed back, we are actually extremely surprised in reading your words since, as you can see from most of the Trip Advisor comments posted so far, some of the best compliments are regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the hotel in general, as well as for the professionalism and friendliness of our staff. We are honoured you have compared us to Principe di Savoia but we want to remark the fact the Grand Visconti is 4star S not a 5 luxury as the Principe is, therefore with different type of standard and service. We are very interested in having more details regarding your disappointment, we kindly ask you if it would be possible for you to contact our Front Office Manager, Mrs. Corthier, her email address is yveline.corthier@grandviscontipalace.com in order to follow up your discontent.
Kindest Regards
Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have been coming to this hotel on and off for business over the last couple of years and I have to say it's pretty good. It's located at Piazzale Lodi which is edge of city centre but this works great for me as I often have to travel in Italy by car and I invariably have to go either East or South. There is a yellow line metro station pretty much right outside which will take you in 10 minutes to Piazza del Duomo (where you can change lines to go pretty much everywhere in Milan) or if you go further the yellow will take you to Stazione Centrale. I lived in Milan for 9 years and used to stay in this area. It's a pretty nice residential area and there are some great restaurants within walking distance, particularly in Viale Umbria such as Da Angelo's where they do the best 'Fiorentina' steak in Milan. The hotel is classically styled and so a wee bit old fashioned but nice none the less. It's also spotless and the rooms are very nice. The beds are pretty firm and I always seem to get a pretty good night's sleep as you can make it pitch black and silent. Staff are efficient if not super friendly (as in all of Milan) and the Hotel restaurant is very good if a little pricey. There's also a gym and a pool which you don't always get in Hotels in Milan. In summary it's not the best hotel in Milan but it's pretty good for the price you pay and great if you don't want get involved in rush hour traffic to travel East or South on the highways.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I have had have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Milan1899,

We would like to thank you for your kind input. We are very glad to know you have been renovating your preference to Grand Visconti Palace for your stays in Milan for the last couple of years.

We agree the area is interesting and to discover, so many little interesting spots are there hidden waiting to be discovered!

The metro serves very well the hotel therefore there is no need to get stuck in the City traffic, most of the destinations within and outside the city are pretty much reachable by public transports, we usually suggest the 1 or 2 day ticket to travel around with convenient rates.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards.



Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Nice hotel , clean room and large bathroom with enough towels. Bath and shower
Professional staff.Bernie advised us a few cosy restaurants close to the hotel
Location is ok Near to Metro station and only for stops to the DUOMO ( the place to be )
Minor point : WIFI did not work.
We will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 174manja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear 174manja,

We thank you so much for spending the time writing your feedback.

We are sorry wifi was not working, we can assist our guests 24 hours on 24 hours calling a Swisscom technician everytime is needed.

Our staff is our pride and we will definitely tell Bernie you found his help useful.

We hope we will have you once again as our welcomed guest.

Kind Regards.

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
6,417 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#82 of 428 in Milan
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing