We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a gem in a big city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Genius Downtown
Ranked #109 of 427 Hotels in Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a gem in a big city!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We are from Vancouver, B.C.
After spending two weeks on a cruise boat,we went on a train trip from Venice to Milan. Throughout the trip, we stayed in many 3 star hotels. Compared to the other hotels we stayed in over our trip, we found the Genius Hotel being our favourite hotel. We enjoyed this hotel because it offered all our basic needs efficiently and in a very genius way. The location was fantastic, being near to many main tourist attractions and all types of shops. My daughter wasn't feeling well on the last night of our stay, so we asked for some salt water so she could rinse her throat. Every time we saw the hotel manager, she would sincerely ask how she was feeling. Another example of great service was when the night-shift receptionist went all out to help our needs...

I sincerely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, basic, friendly, and convenient place to stay in Milan.

The Tsow family

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    313
    116
    44
    40
See reviews for
108
235
56
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Staying for a 4 night break we booked this hotel because it is in central Milan. We enjoy wandering around without having to rely too much on the public transport - this small hotel was perfect for this.
As with previous posters we feel the hotel & indeed our room is in need of a makeover. Our room on the 3rd floor had a double bed in and not much more space! The bathroom was so small, a tiny shower tray with a ill fitting curtain which once wet struck to you - making a shower a fairly unpleasant experience !!
The breakfast was the worse - served between 7-10am OK but when you arrive at 9:15 and find 2 rolls & a few pieces of ham left - I asked for cheese as the plate was empty & was told none left. This happened again the following day & although I explained I'm a vegetarian the waiter told me to eat "ham"! We went down to breakfast at 8am on the 3rd morning & it appears 1 plate of cheese & 1 of ham is put out early & once gone - well you've had it!
The night person was kinda rude although I get he didn't understand much English & didn't like the breakfast staff but Natalie was delightful so helpful with directions & just generally nice to talk too without her I wouldn't have been so good on this review.
Overall see passed the small rooms & rubbish breakfast the hotel is ideal for Central Milan & set in a lovely cobbled street - 2 mins walk from the castello & 5 mins walk from duomo.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_ferreira, Direttore at Hotel Genius Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Guest
thank you for your pleasent review. As you already mentioned, hotel suffers from high levels of occupancy throghout the year, and repairings are made constantly to maintain our standard. Renovation like most would like (us first) would harm our philosophy of the unbeateable prices. One key to our success. Regarding breakfast, we serve continental breakfast, regardless if guest is vegetarian or muslim. In our case, we include cheese and ham. Because continental breakfast does not includes this items, the buffet layout itself is not ready to hold a platter of cheese for the entire 3 hours of service. Cheese and other items that need to be kept cool would go bad. This is the reason we serve smaller portions each time and replenish buffett more often. You might need more patience at peek times when everybody decides to have breakfast at the same time.
Every single item is guaranteed until the end except for croissant. We have them delivered and when our forecast is not accurate they might finish before expected time. Our coffee shop associate does not speaks fluent English and incomprehensions may occur. But there are many more items available. At the end, perhaps you noticed the upgraded buffet regarding to the continental breakfast that you paid for. This will be further more improved starting next month. Hope you can try it then. See you soon
warmest regards
Genius Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I had a mix up on a business trip and booked this via a late booking site as I was close to travel date.

THe hotel is located down a cobbled side street. Reception was friendly. Apart from the reception the public areas were much in need of redecoration. My room was cramped and almost completely filled by the double bed.

The furniture was old, and the bathroom was a bit of a a mess. There was a shower fitted but no drip tray, just a a drain in the bathroom floor with a shower curtain, so taking a shower meant flooding the bathroom floor. In addition the bathroom windows were not frosted and the curtains were inadequate to cover the windows so showering involved potentially making a public display of yourself.

The breakfast was included, and reasonablew if nothing to write home about. THe hotel only provides breakfast. Incidentally turning left out of the hotel and walking to the bottom of the street bringds you to a small but homely restaurant. THe manager is a chess fan, and after eating late there one night I stayed on and played chess with him and his chess pals until far too late.

Overall the Hotel Genius is good value if you get a late booking typee price. I would not be as happy to stay there if I were paying the full rate. Having said that it's in a graet location, and about 300 metres from a metro line, so great for budget traveleers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garygillathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We travelled to Milan in June 2011 and stayed at Hotel Genius Downtown. The hotel is central and in a quiet little street. The rooms are clean and large for an Italian Hotel, the breakfast is also good. The night person does not seem to be a happy person he never smilesand if you ask him anything its all too hard. We could not get into our room with the key he gave us we tried for about 5 mins. When i informed him of the problem he kept on insisting that it was the correct key but infact he had give us a different key and never apologised for being wrong. We booked a transfer with the hotel to pick us up from the airport Malpensa to the hotel for 80 euro but the driver tried to rip us off and wanted 120 euro just be aware and don't let them over charge you. Never the less we were happy with the hotel as these minor issues were resolved.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanita7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_ferreira, Direttore at Hotel Genius Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Guest
thank your for the time you took in sharing your thoughts with the travelling community
Regarding our night shift, made by Shovan from 24:00 to 07:00 every day, he gives his best in doing is job. He loves it and the attention and effort he puts is remarkable considering his background. Besides this, he has difficulty in communication in English and this puts a lot of pressure on him. Because all this, there is a sing next to the elevator stating our limited services at reception between times that where mentioned. We are working on this in order to deliver always more. I will show your review to him.
Regarding the car transfer it costs € 80,00 for a private deluxe sedan that seats four (less than a public taxi) and 120,00 for a mini van that seats seven. However, when car transfer is confirmed also the price is communicated in advance. and there are no more changes.
This is a serious issue and I woul like to go deeper on this. Our supplier is on the market many years now and serves the biggest hotels in milan. I never had problems on this and I would like to keep it this way. Get back to me to tell me more about the issue. If refund is due, I will do it gladly. Thank you once more for your time
Marco Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel reception seemed recently refurbished and so are the rooms. We had a four bed room which was not of the most spacious but considering the price we paid it was well worth it. The hotel is located close to Cairoli metro station which was optimal since we went to see a concert at San Siro which is on the same line. It is also about a 10 minute walk from the Duomo and close to nearby sites. Breakfast was also included and is what one would expect of a hotel of this standard.

The only drawback was one of the receptionists, a long haired guy who seemed to be working much against his will and who was picking his nose when we entered the hotel on one occasion and continued doing so even as I remarked sarcastically in Italian that he was doing little soldier statuettes (piccoli soldatini).

Overall I wanted a place where to sleep, cheap, clean, ensuite and breakfast included and very central - I got it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Good place, nice price, very well situated but management was a bit grumpy, never had a smile to us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had booked to spend 5 nights here. Big mistake. On arrival our air con was not working correctly with water pouring out of it so much so that we had to place the waste paper bucket below it to catch the water. We reported it in the morning and assured that it would be seen to. However, the same thing happened on the 2nd night so we reported it again. It wasn't repaired at any point during our stay - we gave up complaining as the staff clearly didn't care. The room was in poor condition with stains on the carpets and multiple scuff marks and holes on the walls. Every time we used the shower the bathroom was flooded as there was only a very shallow shower tray with a shower curtain around it - should never have been like this and badly needed a proper enclosed shower screen to prevent this. The hotel was extremely noisy and we were disturbed 3 out of the 5 nights by fellow guests choosing to party till 3am. Breakfast was poor with little choice of foodstuffs. There are no redeeming features about this hotel and can honestly say that it is the worse hotel that my husband and I have ever stayed in. Suffice to say we would not recommend it and will certainly never choose to return here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurarDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_ferreira, Direttore at Hotel Genius Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear guest
nice to read from you again. And a pleasure to have you back with us again. The aircon was disassembled and cleaned the same morning. It has been double checked the next morning but no problems where found. You did not talked any more about it, it means everything is ok. Breakfast is the same as last year. With some improvements. But no, we do not serve scrambled eggs. We serve continental breakfast (wikipedia) with some extra items, the kind that most people appreciate. Room are not brand new, but improved dramatically since last year. There are stains on carpet such as fingernails ink or bleach that leave marks forever until you change the entire carpet. Since we are a budget hotel we can simply not do it every year.
We we said good bye, it seemed you had a great time in Milan, did not sound that dramatic your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the next future
Regards
Marco Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#126 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#68 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genius Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genius Downtown

Property: Hotel Genius Downtown
Address: Via Porlezza 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genius Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in a great place. Walking distance of all major attractions and subway stop just around the corner together with the major shopping area of the city. Train connection to airport is only minutes away which make the Genius Hotel the best choice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genius Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genius Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing