We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing place.”
Review of Hotel Garni Aster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garni Aster
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

I would be happy to come back. Nice room with view. Staff very pleasant. Cool swimming pool and breakfast buffet. 15 minutes walking from the town centre with fantastic roads and lanes to see. Taxi from the city centre costs about 10. I went to take take away pizza and owner gave me plates and cutlery before I asked for it. Anticipate the guest: 5 stars

Stayed: April 2015
1  Thank italocaramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aster H, Responsabile reception at Hotel Garni Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2015

Dear italocara,
Thank you very much for this amazing review about our Hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed the time here in Merano and had a great holiday.
We hope to welcome you again!
With best regards: Family Sommese & Team Hotel Aster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2014

Nice hotel in a quite place close to the center of Merano. The view from the rooms is great, everything is clean and charming. But most worth mentioning ist the friendlyness and attention of the staff all time.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Family run with a personal touch. perfect rooms and freindly for our group. The garden and pool area with the classical music was the icing on the cake. Breakfast was the best we had for our whole trip. The choice and quality of fresh produce was brilliant. Will reccommed this to anyone young or old.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James Hinsby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

After a harrowing and breathtaking drive through the Jaufenpass, we arrived in Merano and easily found the Hotel Aster. Easy and free parking right in front of the hotel. Friendly staff and simply a lovely hotel. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom. Beds were comfortable. The view from the balcony across the valley took our breath away. This is a gem of a hotel located in a gem of a spot in Sudtirol. Breakfast was great; sat out on the enclosed-for-cooler-weather pool deck. I would imagine this hotel is even more wonderful in the summer. If you visit Merano, absolutely do not miss the Tirol Castle in the neighboring town of Tirol. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony on the second floor, facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagodocjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This hotel is situated in a charming old residential area. We had a large, comfortable corner room with a delightful outlook and a spacious, modern bathroom. All rooms here seem to have a private balcony. If rooms facing the street hear a little traffic passing in early evening, it is very quiet all night.

Bus 4 brings you here in a few minutes from either the train station or town centre but the 10 minute walk to the centre is so beautiful we rarely used the bus.

The welcoming, helpful and efficient staff is one of the most notable features of the Hotel Aster. Our breakfasts taken by the pool were among the most enjoyable and best we have had anywhere. We did not try the evening meal served here to those taking half-board, although we were tempted by aromas from the kitchen and this could be another excuse to go back to Hotel Aster.

Room Tip: We liked Room 4, a large, double, corner room with a nice outlook in two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouver_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here for one night, on route to another location. As such I did not sample the hotels facilities, including the restaurant as it was closed the night I stayed - I am not sure why, as it wasn't on a sunday or bank holiday (to the best of my knowledge). there was not problem though as there is a very good pizza restaurant down the road, about 5 minutes walk (I can recommend the diablo pizza). the restaurant has outside seating at the back, which is great in warm/hot weather.

The hotel is tastefully decorated, in a somewhat formal style, but nice. The room was clean, comfortable and well decorated. Only downside was that the weather was warm and there was no air-conditioning. This could be a little wearysome over a long stay, in hot weather.

The reception staff were friendly and spoke English. There is on-site parking, for around 6 or so car, with further parking on the street outside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlequin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is is situated about a 10 minute walk from the town centre and has easy access to both the SS38 and SS44 main roads. The room is clean and sizeable, owner and staff are friendly and excellent. Breakfast was in traditional European style but there was plenty of it and was always topped up promptly and was by the pool.
The town of Merano is beautiful and well kept and surrounded by mountains. Wish we could have stayed here longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randjworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merano hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Residence Flora Meran
1.3 km away
Hotel Europa Splendid
Hotel Europa Splendid
#11 of 54 in Merano
342 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Terme Merano
Hotel Terme Merano
#3 of 54 in Merano
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#20 of 54 in Merano
429 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#4 of 54 in Merano
403 reviews
1.8 km away
City Hotel Merano
City Hotel Merano
#8 of 54 in Merano
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Aster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Aster

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 40, 39012, Merano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Merano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Merano
Price Range: $151 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Aster 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garni Aster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing