We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and romantic”
Review of Lake Orta

Lake Orta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.90*
and up
Tour of Lake Maggiore and Orta san Giulio from Arona
More Info
US$46.74*
and up
Group Bus Tour to Lake Orta with Optional Cruise from Stresa
More Info
US$275.66*
and up
Private Tour of Orta San Giulio on Lake Orta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
horsham
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Beautiful and romantic”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Fantastic, quiet, relaxing and a hidden jewel. We stayed 3 nights as we travelled around the lakes. Most people travel in for the day from lake Maggiore. Visited the Alessi factory shop whilst there and bought great buys and much reduced prices

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    427
    43
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lago d'Orta: not just beautiful”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

It's not only one of the most romantic and beautiful lakes of northern Italy. It's also the one with the cleanest water. In summertime you can swim in one of the many beaches ariound the lake.
If you liked Orta, try to visit some other places around, like Pella, or Madonna del Sasso.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank kayak62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place we visited in Italy”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Has not been discovered by everyone else say compared to Lake Maggiore

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Loveliest of the North Italian Lakes”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I love the Italian Lakes but Orta is my favourite - I'm almost reluctant to recommend it in case it becomes too popular. The main town, Orta San Giulio, is tiny and quite unspoiled, although busloads of tourists can descend at certain times of day. It's worth staying a few days to experience the peaceful evenings and early mornings, as the greatest pleasure is just walking along the lakeshore - there's a path for walkers leading north of the town. It's worth going to the Island and up the Sacra Monte, also taking a boat over to Pella or further up the lake - but it's lovely just to relax, sit in the sun with a glass of wine or a coffee, then try al fresco eating at one of the many good restaurants. You can swim in the Lake, it was 23 degrees apparently, which looks clean and inviting.

Only caveats - it's most pedestrianised, cobbled and very hilly, so not a great place for people with mobility problems. And I think children would find it quite boring.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank pixieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent place to relax for a day... or more”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

First of all, a piece of advice: don't go to Orta San Giulio on Sundays, unless you like crowded places. We went there in August, it was Saturday and we had a wonderful surprise discovering we could enjoy our trip without having to push to pass. I prefer it to Lago Maggiore, it's bigger sister: Orta San Giulio is a small town with narrow streets, small shops and great views of the lake. We had lunch in a nice restaurant on the lake, then took a stroll around the city to see the villas. There are boats taking tourists to a small island right in front of Orta San Giulio. We had a very pleasant day.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Orta also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Lake Orta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing