We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of a kind vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Monziani on San Giulio Island, in the middle of Lake Orta, 4 bedrooms, garden & boathouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Monziani on San Giulio Island, in the middle of Lake Orta, 4 bedrooms, garden & boathouse.
View from the Villa of the mainland and the antique town of Orta where there is a garage. The Island of San Giulio from mainland Orta. Public boats or our aluminium boat are available.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Villa Monziani on San Giulio Island, in the middle of Lake Orta, 4 bedrooms, garden & boathouse.
View from the Villa of the mainland and the antique town of Orta where there is a garage.
The Island of San Giulio from mainland Orta. Public boats or our aluminium boat are available.
Facade of the house, dated 1637, the large lounge on first floor has a beautiful view of the lake.
The small garden, borders the lake, you can dive off the wall to swim or access by the boat house.
The garden shady area under the bower. There are deckchairs cushions & chairs to eat outside.
The manicured garden has two stone tables for eating outside, lamps are provided.
A frequent visitor to the island along with many other birds and wildlife.
Kitchen on ground floor with access to garden and spectacular view. Equipped with all the mod-cons.
Particular of the well equipped kitchen with 2 sinks, washing machine, dishwasher, oven, gas stove.
Lounge next to the kitchen with access to the garden, utility closet and ground floor toilet.
Ground floor lounge, towels for sunbathing and swimming provided, also cushions.
Boathouse next to the kitchen. Aluminium boat with 8HP engine. Access lake through sandy entrance..
1st Master bedroom on 1st floor, access to balcony and garden. Ample wardrobe and chest of drawers.
Lounge on the first floor with original 17th roof and spectacular view, access to garden by balcony
View of the garden and lake from the lounge. Exit to the balcony which runs the length of the facade
2nd bedroom (2 single beds) on mezzanine floor with ample wardrobe, drawers and ensuite bathroom
Bathroom ajourning 2nd bedroom. Bath/shower, WC, wash basin, cupboards and mirror.
3rd bedroom on 2nd floor with divan bed (2 pers) small balcony, marvelous view of lake from on-high
Entrance to 4th bedroom lounge on the 2nd floor with en-suite bathroom, ample storage space.
Another view of the 2nd floor lounge
Adjourning bathroom to the 4th master bedroom, with sauna shower, WC, bidet & washbasin.
Stairs from 4th bedroom lounge to master bedroom on mezzanine above lounge.
4th master bedroom with ample wardrobe & chest of drawers and small living area with divan.
San Giulio Island by night. Lake Orta is generally calm, a light breeze descending in the evening.
The magical atmosphere of the most quaintest of the Italian lakes, secluded, peaceful and romantic.
Breakfast in the morning at Venus with a brioche, cappuccino and a newspaper, great start to the day
Map of the Orta peninsula showing access to main square and route to garage
Another view of the island from Sacro Monte, a UNESCO heritage site, a short walk from Orta
The main square of Orta with its shops, restaurants and characteristic 18th C charm and grace.
The Island of San Giulio from mainland Orta. Public boats or our aluminium boat are available.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara A
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“One of a kind vacation”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in April 2013

Orta, and this house are truly one of a kind. Our immediate family stayed for a week during the spring of 2013 and it was an unforgettable experience. The house is spacious with spectacular views throughout, old world charm meets modern amenities and well selected furnishings. The island is quiet and unbelievably beautiful. Truly unmatched and unforgettable - GO!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: Beds could be more comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you very much, we strive to modernise within our possibilities as much as possible, guarantying as much personal comfort as possible, renovating the linen and bedding, adding extra luxuries such as bedwarmers for the colder months and heaters for the toilets all year round, and decorating with designer objects, such as the illumination pieces, as after all we are in a country famous for its design! Thanks also to many of our guests we now find the kitchen furnished with a most varied set of utensils, so complete that a few we are not 100% certain of their use, to help make your home cooking as pleasurable and convenient as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCee88
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Fantastic house for large groups in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in March 2013

The Villa is located on an island in Lake Orta. It is quite, peaceful, and set in one of the most beautiful places you will ever visit. The Villa has so much character and is right across the water from a great town with so many delicious restaurants. Our family spent a week there after a wedding and it was great to wind down and relax.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you so much, not only is it a perfect place to relax after a wedding, it's now becoming a popular location for weddings, especially among foreigners, ever more often do you see couples in the main square having their photograph taken with the island as the backdrop or being rowed around the island in one of the characteristic wooden row boats. It certainly adds a fairy-tale mystique that is completed by the singing of the nuns, who live in the monastery on centre of the island, on Sunday mornings at mass in the ancient basilica, an experience open to all and not to be missed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoneGator...
Kaneohe, Hawaii
2 reviews
“Magical Island in Northern Italy”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in June 2013

I have stayed at this Villa a few times and each and every time is just as magical as the first! The house is so charming and afternoons spent reading in the garden or fishing or just having a glass of prosecco and chatting with family and friends makes you feel like you have discovered the secret to life. The village is filled with great little shops (ranging from clothing to artwork to jewelry) and restaurants and has an open market once a week to shop for souvenirs. I will certainly go back to visit soon and I know I won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Lack of wifi but there is availability in the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you very much. We're so glad you appreciate the amenities that Orta now offers, over the years the quantity, quality and range of shops has improved enormously, after all the region is famous for its gastronomic specialities and improved catering is symptomatic of progress. Apart from the plethora of all types of wine bars, ice-cream shops, restaurants (in particular Venus), fashion, art, jewellery, and all the related events organised by the borough, we have now even a famous Italian TV chef, Antonino Cannavacciuolo at nearby Villa Crespi, near the Orta roundabout. He's the equivalent of Gordon Ramsey, without the swearing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimblebea...
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in July 2013

I'm almost afraid to write a review as I don't want it to be booked when we want to return! The sun shimmering off the lake in the morning, sitting in the garden drinking my lavazza coffee listening to the church bells ringing is a memory I call on whenever I am stressed. We took our 2 boys 11 & 13 at the time and they had the time of their life going out in the boat, fishing, feeding ducks. A chance to disconnect from technology and relax. The village is amazing, the people friendly, the food delicious - can't recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very unique, peaceful and relaxing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you so much. We are so pleased that the boys enjoyed the lake, it is a vaunt that the water is so clean now, after the definitive depuration interventions in the 80s. There are lots of fish, so much so that on Sundays many try their luck trying to catch the renown perches and pikes. Some have also put traps for freshwater prawns, which evidences the cleanliness of the water. Apart from all the birds which we love to feed too, often the swans will pass by when the lake is quiet and that's our favourite moment. We make sure that we'll always got biscuits for them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerriHaye...
Honoluly
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another Magical stay at Lake Orta”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

I have stayed at Barrow residence on Isola San Giulio for 16 years. I have taken family and friends at many different times of the year and we always feel like crying the day we leave.
It is a private residence with lovely garden with a pergola with grapes and roses and dining table.
There are 3 bedrooms 2 with bath ensuite and a dine in kitchen and lovely living room with fireplace for cool evenings. The rental includes a small motorboat to let you visit other villages along the lake and commute to the village (4 minutes) away. There is one restaurant on the island and a lovely convent with 80 Benedictine nuns in cloister. On Sundays they sing at the 11 o'clock Mass and it is magical. There are great shops and restaurants in the village and they are so friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is like home away from home
Liked least: The older I get the more the stairs and launching boat are a little challenging
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
It's always a great pleasure to have you, the house has become your home too over the years and we treasure the useful objects you've left behind to help enhance the facilities. We have always made jam from the grapes and the figs from the garden, but now thanks to you we have a new specialty with which greet future guests, San Giulio chutney! We are increasing the species of spice plants that can be found in the garden; rosemary, sage, oregano, majorana, mint, basil and chives, to enrich the culinary experience as much as possible. We'll be planting a banana tree, not that we ever expect fruits, but to use the leaves in the future to cook fish on the new BBQ grill, obviously made in USA! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$2,520
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing