We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sonnenhof Merano
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Windsor(Merano)
US$176
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palma(Merano)
US$191
US$187
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Merano)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Adria(Merano)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$208
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Bellevue(Merano)
US$132
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gruberhof(Merano)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$173
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$528
US$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
91
48
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
48
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 142 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2016

This probably rates as one of our best stays anywhere. It is a veritable find, a wonderful, family run, small hotel along the Sissi Weg in Merano. It is listed as 3*S yet has the ambience and feel of a higher rating. We received a warm welcome and given lots of useful information. Our room, 111 with a small balcony was a contemporary design, sufficient space for clothes, good size and well equipped bathroom including a hairdryer next to a mirror. Bed very comfortable. The view from the room was lovely (yes you can see other buildings too as it is in a residential area but focus on the mountains) .
There is a good pool with sufficient sun loungers and chairs /tables dotted around the pretty well kept gardens. We were there to witness the special flowering of a cactus.
It is 10 mins walk from town -don't bother with the car.
Meals were excellent, well balanced menu and the wine list has mainly local wines, several of which were enjoyed.
This hotel has a feel of a house party - everyone was friendly and courteous.
There is a resident cat - loved that.
To find the hotel, follow the red hotel route signs which are more reliable than sat nav.
Superb location, Happy to return. More than happy to recommend. Bellissimo! Wunderbar!

Room Tip: 111 has a small balcony with table and chairs and view
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Sonnenhof Hotel is real jewellery in the heart of Merano - beautiful and stylish architecture, big, still cosy rooms, homey atmosphere. This place has everything to make your staying very pleasant and want to come back. The rooms were kept clean and the jalousie made your sleep more comfortable.
The yard is a paradise with the most beautiful plants and flowers. The pool is a big plus.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was not so varied, still it was tasty and we had everything that we needed. We even had dinner once in the hotel’s restaurant and it was a real treat.
We loved this place and we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabeta356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2015

This beautiful hotel has everything needed for a memorable stay in a stunning location. Right from the very first introduction, we were greeted by name, taken to our room, given a kit containing city map, discount card, information on Merano, wifi code and a meal organised despite the lateness of the evening. Our room had welcome chocolates on the pillows, and repeated while we were at breakfast ( when our room was cleaned and tidied). The location is on the Sissi Weg, a walkway to the town and points of interest. The hotel boasts a heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gym, delightful garden, sun patio, indoor shared lounge, restaurant for 'half-board' breakfast and dinner( tasty fresh food) all in a magnificent location surrounded by the beautiful Dolomite mountains and vineyard covered hills

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor had a fabulous view out to the mountains, was quiet and had a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2015

We have heard about this hotel in Merano for about 15 years from a friend who goes there every year and raves about it and the surrounding countryside. We decided to test his claims; he was right! This hotel is a small jewel, clean, efficiently run, an extremely pleasant break from the hustle and bustle of a rather touristy town.
The pool is magnificent, the dining area elegant, the rooms well appointed and spotless, the food pleasing and abundant. We could not find one reason to complain about anything, and will return to it when we return to Italy.
By the way, the prices are reasonable and the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful.
We went to this hotel to test some of the walks our friend raves about. We did two, one the "Sissi weg", the other a visit to the nearby "Tirol Castle", both gorgeous in different ways. Sissi weg takes you downtown Merano along lovely paths and over the "Passier (?)" river, alpine fed and beautiful. The walk ends in the Merano shopping district, so if shopping is your thing, do this walk!
The walk to the Tirol Castle goes through some beautiful apple orchards and has fantastic mountain scenery, plus an interesting, medioeval castle.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, very nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We arrived here by chance, but I hope we'll return someday and for longer period.
Good positioned (at one end of the Sissi weg), very quiet, highly recommended if you need a warm and quiet place to spend some time.
The owner and the personnel were very friendly and helpful all the time.

Room Tip: ask for a room at top floor to enjoy a superb view of Tyrol.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucernestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews