We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“luxe, calme et volupté”
other travellers have booked this property
Palazzo dei Leoni - 17th Century Mansion - 600 sqm - garden -spa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Palazzo dei Leoni - 17th Century Mansion - 600 sqm - garden -spa
Lounge on first floor: 40 sqm entertainment area (satellite tv,home theatre, vd,wi-fi) Indoor heated pool (10 m.),waterfall,hydromassage,chromotherapy,turkish-bath,2 showers,bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Palazzo dei Leoni - 17th Century Mansion - 600 sqm - garden -spa
Lounge on first floor: 40 sqm entertainment area (satellite tv,home theatre, vd,wi-fi)
Indoor heated pool (10 m.),waterfall,hydromassage,chromotherapy,turkish-bath,2 showers,bathroom
Garden is a romantic and private place for intimate lunch and dinners
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Studio
First floor: Bedroom One
En-suite bathroom One
First floor: Bedroom Two
En-suite bathroom Two
Second floor: Bedroom Three
Second floor: Bedroom Four
View from bedroom Four
View from the porch
The garden
Garden
View from the library
View from the library
Main entrance and back entrance
Orta San Giulio, the lake and San Giulio Isle
The Isle of San Giulio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Henny F
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“luxe, calme et volupté”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent 3 days and nights at the palazzo and everything was just perfect.
Manuela, the manager, welcomed us with her charming French and did her best for us. We enjoyed the amazing pieces of design in this historical place, we had great weather, so we could eat in the courtyard every day.
This is THE perfect place to relax ( the spa is very special ) and fare niente except enjoying the place and the people you are with.
We will definitely come back at another season

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: no ostentation , everything was special but still easy to live with
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Dear Guests,
we thank you so much for your review.
Hope to see you again in the future!
Best wishes,
Manuela and Stefano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurupushu...
new york
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Palazzo dei Leoni is truly spectacular. As unique as you can get and so irresistibly chic!
A great location to start: nestled in the centre of Vacciago, an untouched baroque village overlooking lake Orta and San Giulio island, Palazzo dei Leoni embodies the typical structure of the Italian aristocratic mansions built during the 17th century by the wealthiest Milanese families to escape from the plague. The palazzo is all you can imagine and more: porches, arches columns and a cute and a magical inner courtyard.
The mansion has been recently tastefully restored by the new owners and what an amazing job they did, no expenses spared!
My husband and I spent there 5 days with my sister, brother in law and nephew. We had great fun cooking (the kitchen is state of the art) and we rotated between setting up dinner in the elegant dining room or in the beautiful private garden.
All en suite bedrooms, tastefully and appropriately decorated, have gorgeous travertine bathrooms (squeaky clean!) equipped with Frette towels (same brand of the linens) and all necessities. Each room has hidden high quality speakers and regulators so that you may play your best Ipod music selection without disturbing you bedroom neighbor! (speakers even in every bathroom!).
The SPA is simply gorgeous. We could rest after our hectic days and enjoy the highly technological Turkish Bath (highly recommended).
During the day it was quite hot but luckily the spa had a wonderful pool and the temperature fell quite a lot at night felt so didn’t miss the AC!
Within the village we visited Fondazione Calderara, featuring a small but very precious collection of paintings and sculptures, set in a beautiful palazzo.
The most amazing deli shop ever is just few steps away from the house: from newspapers and cigarettes to cold cuts, best local cheeses, fresh vegetables, fruits and staples.
Away from the pretty crowded village of Orta, however a must to see, it’s been the perfect location for us to discover the lake and it has to offer.
Manuela, the property manager, was extremely and courteous professional. Thank you Manuela and Palazzo dei Leoni, we we definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spa is amazing
Liked least: the village is tiny
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review.
It was really kind of you.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Best,

Manuela and the Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive R
CPT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service in a great location.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great service in a great location.

My boyfriend and I spent 4 days together with our Australian friends in this beautiful mansion..

The first day it was raining and we couldn't really understand our location.

But we found our way around easily , the next day .

We were captivated by the beauty of the Villa.
The amazing way it was renovated, the decor, the details.
We were like children walking around astonished by the beauty of a place like magic.
We expected the house was closer to the lake but realized after few days that was better to be there rather in the village of ORTA, right on the lake but so overcrowded with tourists.
The perfect location for a quick holiday.
Great service as well.
Thanks to Manuela, we could rent a sailing boat on lake MAGGIORE, we could hire a private chef for the most unforgettable dinner and we could get the best tips for the best spots away from the crowd.

Amazing holidays , We cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your holidays!
Hope to see you in the future.
The Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melvin199...
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury at great value”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This ancient courtyard house has been renovated with an imaginative and tasteful mix of modern and old. The kitchen, for instance, has the most modern equipment with a massive old fireplace dominating one wall and a door opening into a charming private courtyard.

The ceilings in this house have been expensively and painstakingly restored to their ancient beauty. The painting clearly took many, many hours to bring out the filigrees and curlicues of the original craftwork.

Each of the four massive bedrooms has its own well-equipped bathroom with very modern plumbing. You could almost play basketball in the sitting room though you'd be afraid of damaging the stunning ceiling seven feet above your head.

We were the first people to stay here following what must have been a ruinously expensive renovation. We pointed out a couple of missing items -- a colander, salt & pepper shakers -- and they arrived the next day.

There is a charming shop one minute away on foot where no English is spoken but gestures and smiles are enough to secure what you need from the wide stock of provisions available.

Downsides and drawbacks to our stay? Easy to say: we had to leave at the end.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2013
Dear Guest,
we couldn't think of anybody better than you and your Family to spend the first holiday at Palazzo dei Leoni.
Thanks a lot for your lovely words.
All the best,
Manuela and the Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing