We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel / modern new” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Padova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Padova
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel / modern new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Good room, clean, nice breakfast room, a little far by walk from The centre of Padova

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leofab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    672
    172
    31
    22
See reviews for
163
400
58
614
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We did not like this hotel. The reason is that on the one hand we paid EUR 180 per night booking via NH directly. On the other hand the hotel just did not deliver this kind of quality. For that kind of price in that kind of area (industrial zone), the hotel would have to be very good quality, but after spending a night you realize this hotel is more about style than about substance. If you want to be a cool hotel, you better have the substance to back it up.

First the good stuff - yes, the hotel is brand new and very stylish. The rooms are large and modern, the restaurant is on the 12th floor and while it may not have much of a view (since you are in the middle of the industrial park of Padova) it is slick and stylish. Breakfast is good by Italian standards (although coffee comes from self-service machines, which is poor form for espresso etc, why not have a barrista like so many other hotels?). So if you like that you are well covered here.

Now for the bad stuff - quality of sleep. Maybe we were just unlucky, but it turned out that the temperature in our room could not be controlled by the in-room thermostat and the room was hot, stuffy, and very dry. After realizing that trying to change the temperature had absolutely no effect (although the AC dutifully acknowledge our changes with clicks and lights etc) we called reception and they said "Ok, we switched off your AC remotely". Weird! It turned out the only choice was having the AC set much too hot remotely or switch it off completely.

Why, oh why would you design a room like this? To make a long story short, in the end we found a way to open the window and then it became possible to sleep but also pretty cold. Not what we wanted, and definitely not what we would expect for that price.

The next problem was the bed. I am not exaggerating, this was the hardest bed I have slept in for three years in any hotel. Same for the pillows funnily enough. Why have this kind of bed? Who likes to sleep in it?

In the end, we checked out of a stylish hotel, that somehow had failed to provide the service we had come for in the first place - a good night's sleep. And somehow we could not help the feeling that we COULD have had that, if only the hotel had been constructed with customer comfort in mind, and not just dark-wood decorations and lounge music. Why, oh why?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Excllent modern hotel with large well appointed rooms. Really comfortable except that the air con seemed to be disabled and the rooms was way too hot at night.

A bit out of the city centre but that was not really an issue
Superb value - just get the air con sorted

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

NH Mantegna is a great hotel located in the Zona Industriale De Padova (i.e the Industrial city of Padova or Padua). There is not much to do in Padua if you are not there for business reasons. But Padova can be a very cost effective location due to it's proximity to the lagoon (and romantic) city of Venice. Both the Fusina and the Troncheto Piers are a short drive away. Venice, due to it's touristic importance, have hotels which are very pricey making Padova the ideal location for accessing Venice. NH Mantegna is a great 4 star property in Padova, providing, in my opinion superior comforts. The lobby is well designed. Staff at the reception are courteous and willing to assist with various needs. A well stocked bar is accessible from the lobby area. The lobby is also provided with wifi internet. Restaurant is in the Mezzanine Floor. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. In all, an ideal place for a short stop.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetelgeuseIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Very clean & neat rooms. The Hotel is right on the main road with easy accessibility. The Hotel food was good & by & large a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhandarkar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

To be blunt self and my “Best half” stayed in 8 hotels in this Europe trip which we had gone around for around 18 days. Hotel NH Mantegna was the best hotel among the lot! The hotel dominates the area in respect to its height. That is the first observation when you see it. The space is quite a surprise, unlike European hotels with match box space in 4 or 5 stars- This hotel pleasantly shocks you from the reception area with its enormous space and continues to please you including the size of the room that we stayed. The tall building promises luxury but nothing “scenic” as a view! The food was scrumptious. The service was warm and friendly : ) and convenience room had a bidet also! Snazzy hotel in simple! Recommend to indulge and relish it!!!

Explore, Experience, Enjoy
Suravanditha Praveen Kumar

  • Liked — Clean, Modern, hospitable, spacious and delicious food
  • Disliked — The view from the room
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PraveenSuravanditha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

My wife and I booked this hotel for a visit to Venice and to see Padova City.
The Hotel looks very modern and is very big, one of the highest buildings in the area.

We booked the standard room that had a good modern look and had all comfort we needed for two days. We asked a smokers room and also get this on arrival, something that could be a problem in other hotels in Italy.
The room was on the 7th floor and gave a nice view over the city, although the view wasn’t over the most beautiful part of the city.
There was a small problem with the sink in the bathroom but asking the reception the problem was solved in half an hour. The air-conditioning of the room was great and kept the room very comfortable.
The beds were standard and could have been a little bit better, but for a standard room there are much worse beds in Italy.
There were no coffee and tea facilities in the room that could be improved.

They offer a parking garage under the hotel that cost 10 euros per night. Better use the parking garage then leave the car on the street. The garage had also access to the elevators of the hotel that bring you to the lobby. Well worth paying.

The Hotel is a little bit far from the city center but we didn’t find this to be a problem as we know this when we booked it.
The city center was about a 15 or 20 minute walk that wasn’t a big problem as the route seemed save to us. The central station was in about 10 till 15 minute walk, easy to get the train to Venice in the early morning.

The breakfast was on the 12th floor and gave a nice view of Padova. The breakfast could be a little bit better but at least we left the hotel with full stomachs.
The coffee machine was terrible, the coffee didn’t taste very well and made a lot of noise. As we had bad luck there were some buses with organized groups that would all coffee in the morning. The noise was continue if you sit near the coffee machine, not very relaxing in the early morning.

The staff of the hotel were all very helpful and friendly and we felt very comfortable in this hotel.

One minor complain, the restaurant was closed in August for holidays. This is not what you expect of a 4 star hotel with restaurant.

Overall we can recommend this hotel, specially if you want to visit Venice and don’t want to pay high prices there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Galileo Padova
1.3 km away
Maritan
Maritan
#2 of 51 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.7 km away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 51 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
5.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#5 of 51 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
3.9 km away
Ibis Padova
Ibis Padova
#13 of 51 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Padova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Padova

Property: NH Padova
Address: Via Tommaseo, 61 | Business Area, 35131, Padua, Italy (Formerly NH Mantegna)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Padua
#1 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Padova 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Padova, formerly known as NH Mantegna, is your gateway to the historic city of Padua. The hotel itself is a triumph of art and architecture, blending cutting-edge design and uncompromising comfort. Step into our dramatic lobby where a bright, open space is punctuated by vivid pops of color, dazzling light fixtures, and avant-garde design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your NH Padova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Mantegna Hotel Padua
Nh Hotels Padua
Nh Mantegna Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing