We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Rocco
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It was with some trepidation that we arrived at this hotel, given that the Rough Guide had totally slated it and given some of the bad reviews we had seen. However, a wonderful surprise awaited us. We loved it. The hotel must be the best positioned in Orta. It lies directly at the lake side and has spectacular views. The rooms were new, roomy and well equipped and we had a little balcony looking out on to the pool and the lake. We were delighted with it. The pool is superb and lies directly alongside the lake. However, the weather was so good and the lake so inviting, we swam in the lake every day. Breakfast was perfect. A vast array of continental goodies, which had something for every one. The hotel is literally a minutes walk to the main square in the village, which is the hub for all the bars and restaurants. For a relaxing retreat at a wonderful hotel with great views, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BH-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights and overall enjoyed the hotel, but it's let down by poor serving staff at breakfast, small rooms and large, noisy wedding parties.

Our room was small but modern, probably too modern for some people's tastes. The bathroom is good and the shower was excellent. However, there are no hooks in the bathroom, small point, but quite annoying.

The location is first class, with great views of the lake and the island, with plenty of place to sit and enjoy the lake. There's a good pool and place to park a boat (you can hire them) and it's also possible to swim in the lake.

The reception staff are very good and very knowledgeable.

The restaurant looked pricey and I can confirm there are cheaper (and excellent) alternatives within a five minute walk.

What really lets this hotel down though, is the poor service at breakfast. The staff can appear surly (I know it's Italy, but this was beyond what could be expected), breakfast items are left to run out and getting them replenished is a battle and a waitress on our last day was wearing black jeans with trainers as part of her uniform. We have communicated this to the hotel on our departure, so lets hope they fix it.

Also, two of our party, in separate rooms, on separate floors, were woken up by "YMCA" being sung at 0200 by an ongoing wedding party. Reading other reviews, this seems to be a common theme and the hotel must take action to sort this out!

However, it is a good hotel in a great location and does promise a fantastic stay. The service and wedding are minor problems.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Summary: My (now) wife and I were married on Lake Orta and stayed at the San Rocco Hotel for the duration of our trip (except the eve of the wedding as it was bad luck for the bride to see the groom) which lasted 10 days. There were 8 people in our group staying at the hotel.

Pros: The hotel lobby (deck area) is perfect for visiting guests and friends to relax and unwind. In fact it's so good I reckon it's one of the best spots on the lake to relax over an espresso or a Prosecco and take in the stunning view of the lake. The rooms are clean, medium sized and well lit but make sure to get a lake view or you are missing out.
On our wedding night we returned to find a complimentary bottle of Champagne in our room (the bridesmaids requested this) which we shared the following evening on the deck with our guests. By far Clara at reception stood out as the most valuable member of staff at San Rocco, positive, energetic and willing to help. She really was a pleasure to deal with.

Cons: There are a few unfortunately. In our party of 8 we found the following to be true. The lobby area (inside) is dead all day and all evening, it's like a ghost hotel, in fact there's more atmosphere in space. A glass of Prosecco cost €7 and is usually served by an apathetic (showing or feeling no interest, enthusiasm, or concern) member of staff. At €244 per room per night not having WiFi access is an Epic Fail and then being charged €15 for WiFi access to find it doesn't work and their Tech support consists of the on/off modem trick was very disappointing! We had to resort to expensive roaming 3G to video Skype with family who didn't make the trip. The rooms as (mentioned above) are mid-size but the bathroom is tiny and personally I'm not a fan of the Bath/Shower space saving combo. Breakfast is average and the staff were "grumpy" particularly Matteo who received a complaint for passing remarks about guests under his breath (some of us speak Italian) and then trying to add a €12 charge to two guests for x4 slices of toast? This is totally unacceptable! Our last gripe was that our bridesmaids were put in a "Lake view" room which should have been called the "Tree view" room on their first night.

Warning: Through an unfortunate set of circumstances one of our guests ventured into the incorrect room. This surprised the correct guest staying in the room and left the bewildered guest from our party "dazed and confused" as to how this could happen while the hotel staff pointed the blame directly at him. In fact his key card allowed him into the incorrect room (which looked identical according to staff). Upon leaving the hotel we reported this security risk and clarification to the front desk and we demonstrated how the card to room 314 can also open 214!!! Of course we were told "The computer says ..." but there's nothing more clear or more evident than an actual demonstration. This wasn't resolved when we were checking out so be careful.

Conclusion: San Rocco is a beautiful hotel situated in a beautiful location. Don't expect great treatment from the staff (excluding the aforementioned member) and don't expect any perks or extras even if you bring a large group! To synopise: it's a nice hotel that could be great. I know I've been very critical in this review but I (and members of our group) travelled extensively and I can see the potential in this hotel so I'm hoping our comments will be put to good use and help make San Rocco a more welcoming and efficient place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room without a restricted view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bfitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I loved this place. Lovely hotel in a perfect location on Lake Orta. Rooms are clean and have been finished well with good quality fittings. Quite a modern design for the rooms of the renovated part of the hotel but it works well i think. I stay in a lot of hotels and this one can not be faulted.

Breakfast was good. Good selection of fresh food.

The downstairs bar is very nice, although i have to say a bit too pricey. The cost is way above other local spots within 50m. So we barely used this space.

The pool area on the lake was stunning. Although the kayaks were rubbish!

The staff were all fantastically friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The spa looked great but we didnt use it.

I plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed in San Rocco in March and got a Lake View room. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and the views of St Julius island are breathtaking. We did not use the spa facilities as I was unwell at the time but the brochure looked fantastic and we will definitely try them when we go back.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful which I appreciated.
Only downside was the restaurant and staff in the restaurant. I felt they were looking down their noses at us and never felt comfortable.
Food was divine but very expensive and very small portions.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebelsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed five days in the San Rocco on vacation at the shores of beautiful lake Orta and in the romantic town of San Giulio.
Everything in the hotel was superb, friendly people at the front desk, in the bar, in the restaurant, everywhere friendly attendance.
A great compliment to the chef in the kitchen, inventive and creative dishes, even the veggie's are pampered! A place to remember and to return. We payed for wifi 10 euros for our whole stay, which is acceptable.
Ludo and Monique FEYEN, Belgium

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludofeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after staying in Stresa, Lake Maggiore. We had never been to Lake Orta before and wanted to see what it was like. We're glad we did - the place was perfect, with Orta San Guilio being a small village and mainly traffic free. The hotel was right on the lake shore and was ideal for completely chilling out. Our room was on the small side but well equipped and adequate for the length of our stay. Not too sure whether the storage facilities would have been suitable for a period of a week or more. We did not have dinner at the restaurant (set menu 70 euros) and opted instead to visit a local restaurant, which offered good meals at a more reasonable price. However, we did have a lunch at the hotel (15 euros each) and thought it was of good quality and value for money. The hotel staff were pleasant and willing to help and we enjoyed our stay. Would we go back - definitely, if only for the view and the total relaxation. Lake Orta is a well kept secret but I'm not sure what you would do in bad weather. You might be better with a car and the parking facilities at the hotel (9 euros per day) is a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
1.0 km away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
947 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
300 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
233 reviews
1.2 km away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
227 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rocco

Address: Via Gippini 11 | Navigatore Via Poli 9, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: $201 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Rocco 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing