We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One time in your life ”
Review of Villa Crespi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Crespi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

I took a reservation on March 2017. Place is wonderful, great staff, we had food tasting and added wine tasting and cheese tasting, at the end we ate seven plates of food and drunk seven glasses of wine... ate a lot... too much!! But it was all so goooood! Add wine tasting, it’s awesome! Price: 250 euro/person.
Chef Canavacciuolo usually is there and meets clients. Best lunch in my life

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ceschina1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Only stayed one night - each room is different in this Moorish inspired hotel. Mine was lovely. I always appreciate an in-room coffee maker and a complimentary bottle of water upon arrival - which this hotel delivered. While I wasn't a fan of the dinner, expect most would enjoy more than I did. I did enjoy the breakfast selection.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Traveling with friends from U.S. Arrived at Villa Crespi via Zurich. Greeted warmly by professional staff. Seated in lovely library/sitting room and served Prosecco while our bags were brought to our rooms. Hotel and rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and very clean. Our room had a footed tub with a hand-held shower. We had requested a walk-in shower. Hotel offered complimentary use of the rainfall showers in the spa located nearby on the same floor as our room and was convenient and comfortable. Reception services were exemplary. They arranged for a driver to/from local restaurants allowing an extra glass of wine without worry. Beautiful breakfast room and great breakfast. One morning breakfast staff was a little off. Overall we were treated very well and would return without hesitation. Wonderful hotel to feel pampered and enjoy beautiful Lake Orta.

Room Tip: For seniors, you'll want a walk-in shower in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelsshopsanddines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We visited the villa for 3 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Firstly the building is absolutely stunning and has been restored beautifully to its original 1879 elegance. The "eastern" architectural influence is immediately apparent and intricate in its detail. And Orta San Giulio is a peaceful and lovely medievil location. But the service is the thing; from the minute we arrived until the second we left (with a granted late check out) every one of the staff was respectful helpful, friendly and professional . Matteo the concierge was engaging, charming and helped us plan some great days out. The breakfast staff was great and what a dinner dining experience! We had the full degustation menu with matching wines and the food was creative, interesting and delicious. Silvio our table waiter was wonderful and even gave us a tour of the 20-strong staffed kitchen after the meal; really fascinating to see the commitment levels necessary to produce what they do. We both enjoyed an Ayurvedic massage which was relaxing and delivered with class. Thanks Villa Crespi staff on a wonderful job and making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken and Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed 2 nights at Villa Crespi and had a great experience.

The hotel is stunning, with rooms tastefully and individually furnished. Additional facilities are limited with no gym or spa however.

Staff were extremely helpful and attentive and helped us with local recommendations, taxis etc.

Had the south to north tasting menu in the restaurant on the first evening, along with matching wines - this is highly recommended and was some of the best food we’ve had anywhere in the world. Only criticism i have is that that we felt a little rushed, with plates cleared before 100% finished and no break between courses.

Buffet breakfast in the hotel was slightly disappointing as would have been good to have the option of eggs/ hot food rather than just a continental breakfast.

Orta is a beautiful town, located about 10 minute walk from the hotel and the lake was one of the most beautiful places we visited during our time in Italy/ the Lakes. Plenty of wine bars and good quality restaurants.

Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SCochrane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Exquisite and refined describe this most particular place. The setting seems to be out of 1001 Nights, the restaurant belongs to the most coveted eating temples in Italy, the hotel promises uniquely decorated rooms to satisfy even the most demanding of guests. A superlative place in all senses. If you have to ask about how muchs it costs, well, you may want to look elsewhere...

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Duschan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I hadn't done much research on Villa Crespi before arriving, so I was totally unprepared for the intricacy and uniqueness of its design Moorish design. The wow factor is incredible!

Each bedroom is different, and ours had a gorgeous, circus-tent like fabric-covered ceiling. Our bed was insanely comfortable-- want to have those sheets and pillows at home!

There are beautiful breakfast spreads, and we enjoyed two dinners here. The first evening, we did the Carpe Diem menu. Sensational with lovely little extra surprises all along the way. The second evening, we did the a la carte menu, and it was similarly excellent. Highly highly recommend!

Service is absolutely impeccable. Friendly, attentive, and polished. Frank was our favorite! Matteo at the front desk was also wonderful. But truly, all were fabulous.

The few downsides/things to know: there is no direct lake access from the hotel (it's about a 10 minute walk to the water/15 min to the village). Secondly, there's no gym. I enjoyed going on walks each morning, but it would have been nice to have an indoor option if there had been rain. Lastly, and not necessarily a negative, but our bathroom didn't have a true shower. We had a tub with a handheld shower head, which didn't bother us but might some other people.

We enjoyed our time at Villa Crespi so much. It's a jewel, and we were lucky to get the chance to be dazzled by it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank HKH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orta San Giulio
0.6 km away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
67 reviews
0.8 km away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#9 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
146 reviews
1 km away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
540 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#1 of 1 in Gozzano
33 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Crespi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Crespi

Address: G. Fava road 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: C$667 - C$1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Crespi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Crespi, a dream location set in the gorgeous countryside around Lake Orta, is in not far from Milan's international Malpensa airport. This fairy-tale palace and its Moorish architecture are a unique experience with the magical atmosphere of the Thousand and One Nights and a journey through the flavours of the two Michelin Star Chef-Patron Antonino Cannavacciuolo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Crespi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Crespi Hotel Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing