We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, average food & average rooms”
Review of Hotel del Viale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel del Viale
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Pretty much you get what you pay for ....breakfast is just cold meats and cheese with no chance of a cooked breakfast, dinner was ok but not up there with the normal standard you expect from the Italians....you'd think they could do pasta well. Really are small but adequate if your a skier but like all other hotels they are too warm. The hotel management were conspicuous by their absence and a bit aloof and not that helpful. Location was about 15 mins walk from town and a 5 minute drive to the Dollone lift provided by the hotel at various times. Rooms kept scrupulously cleaned by the staff....most hotels provide afternoon tea and cakes this hotel does not....however special mention to the dinner staff who are pleasant, attentive and great for a giggle....special mention to Lily & Anne Marie who deserve praise for making the food bearable and the wine drinkable.....overall it's ok but I wish they would introduce cooked breakfast and be more imaginative with the food.....and then get someone who can cook and do it justice....overall best for those with a limited budget who are happy with a no frills hotel but not so good for skiers who are used to better facilities.....last say on the staff with the exception of the management ....they are lovely and I hope they are poached by the neighbouring hotels which look a cut above. By the way the wi-fi is very poor bordering on non existing.

Room Tip: All roooms seem the same...I stayed in 110 which was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skidog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017

A comfortable hotel, family owned and run for five generations.

Solid 3*, with adequate bedrooms, specious lounges full of art & antiques and a charming dining room which didn't disappoint. Excellent, friendly service.

Good mini-bus service to lifts for skiers.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilmory_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is a very comfortable hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. We stayed for a skiing holiday. The hotel bus to the lifts was very punctual. Lots of character with a comfortable and large lounge area and pleasant bar area. The food was very Italian and very good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peterunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We absolutely love this hotel. We have been staying here for years now. Every time we arrive we are welcomed by friendly staff. They always make sure our stay is an enjoyable one. It always is. Rooms are clean and tidy. The food is delicious. They are so accommodating. If there is something our daughter is not sure of, the chef and the waiting staff always offer alternative choices. That's fab customers service! All the staff is very professional and helpful. The hotel is a short walk into the town centre. and there is a mini bus shuttle that takes you to the skii lifts in the mornings and brings you back in the afternoons.
We could not recommend this place highly enough.

Thank you all at the Hotel Del Viale for another memorable stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sib Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This Christmas was our second visit. We stayed 7 nights and were made very welcome indeed. The rooms are spacious, the food is good and the staff are very nice indeed. There are good views from the hotel and it is only a 10 min walk into Courmayuer centre.
The hotel runs a mini bus to and from the Dolonne Gondola, but if you have your skis and boots stored up the hill it is possible to walk in 20 mins.
We enjoyed our visit and will return next Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This hotel is 10 minutes from the central bus station. The room I got was big, clean and quiet. Wi fi in the rooms is very strong. The bathroom is also spacious. Breakfast was very limited, don't expect too much but better than in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc where breakfast is not included in the price. Besides there is some beautiful white cat who lives in the hotel and one may cuddle him. He likes it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Four of us spent one night at this hotel. It was the good reviews and the price that attracted us as all we wanted were bed and breakfast. The hotel is about a ten-minute walk from the centre of the small town. The welcome was as other reviewers said - a delightful lady who was warm and obliging. Our rooms were adequate but I was very distressed by the stench of smoke in ours (No 108) as we had specifically requested non-smoking rooms (I am really allergic to cigarette smoke).- everything stank of it. We asked for a pre-dinner drink in the bar and had a small whisky and water and a small gin with a mini tonic. Courmayeur is expensive, we know, but €17.50 for that seemed like robbery and put us off opting for dinner in the hotel. The breakfast was, as others have said, copious and varied and very good with typical Italian rolls, good coffee, fresh fruit and a range of ham, cheeses etc..

Room Tip: Check that your room really is non-smoking - see above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
236 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Club Mont Blanc
Hotel Club Mont Blanc
#40 of 42 in Courmayeur
246 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Svizzero
Hotel Svizzero
#21 of 42 in Courmayeur
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
1.2 km away
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
#33 of 42 in Courmayeur
379 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Lo Campagnar
Hotel Lo Campagnar
#27 of 42 in Courmayeur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Viale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Viale

Address: Viale Monte Bianco 74, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range: $116 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Viale 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Viale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing