We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little hotel”
Review of Hotel Berthod

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berthod
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

A couple of us stopped by for a night while doing the TMB. We arrived before the check in time, intending to deposit our packs while waiting. We were greeted by Julia, who was very welcoming and friendly. To our wonderful surprise, we were allowed to access our room early.
The lounge of the hotel was quaintly decorated and was stocked with games and books. The room was spacious and well appointed. It was nice to chill out at the balcony. Breakfast was delicious! Location was awesome.
Thank you very much.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berthod
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

We went skiing and stayed at Hotel Berthod with our two children ages 5 & 2. Our kids have a dairy allergy and the hotel had brought in a whole host of food specifically for the girls. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble and the girls were over the moon at being able to eat cake and croissants just like everyone else.

Brilliant staff, comfy beds, well equipped rooms. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elliecampfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stayed here for four nights from 9th April 2017 for a ski break on the way further south. We arrived early morning and were made welcome with facilities to change and clean up, recommendations on where to get our ski equipment etc. On returning after skiing we found our room clean and comfortable with quality facilities. A welcome relax area features a jacuzzi pool and sauna. A very full breakfast is served in a pleasant restaurant with great views. There is a pleasant and comfortable lounge area for drinks and very good coffee. Above all the family took an interest in our comfort and made us feel welcome guests. Parking was convenient and the location is as very central just off the Main Street in a quiet side street. All considered this is a really good family run hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aemorris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Very friendly welcome,Central location,Good views from balcony,Nice breakfast,Very close to town, 5 minute walk to nearest lift. Sound proofing not great, was quite noisy when guest returned in evening with banging doors and corridor noise. Met other guests that stayed in chalet across from hotel, same owner but more privacy.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have best views of Mont Blanc
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AFVEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Hotel Berthod.

Pros
Clean, friendly, central. Comfortable room and beds with memory foam mattresses and pillow. Breakfast was good although apart from boiled eggs there were only cold options but enough for me. I did see a few people sneaking the odd filled bread roll into their bags, no doubt for lunch on the mountains.
Cons
The more expensive rooms are in the “Annex”, which I thought would have been an extension of the original hotel but is in fact a separate building with a road in between. Bearing in mind that this is a ski resort meant it was very cold outside so dressing in warm clothes to go to the main building for breakfast was necessary.
The bath towels were more like tea towels, no fluffy terry toweling here!
It is a 3* hotel and all in all a comfortable stay, perfect positioning and an ok price for what it is.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Stayed for 4 nights in March 2016 as part of a long weekend skiing in Courmayeur. We arrived very late at night but the owner had stayed up waiting for us and got us parked and checked in to our room quickly with minimum of fuss.
Positives - Berthod is right by Via Roma so your evenings entertainment is just one street away, plus it is only a 5 minute walk to the gondola servicing the ski area. Staff are friendly and create more of a family atmosphere than a commercial hotel. Breakfast is a simple buffet but full marks for quality and quantity. Our room for two of us (including a womans wardrobe sized suitcase full of un-necessary shoes and clothes) was perfectly sized with en-suite facilities. Price was also very reasonable.
Negatives - just to give some balance I'm going to be really picky. The bed and pillows were extremely hard, far too hard for me as I have a neck injury. However, this is not unusual for the area and I'm quite sure if I'd asked they may have been able to supply a softer pillow at least. Instead I chose to drink too much and ignore the discomfort (well it was a holiday after all!)
Overall I would definitely look to stay here again, although I might be tempted to bring my own pillow next time.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Visited the hotel as part of a skiing trip in early January. Staff were friendly, spoke excellent English and had a good knowledge of the local area. The room itself was spacious, clean and modern. The bar was also nice, fitting in well with the Alpine atmosphere (would highly recommend trying the local beer). Breakfast was also excellent. Location was perfect too (apart from taxis not being allowed to park directly outside hotel due to local rules), plenty of restaurants and shops around the hotel and only a short 5 minute walk to the main ski lift too. Would highly recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
348 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
0.4 km away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#5 of 42 in Courmayeur
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Au Coeur des Neiges
Au Coeur des Neiges
#7 of 42 in Courmayeur
232 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
#12 of 42 in Courmayeur
413 reviews
2.9 km away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berthod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berthod

Address: Via Mario Puchoz 11, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Courmayeur
#5 Business Hotel in Courmayeur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range: $158 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berthod 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Berthod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berthod Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing