We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opulent, peaceful, convenient - my secret (and now yours)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' Pagan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' Pagan
Ranked #72 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Opulent, peaceful, convenient - my secret (and now yours)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

What a combination: fantastic location for Accademia / San Marco, yet a forgotten corner and idyllically tranquil. Great hotel, rooms and really wonderful service. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadillacJukebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    120
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
409
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel is very beautiful, has the elegant and cossy feel. Decorated with high quality expensive pieces, great location, very clean. The staff was amazing, very attentive, full of local knowledge and very helpful, especially the English lady at reception, Lorna. I'm very fussy when it comes to accommodation but this place is 11 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhileYouCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Staff were excellent, especially Lorna. Good location, nice and quiet, but still can walk to everything. Room was tiny, but cozy, "interesting" decor. Bed comfort wasn't up to my standards, but had the same complaint in other Italian hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkabout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ca Pagan this past September for one night during our time in Venice. We were incredibly excited about our stay at this hotel given the rave reviews we'd read on Trip Advisor, and upon arrival the Ca Pagan did not disappoint. From the atmospheric walk and proximity to the water bus stop, to its very convenient location, and beautiful lobby entrance, we felt this was a hotel that held alot of promise. Lorna (the front desk lady) was super friendly, warm and very helpful, and is a true asset to the property.

Prior to our arrival in Venice, we did research the Ca Pagan and its assortment of stunning rooms (there are 6 different ones, or so the website states) and we were excited as all of the rooms looked like masterpieces. Things took an odd turn, however, during our check in process. We were informed that we'd be staying in a "brand new suite, often saved for Ca Pagan's repeat customers" since the 6 rooms we viewed online appeared to be full. We didn't think twice about it at the time, so graciously accepted this "special treat" and off we went sightseeing (we weren't able to check in just yet since we'd arrived quite early in the morning).

Later that afternoon, we finally returned to the hotel to pick up our room key. The next thing we knew we were being lead offsite, exiting the hotel and walking further down the alley (nowhere near the hotel's entrance). It was then we learned that our room was in a completely separate address. To add to the confusion, the staff member that lead us there said that this location "wasn't even finished yet", which became more apparent upon entry. Leading us up a set of stairs, we did observe still exposed light fixtures and a somewhat stark appearance by comparison to the hotel's original site. It also seemed/felt like we were the only occupants at this location as well (never heard or saw another soul during our entire stay there).

As far as the room went, we could only describe it as "nice" but nothing like any of the other rooms we'd seen online in terms of decor. By comparison, this particular room seemed quite bare, but not seemingly worth the full price we'd paid for it. Again, the room was "nice" but could not help feeling a bit cheated out of being unable to stay onsite. Truly, the room and location took on a feel like that of a backup/spare room, as opposed to the way it was described as a "brand new suite we usually reserve for repeat guests". To add to the strangeness of the whole experience, our room contained what I can only describe as a giant, blacked out window that took up the entire width and upper half of one of the room's walls. Needless to say, this was a more than a little creepy, and still can't seem to figure out what purpose it served and how bizarre it was. Whatever the reason, it was just plain weird, for lack of a better way to explain it.

Don't get me wrong, the Ca Pagan appears to be a lovely little hotel with exceptionally friendly staff and a delicious morning breakfast. But that said, what we did feel more like second-rate guests that had been tucked into a back room, perhaps due to an overbooking (and perhaps because we'd only reserved for one night)?

In summary, this is the impression we took away: The Ca Pagan is definitely a recommended stay PROVIDED that you receive what you're paying for. We could not help but feel a little jaded after checking out, leaving with the notion that we'd fallen victim to a mild "bait and switch" tactic which some Venetian hotels are notoriously famous for. In short, the Ca Pagan deserves its Trip Advisor praise and accolades, but make sure you're left feeling as welcomed guests rather than outsiders crashing for a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank globalwanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our room was beautiful and very Venetian. I think it was called the Chipendale and decorated in Blue and Gold. Lorna, the receptionist was fantastic and if you follow her instructions they will lead you right to the hotel. Dindo, in the breakfast room, was most helpful and made excellent cappuchino's! He had our breakfast ready early on the day we departed. Venice is very expensive but we were pleased with this hotel and were glad that it was not in a busy area like the Rialto. Would not hesitate to reccomend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Good location in a residential area 15 minutes from St Marks Square. Room was recently renovated, but quite dark.
The black gold gilded wall paper and dark furnishings were too heavy for the small room that had little natural light. All rooms were different and I think that other rooms may have had brighter decor.  Staff were very friendly and helpful and really made this place very special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messery, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Excellent quiet hotel in a wonderful backstreet location away from the crowds. Very helpful staff. Good value for money in venice. Bed and room comfortable, Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#61 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#65 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Pagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pagan

Property: Ca' Pagan
Address: Sestiere San Marco 3268 | Calle de le Carrozze, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#88 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Pagan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the most elegant part of Venice, the comfortable rooms of Ca' Pagan offer you warm hospitality in an elegant Venetian style environment, just a stone's thrown from the prestigious Palazzo Grassi and Saint Mark's Square. The atmosphere of a small hotel that permeates Ca' Pagan is accompanied by al the most modern amenities, a loving attention to details and the delicate charm of a small internal courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca' Pagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Pagan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing