We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Motta with a group of diners ”
Review of La Motta

La Motta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$46
Description: Restaurant & Bistrot, appetizer, wine bar, lunch and dinner, appetizers, cocktails.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant & Bistrot, appetizer, wine bar, lunch and dinner, appetizers, cocktails.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

A lovely restaurant in an historic building of Lago D’Orta. The food was wonderful. As we were a large group of 15 diners we ate a set menu. Everything was wonderful and the wine was matched to the dishes. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening spent at La Motta.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Carolynd0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 415 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2018

We reserved a table in advance via email to avoid disappointment. We were greeted by the freindly and attentive staff. The resturant has been restored and furnished to a high standard. The menu was varied with a good selection of Italian dishes of fish, pasta and meat. Something for everyone. A lovely evening

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Thousands of years ago, Motta is where the man who guarded the castle on the island lived and watched. Today, Motta is a much-loved-- by locals as well as visitors-- dining experience. The menu changes, according to what is in season, and the chef is creative. At first read of the most recent menu, I was sure they had nothing I could eat. And then I chatted with our attentive and kind server, and he and I easily adapted the onion leek and the pesto pasta so I could enjoy a meatless meal. Everything tasted exactly as one would wish, lovely and filling, but just right. Nicole rated the sardines and pasta with cuttlefish five stars. And yes, we enjoyed sharing the trio of desserts, local wine, the warm atmosphere, and the comfort of it all.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank srnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We dined at this restaurant three times whilst staying in Orta San Guilio and would probably have dined more times if we had discovered it earlier! The standard of this restaurant is superb, beautifully run by Vittorio and assisted by the delightful Aldo and the rest of the team, all the staff are outstanding, extremely professional, helpful and friendly. It is set in a charming position just off the main square and we dined inside on one occasion when the evening was a little chilly in the lovely very old building full of character and the other two occasions on the terrace.

The food here is truly excellent, the ravioli with an orange and horseradish sauce was divine, my husband had it on all three occasions as he loved it so much! The monkfish was superb and so was the pork and lamb.

There is an excellent wine list and Aldo is very helpful in helping you choose from a selection of reasonably priced wines. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and we would highly recommend it but you need to book as it is very popular.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Josephine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

After searching for an authentic Italian restaurant that offered more than the standard fayre you tend to find in 90% of places, we actually shot ourselves in the foot with La Motta. The warning signs were there when my wife and I took a good 15 minutes pouring over the menu before we could decide what to have, simply because each dish is so unusual - well for us at least as we seldom come across char, eel and donkey in most of the places we visit. In the end we opted for a single course of 'Real Pork' with potato gratin. It was well cooked and nicely presented and we couldn't fault the service. The restaurant was full - mainly with locals - so I'm sure it's just our tastes that a little more down to earth!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank RichardPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Motta also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to La Motta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing