We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Milano Centro
Ranked #86 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived for our one night stay quite early, and as our room was not yet ready - it was 10:30am - they gave us an upgrade to the La Grande room. Already winning! I don't know that the room we had booked was like, but the La Grande was lovely, exceptionally large, especially for a European hotel, and well-appointed. The reception staff were friendly and dealt with any request promptly and efficiently. The location is great, very close to some lovely restaurants and easy walk to the Duomo and Galleria for excellent shopping. The metro is right outside. If I had any complaint, it would be that breakfast was not ready until 7:30 and we needed to leave early... But the cook was Australian! All up, I will definitely return to the Mercure for a longer stay next time I'm in Milan.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    339
    93
    23
    7
See reviews for
98
257
53
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

me and my family visited Milano between may 3-6 and chose this hotel. The hotel has a really good location. The metro station (which is the best and most efficient way to get around the city) is literally a few steps from the hotel entrance. Reaching places like Duomo and Lima take few minutes and easy to figure out.
the rooms are not very big (but given the city and the shape of the buildings you can not expect anything else) but are nice and comfortable.
the hotel staff is really helpful and they are willing to offer any help and information you need.
we stayed at the 4th floor(the top floor) I stayed in the single room and it was really clean and can provide anything you need. my parents stayed in the room 401 which is like a penthouse and has a garden like space which we assume is for pets. my sister and her husband stayed on the second floor. so we basically tried every room and the hotel gave everything we need for a nice weekend...
we did not have the breakfast which was €10 per person but had a nice buffet. but you can find a lot of cafés and diners around the hotel which is Porta de Venezia.
the street is really good and has a lot of shopping if you are into brands like GUESS, Stradivarius etc. Also right next to the hotel door there is an icecream shop which is open till late hours.
All in all this hotel would be a good choice if you are looking for a mediocre place with a known brand to stay, nothing too fency. But make sure you book in advance because there are a small number of rooms and due to its location and season the prices can go up easily...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BbK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Solid Mercure hotel, clean comfortable and charming European sized hotel rooms (ie smallish). But still fine for us with our toddler.

He loved the window looking over the square with cars, trucks, (trams) and things that go to watch.

Great location with tram to central station and subway three stops from Duomo, but pleasant 20 minute walk.

Good local food options around the area, with solid recommendations from the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mljstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The rating system for hotels in Italy always puzzles me--I think this should be a three star--albeit a nice one. Good Location--the number 9 tram goes directly to the central station in about 10 mins, and it is three subway stops from the Duomo--or a 20 minute walk. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip. Our first room was cramped, even by European standards--we like to hang out at our hotel for a few hours every afternoon to rest. The second room was much bigger--could accomodate a couch, and had a bigger bathroom (Room 101). Same rate for both rooms. It was clean, the staff were friendly, the price was right--nothing to complain about, really. Oh, and even though the rooms faced the piazza, they were super quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mecnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Being 3 Metro stops from the Duomo, this is just right to be out of the crowds of tourists and still accessible. Corso Buenos Aires runs past and is a great option for the fashionista if the centre of Milan is not shopping enough. A taxi rank over the road makes for very fast and reliable access anywhere.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and that's a real good thing. When staying there in a group of work colleagues, the lack of WiFi (down at the time) was a real problem, no business centre and one very public computer in the tiny foyer was over worked.

The hotel is clean, but fairly small and quite unspectacular. The rooms are fine, not too small nor too large and are well maintained. For a brief stopover in Milan, the hotel works just fine.

I can certainly recommend it, but can't provide a list of excited adjectives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheretonext_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I recently had my third stay at the Mercure Milano Centro and was pleased I did. The rooms are clean and large enough. There are good bathrooms with decent showers. There is a little street noise from the lively Piazza Guglielmo Oberdan if you leave the window open but silent when you close the double gazing.

The Hotel staff are very helpful and speak many languages. Buffet breakfast is OK but a little short on choice. The coffee is from a self serve machine and not as good as you can get from a dozen coffee bars nearby.

The location is great, right at the start of the Corso Buenos Aires which has great shopping and lower prices than in the center of Milan. The Metro station is right at the front door and there are trams and buses in the Piazza Guglielmo Oberdan 50m from the Hotel.

Just across the Piazza is a fabulous park called Giardini Montanelli. On a fine day this is a great place for a walk or a run or to rent a bike.

If you stay here try the Ristoranti Maruzzella 120m west on the other side of the Corso Buenos Aires. The food is great especially the pizza. The restaurant is very popular with locals so I recommend you go early to beat the ques. If the wait is too long there are plenty of other good places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms I have stayed in here are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2painfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramazzina, General Manager at Mercure Milano Centro, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Sirs,
thanks a lot for your compliments,
we work hard every day for your saddisfaction.
We hope see you during your next tour in Milan.

Our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Citta Studi
Hotel Fenice
Hotel Fenice
#125 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Citta Studi
EuroHotel
EuroHotel
#103 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Mercure Milano Solari
Mercure Milano Solari
#122 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#53 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Milano Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Milano Centro

Property: Mercure Milano Centro
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Oberdan 12, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#77 Family Hotel in Milan
#87 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Milano Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an historical palace of the old Milan of the XIX th Century and completely renewed in 2005, The Hotel Mercure Milano Centro Porta Venezia is located in the City center.30 elegant rooms furnished with precious interior design, welcome thebusinessmen and the tourists in the real heart of the City, a few steps from the Duomo Cathedral and from the most important Fashion Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Milano Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Milano Centro Hotel Milan
Mercure Hotel Milano Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing