We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”
Review of Villa Crespi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Crespi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

clean rooms, excellent food (both breakfast spread and michelin rated dinner) and fantastic service (from booking a room, during my stay and after service). great holiday in lake orta :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    99
    36
    19
    14
See reviews for
113
503
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed 3 nights at the Villa Crespi and enjoyed my visit immensely . This hotel is a treat. The staff greeted us at the door with a cold drink, checked us in and took us to our room. The villa itself is a work of art and the grounds are beautiful. There are several places to sit outside and relax while talking the a beautiful view of Lake Orta. This is a quiet peaceful hotel.

The hotel is a short walk the the village of Orta San Guilio (no cars allowed in the village) where you can take the boat to the island or have a meal and gelato.

The Villa Crespi hosts a two star Michelin restaurant. Try it out for lunch or dinner. It is an amazing experience.

Room Tip: There are 14 rooms in the hotel, I'm pretty sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at Villa Crespi as part of our honeymoon last month. On reading the previous comments, i feel sure we were staying at a different Villa Crespi. When we arrived we iniitally thought 'wow what a beautiful building", we were only staying two nights but by the end we were calling it Faulty Towers. When we got to our room we had a lovely lake view and the sun was streaming into the windows, making the room very warm. we turned on what we thought were two air conditioners, but they seemed very ineffective. our room was on the 3rd floor, but we couldn't open the windows, we unpacked then went out to look around the local area.
when we came back to our room it was still 32 degrees in the room, so i went and asked at reception for something to be done about it. we had a lovely lake view but had to keep the curtains shut to try and cool the room down. we went out for dinner that night, when we came back our room was still hot, so i asked for a fan, a portable fan was brought up, and we slept with that. Walking into the hotel there is no cool air either, so makes you feel like they are trying to save on their bills!!!!!! Next morning at breakfast, there was only one staff member to serve everybody, she was extremely stressed and busy. we ordered scrambled eggs, when they arrived they were so so salty we asked for them to be re-made without salt. when they arrived they tasted pretty much the same, but they had a disgusting mushy texture, we saw another couple send their eggs back also. the only fruit you could get was chopped tinned fruit that was floating in a large bowl of sweet liquid. That day we were out for the whole day when we came back at 4pm our room still had not been cleaned. we were asked to wait 20 minutes so we went downstairs to the bar to ask for a drink. there was no staff to be found near the bar, so we sat outside and waited, nobody came near us. we eventually gave up and went to our room, which had been cleaned but dirty glasses etc that we had used for wine hadn't been replaced, they were still dirty. the next morning we were leaving early, so we went for breakfast at 745 (breakfast is supposed to start at 730am), the same stressed staff member is there, still laying tables for breakfast, and collecting glasses that had been left from the night before. we didn't risk the eggs again. What we couldn't understand is that the restaurant is supposedly a 2 star Michelin establishment, so we can only surmise that the hotel and the restaurant are run as two separate businesses, as looking at the breakfast that is served it was a terribly poor standard. The other thing that we found aggravating was there was no lake access from the grounds, on ariel photos it looks like there is but we tried to get down to swim but couldn't get through, there is also no pool, but we were told we could go to a 'sister' hotel to swim if we wanted.
What a let down this hotel was, luckily it was the end of our honeymoon and not the start. Would not recommend this hotel to anybody, and i've told our wedding planner in Milan not to recommend it either. Sorry but you have to put the bad out there so that standards improve.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has a working air conditioner, otherwise you will need all curtains closed and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeanna5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villacrespi, Direttore at Villa Crespi, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of VIlla Crespi and please accept our apologies for not coming even close to your expectations.
The previous reviews you have read are of course honest reviews of our hotel and standards, otherwise they would not be posted by TripAdvisor. We run our hotel with true devotion to our guests and passion for our profession.
Sadly there are times when we are defeated by the weather, such as we have been this late and amazingly hot summer. Villa Crespi was built in 1879 before internal wall ducts for piping to carry aircon from room to room. We have aircon units that ensure the original walls and their often intricate decorations remain intact, due to local Heritage laws. Unfortunately the aircon cannot always cope with the extremes of heat such as we have had to suffer continuosly since mid August 2011. We therefore offer fans and additional units where possible, while doing our utmost to try and maintain acceptable temperatures.
Please accept our apologies for the unpleasantly high levels of heat and humidity you have suffered during this exceptionally hot summer.
Your breakfast complaint is, however, somewhat over-harsh. The products we use are of the highest possible standard and quality, exclusively organic, invariably chosen for the pleasure of our guests' palates, whatever their tastes may be. Our yogurts are local, organic specialities, the cold meats and cheese selected for their quality and delicious flavour in the morning, the cakes and pastries are all from our own kitchens and understandably reflect the Piedmontese and Neapolitan traditions so loved by our guests. Fruit in such atmospheric conditions can certainly wilt rapidly and eggs may be over or under salted depending on the palate. Unfortunately, we were not advised of your dissatisfaction while you were in the hotel. It is our policy to try to live up to expectations and create a unique, unforgettable experience for our guests. As a matter of policy, if we receive a complaint before depature, we always investigate thoroughly and offer a way to make up for any disappointment. We regret that it was not possible to do so in your case.
For the information of all TripAdvisor readers, our hotel and restaurant are not run as separate businesses, we are fully aware of the importance of our 2 Michelin stars and the many other recognitions of excellence we have been awarded, indeed we work together with our staff passionately in order each day to deserve the honours we have had bestowed upon us. Please once again accept our apologies for not having been able to reach for you the levels of excellence obviously achieved for others, particularly during this important and memorable time, your honeymoon.
If you would kindly ask your wedding planner to contact us on your behalf, or if you contact us personally, we will be delighted to discuss the issue and come to an agreement for you to visit us again, should you be returning to Europe in the near future.

With our very best wishes,

Cinzia Cannavacciuolo, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I booked a room, then realized I had to change dates. The staff were really accomodating, and upgraded me. I was in the most incredible room - four poster bed, marble jacuzzi bath, view of the lake, it was really gorgeous. And the minibar was free! Wish Id known that before. Gorgeous place, friendly staff - they picked me up from the train station in their jeep - and a short walk from San Orta de Giulio, which was delightfully not full of tourists, surprisingly, considering how pretty it is. All in all, a great place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesevans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is located walking distance from the center of Orta village. It looks really extraordinary with the mauritian style and also the interior has a lot of charachter.We had a room on third floor with lovely balcony facing the lake Orta. The service was really good, warm and friendly.
The highlight of our visit was the cooking course - for two hours we had a chance to visit the kitchen of 2 Michelin star restaurant and see and hear from the Chef how the dishes are prepared.
The hotel is not cheap but absolutely worth the price

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaarina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Villa Crespi has everything-The property and rooms are exquisite. The rooms are beautifully appointed and sacrifice nothing in terms of comfort. I loved the jacuzzi bath!
You absolutely must eat here. The dining experience is incredible, I believe they have at least one Michelin star, and well deserved. Excellent wine as well recommended by the sommelier. The staff are amazing, all trained at hospitality institutes and it shows! The owners are amazing, and will do everything to make your stay memorable
This place is a definite must if you are in the lakes district!

Room Tip: Simply ask for an upgrade if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anticopalazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

had 3 nights, 1 dinner, 1 lunch and a cooking course. location is perfect, short walk to the lovely little town, but if you need some more things to see, you can rent a car at the reception. room was perfect, clean, big and equipped with sky channels and wifi, the bathroom was perfect as well. the crew is very helpful and they do their best. i have to mention, that this is a small hotel, family business, and there are things which can be different, but as a principle, if you are nice, not expecting the stars to come down, this place is one of the best to relax. not going to write long about the food, it is just simply heaven for gastro lovers. well deserved 2 stars, could be more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiikoqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.0 km away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 km away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.8 km away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Crespi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Crespi

Property: Villa Crespi
Address: G. Fava road 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Crespi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Crespi, a dream location set in the gorgeous countryside around Lake Orta, is in not far from Milan's international Malpensa airport. This fairy-tale palace and its Moorish architecture are a unique experience with the magical atmosphere of the Thousand and One Nights and a journey through the flavours of the two Michelin Star Chef-Patron Antonino Cannavacciuolo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Crespi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Crespi Hotel Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing