We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best front desk - Tiziana Faciocchi”
Review of Des Etrangers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Des Etrangers
Ranked #207 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Stayed 4 days during Fiera in this hotel, relocated from Sant Ambroeus, which was not pleasant and old. Hotel des Etrangers is Business oriented, good large rooms in the new wing. Reason of my review is front desk manager Tiziana Faciocchi. Any hotel in the world will be pleased having her in their team, highly professional, trying to help and accommodate any need during your stay. During volcano eruption in Iceland and Air traffic lockdown in Europe, Tiziana went beound her obligations trying to help us with flight schedule, and accommodations at very busy hotel. She was kind enough to go with me to the travel agency outside of the hotel and help to rebook flights. She speaks fluent English what is not much common in Italy, she was extremely helpful with transportation arrangements and other tasks needed.
Also leaving hotel every day for airport, and after unsuccessful attempts to fly back to US, during Air traffic mess, she was kind enough to rearrange room for us, and lower the rate, seeing that we are waiting for flight to US during last four days. Taxi to Malpenza Airport and back was E220, and to Linarte both ways E70. Unfortunately hotel is located little far from underground stations, 20 minutes walking, which are very convenient in Milan, not mentioning Taxi service if needed on short commute. Located mainly in the residential area with lots of restaurants and pizzerias around, by taxi to center Duomo, or Brera district 10-15 minutes. I found Milan lately is facing traffic problems more than in the past years, so if travelling in the morning or afternoon add 10-15 minutes in addition.
At the end, I want to thank Tiziana Faciocchi again for her humanity and professionalism.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAXHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

I was on a business trip in Milan and decided to try this Hotel for 4 nights. The Hotel is off the main road and is quiet, though the outside view from the room was bad. As soon as we checked in, we were told that our travel agent had not paid for our booking. After we made frantic international calls, the front desk acknowledged that the payment had been made.
Then, we could not get WiFi connectivity. The guy at the Hotel tried for about 15 min but to no effect. Finally, it got up a day later and then worked great through the stay. We asked for a convertor for our laptops as sockets in Europe are different, and got 1 for the two of us. There is a serious shortage of a technical guy, as everyone in the front desk act as if they know all. But the staff is courteous overall.

Food is a major issue in this hotel. The hotel does not have a kitchen so breakfast is the same stuff daily - croissants, biscuits, cake, tea, juice etc. There is no special dish for the day that is prepared and is hot. Fruits are available but have not been washed before keeping them in the basket. Room where breakfast is available is in the basement. Microwave is not available so if you have bought something from the supermarket and want to heat it, hard luck! Also, the hotel does not allow for eating in the rooms, so one is forced to eat out and come. Obviously no bowls/plates will be given by the staff.

Rooms - single rooms are very small. If you want to stay single, opt for a double room. Rooms are cosy overall. But if you are a sports enthusiast, you will need to pay for sports channels.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyager_Nineteen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed for about 2 weeks this time. You really cant expect much from a 100$-class Hotel in Milan (or in south europe generally), which advertises to have a private bathroom in every room. But it isnt that bad at all. You can stay a lot worse for even 200-300$ here.
Good points:
* Internet is free now, IF it works. The staff did not manage to repair it in 2 weeks.
* locationis okay. Not too far from city centre, several restaurants and shops around. Subway is far away unfortunately.
* Interieor of the rooms is quite nice and intact.
* Fridge is available with some mini-bar contents. Used mini-bar contents did not get replaced in 2 weeks. Beer (Tuborg) costs 4€ from the mini bar.
Medium:
* Breakfast - Cold breakfast only, limited assortment, juices and coffee is not good, fruits are old.
Bad points:
* Not clean at all. look at the picture, that's a lamp stand that is above the working desk. On the stairs was a piece of plastic. I was there when I arrived and it was there when I left 2 weeks later. Conclusion: the stairs were not swiped for two weeks. Dust does not get wiped in the rooms. There was a very thick layer of dust in the closet. Dust is the only problem, nothing bad except it.
* When someone smokes in other rooms the smell distributes to other rooms quite fast.
* Internet did not work. I had to steal other free wifi-networks that reached the room. I do not suggest anyone to do it (who isnt sure what hes doing) for safety reasons.
* Single rooms are tiny. Take a double room for single use if you have to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toivo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Stayed 8 nights as we were spending year-end with family living in Milan. At 80 Euros a night (breakfast included) the hotel is a very good bargain, especially in Milan! Our room was relatively spacious, recently refurbished in a nice style, and very clean. Comfortable bed, roomy closet for storing, flat screen TV with good choice of channels (Sky). Very clean bathroom (with bidet for those interested). Hotel staff is rather friendly (most spoke English, French or Spanish). As we came by train, I can't tell about parking in the area, but be aware that Milan is a drivers' nightmare (cars parked wherever possible… or impossible). Only two (small) downsides. First is the typical Italian breakfast served at the hotel: mostly sweets... if you're lucky you'll beat the other foreigners to the little plate of ham or cheese (served only once, no refill). After a couple days you get used to it (or save a slice of pizza for breakfast). Second issue is the soundproofing: we could hear the TV from the neighboring room in our own room (maybe because we had turned the airco/heating system off). Worth checking with the staff upon arrival.
Though the hotel is not located in the city center, it's well connected by buses and the subway (which by the way are very cheap). Some sites (e.g. Sant' Ambrogio, Santa Maria delle Grazie, Science & Technology Museum) are located walking distance. The area around the hotel is mostly residential, with some small shops, but there are a couple options for eating. There are also a couple supermarkets not too far (Pam on Foppa, Esselunga on Washington).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Milan and looking for a very good price / value rate.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZinnekeReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Before going to Milan I read the reviews about hotels very carefully where to stay- and chose the above hotel for 4 nights with my friend and cannot recommend highly enough. Nice and clean rooms (cleaned every day), very good bathroom (heated floors), friendly and helpful staff (very good English), plenty of breakfast. Located not in the centre of Milan, but the public transport links are very good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Found this hotel after looking long and hard for reasonably priced hotels in Milan. At EUR80 a night this was very good value. The room was clean and comfortable, the reception area was very relaxing to sit in and read the paper, and the staff were all friendly.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Milan. It is about a 30 min walk to the city centre, but you can easily catch the metro. And it is nice to see a bit of residential Milan outside of the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Strollerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Makli73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Hotel Sant'Ambroeus
Hotel Sant'Ambroeus
#237 of 428 in Milan
285 reviews
IH Hotels Milano Watt 13
#200 of 428 in Milan
755 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#87 of 428 in Milan
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Berlino
#142 of 428 in Milan
570 reviews
Hotel Domenichino
#149 of 428 in Milan
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers

Address: Via Sirte 9, 20146 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $105 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Des Etrangers 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tortona, close to the West ring road and 5 minutes away from the Milan Fair, the Catholic University, Bocconi and Iulm. It is a well-served district by buses. Hotel des Etrangers is the ideal solution for business and holiday's trip in Milan. It is pleasant, operational and business-friendly offering meeting rooms.Hotel des Etrangers is among one of the 3-star hotels in Milan with every modern comfort available in an international center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Des Etrangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Milan
Des Etrangers Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing