We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
916
133
41
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
916
133
41
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake ortatasting menudining experiencemoorish designmichelin restaurantcarpe diemarabian nightssister hotelbeautiful buildingclassic roomspecial experienceboutique hotelthree nightssmall hotelyogurtsuitebath
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Only stayed one night - each room is different in this Moorish inspired hotel. Mine was lovely. I always appreciate an in-room coffee maker and a complimentary bottle of water upon arrival - which this hotel delivered. While I wasn't a fan of the dinner, expect most would enjoy more than I did. I did enjoy the breakfast selection.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Traveling with friends from U.S. Arrived at Villa Crespi via Zurich. Greeted warmly by professional staff. Seated in lovely library/sitting room and served Prosecco while our bags were brought to our rooms. Hotel and rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and very clean. Our room had a footed tub with a hand-held shower. We had requested a walk-in shower. Hotel offered complimentary use of the rainfall showers in the spa located nearby on the same floor as our room and was convenient and comfortable. Reception services were exemplary. They arranged for a driver to/from local restaurants allowing an extra glass of wine without worry. Beautiful breakfast room and great breakfast. One morning breakfast staff was a little off. Overall we were treated very well and would return without hesitation. Wonderful hotel to feel pampered and enjoy beautiful Lake Orta.

Room Tip: For seniors, you'll want a walk-in shower in room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelsshopsanddines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

We visited the villa for 3 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Firstly the building is absolutely stunning and has been restored beautifully to its original 1879 elegance. The "eastern" architectural influence is immediately apparent and intricate in its detail. And Orta San Giulio is a peaceful and lovely medievil location. But the service is the thing; from the minute we arrived until the second we left (with a granted late check out) every one of the staff was respectful helpful, friendly and professional . Matteo the concierge was engaging, charming and helped us plan some great days out. The breakfast staff was great and what a dinner dining experience! We had the full degustation menu with matching wines and the food was creative, interesting and delicious. Silvio our table waiter was wonderful and even gave us a tour of the 20-strong staffed kitchen after the meal; really fascinating to see the commitment levels necessary to produce what they do. We both enjoyed an Ayurvedic massage which was relaxing and delivered with class. Thanks Villa Crespi staff on a wonderful job and making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken and Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed 2 nights at Villa Crespi and had a great experience.

The hotel is stunning, with rooms tastefully and individually furnished. Additional facilities are limited with no gym or spa however.

Staff were extremely helpful and attentive and helped us with local recommendations, taxis etc.

Had the south to north tasting menu in the restaurant on the first evening, along with matching wines - this is highly recommended and was some of the best food we’ve had anywhere in the world. Only criticism i have is that that we felt a little rushed, with plates cleared before 100% finished and no break between courses.

Buffet breakfast in the hotel was slightly disappointing as would have been good to have the option of eggs/ hot food rather than just a continental breakfast.

Orta is a beautiful town, located about 10 minute walk from the hotel and the lake was one of the most beautiful places we visited during our time in Italy/ the Lakes. Plenty of wine bars and good quality restaurants.

Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SCochrane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Exquisite and refined describe this most particular place. The setting seems to be out of 1001 Nights, the restaurant belongs to the most coveted eating temples in Italy, the hotel promises uniquely decorated rooms to satisfy even the most demanding of guests. A superlative place in all senses. If you have to ask about how muchs it costs, well, you may want to look elsewhere...

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank DuschanT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews