We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off alert”
Review of San Tomaso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Tomaso
Ranked #389 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 30 October 2006

We booked a room at this hotel on their website about a month before travelling in order to make SURE we had a double room with bath to stay for our first night in Italy. We told them our approximate arrival time (10 pm local;) and paid a $13 non-refundable deposit and guaranteed booking with a credit card (it stated that our card would be charged for a night if we didn't show up). Regardless, when we got in at 10 pm, exhausted from more than 30 hours of travel, we were told "sorry, we don't have a room for you, but we booked you a room in this other hotel and we'll pay the cab fare". OK, not fine but we were too tired to argue and had no other alternative at that hour. We take the cab to the other place, farther out and less convenient. They give us a crummy single room with an extra COT in it and called it a double. The room looked like a shabby cell, the windows wouldn't shut properly, letting mosquitos in, and the cot collapsed onto the floor. The posted rate for the room was 60 euros; they charged us 80 (plus the deposit we had already paid). We were far too tired to do anything about it at the time, so we just crashed. Both hotels are evidently owned by the same family, so they apparently shift hapless travellers into the dive place when they have a chance to fill the other one. Why not, they have your credit card number; if you don't show they get to charge twice for your room; if you are so unfortunate as to actually try and get the room you paid for, you get a crappy room at their other property instead. Don't count on getting a room if you book here!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BethinSac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2006

Great place to stay at an affortable price. Well located in shopping area & near metro (only one stop to main tourist attraction (il Duomo). Close walk to the central train station(5-10min). Staff are friendly, rooms/ bathroom very clean(im fussy, so I was very impressed). The place was nice & quite. I would definately recommend this hotel & I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2006

I agree with the other two reports. The plus points were that the room was clean, and despite it being minus 10c outside the room was very warm. Hot water came through when running for a while. Super hot power shower. The staff were very helpful and friendly and always on hand. The hotel is in a good position with easy access to the tourist parts of Milan.
On the downside - the bed was very hard, bit of painting peeling in the bathroom and the shutter was permanently down.
Breakfast is extra and the coffee machine was broken so we had breakfast elsewhere. Traffic noise was fairly terrible - traffic, trams and people. If you are a light sleeper - forget it!
All in all you get what you pay for and this was value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlebranshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool. UK
13
Reviewed 23 October 2005

Just got back after spending 3 nights in the Tomaso - Friday thru Sunday. We stayed in milan as part of a 2 week tour of Italy.

Hotel was good value, and in a really good location right next to the Venezia metro stop. The metro stop is on the main cross city line and all the main sites (Dumo, galleria,lscala and san siro etc.) can be reached within minutes.

The hotel its self is on the 3rd floor off a large building at the junction of Via Tunis and Via Buenos Aires - this is a very busy road so dont expect peace and quiet.

We stayed in a double room with its own shower (but strangely no toilet). The room was clean and basic and the shared facilities were all clean and modern. The staff were very helpful and friendly providing maps, information etc..

In Summary i would definetly recommend staying in this hotel to anyone travelling around Italy on a budget as an alternative to a hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Edinburgh, UK
619
Reviewed 6 October 2005

The young lady on when we stayed was very helpful.

But the rooms need improving. The bed was very uncomfortable and the hotwater temperature poor. At first I was worried about the noise from the traffic below but the place was fully booked out and we couldn’t move to a quieter room. The noise turned out to be bearable once the shutter was pulled down. We had a balcony, and a few chairs outside and maybe a plant would have made it more inviting even with the traffic noise.

This place has plenty of potential – it’s close to good restaurants and to the metro but the rooms aren’t quite up to standard. However, they are very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank TajtaNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
#293 of 427 in Milan
124 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#375 of 427 in Milan
73 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#211 of 427 in Milan
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#302 of 427 in Milan
178 reviews
OstellOlinda
#341 of 427 in Milan
52 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Arno
Hotel Arno
#268 of 427 in Milan
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Tomaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Tomaso

Address: Viale Tunisia 6, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $53 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — San Tomaso 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Tomaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Tomaso Milan
San Tomaso Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing