We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ca' Pagan
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$322
US$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$435
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$366
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$318
US$291
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$417
US$404
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
393
129
26
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
129
26
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetsan stefano squarevaporetto stopmarco pologuest houseboutique hotelour honeymoonsmall hotelrialto bridgepastriesmain sightsshort walkantique furniturelovely hotelwater taxideluxe roomvisit venice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel is very beautiful, has the elegant and cossy feel. Decorated with high quality expensive pieces, great location, very clean. The staff was amazing, very attentive, full of local knowledge and very helpful, especially the English lady at reception, Lorna. I'm very fussy when it comes to accommodation but this place is 11 out of 10.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhileYouCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Staff were excellent, especially Lorna. Good location, nice and quiet, but still can walk to everything. Room was tiny, but cozy, "interesting" decor. Bed comfort wasn't up to my standards, but had the same complaint in other Italian hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkabout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ca Pagan this past September for one night during our time in Venice. We were incredibly excited about our stay at this hotel given the rave reviews we'd read on Trip Advisor, and upon arrival the Ca Pagan did not disappoint. From the atmospheric walk and proximity to the water bus stop, to its very convenient location, and beautiful lobby entrance, we felt this was a hotel that held alot of promise. Lorna (the front desk lady) was super friendly, warm and very helpful, and is a true asset to the property.

Prior to our arrival in Venice, we did research the Ca Pagan and its assortment of stunning rooms (there are 6 different ones, or so the website states) and we were excited as all of the rooms looked like masterpieces. Things took an odd turn, however, during our check in process. We were informed that we'd be staying in a "brand new suite, often saved for Ca Pagan's repeat customers" since the 6 rooms we viewed online appeared to be full. We didn't think twice about it at the time, so graciously accepted this "special treat" and off we went sightseeing (we weren't able to check in just yet since we'd arrived quite early in the morning).

Later that afternoon, we finally returned to the hotel to pick up our room key. The next thing we knew we were being lead offsite, exiting the hotel and walking further down the alley (nowhere near the hotel's entrance). It was then we learned that our room was in a completely separate address. To add to the confusion, the staff member that lead us there said that this location "wasn't even finished yet", which became more apparent upon entry. Leading us up a set of stairs, we did observe still exposed light fixtures and a somewhat stark appearance by comparison to the hotel's original site. It also seemed/felt like we were the only occupants at this location as well (never heard or saw another soul during our entire stay there).

As far as the room went, we could only describe it as "nice" but nothing like any of the other rooms we'd seen online in terms of decor. By comparison, this particular room seemed quite bare, but not seemingly worth the full price we'd paid for it. Again, the room was "nice" but could not help feeling a bit cheated out of being unable to stay onsite. Truly, the room and location took on a feel like that of a backup/spare room, as opposed to the way it was described as a "brand new suite we usually reserve for repeat guests". To add to the strangeness of the whole experience, our room contained what I can only describe as a giant, blacked out window that took up the entire width and upper half of one of the room's walls. Needless to say, this was a more than a little creepy, and still can't seem to figure out what purpose it served and how bizarre it was. Whatever the reason, it was just plain weird, for lack of a better way to explain it.

Don't get me wrong, the Ca Pagan appears to be a lovely little hotel with exceptionally friendly staff and a delicious morning breakfast. But that said, what we did feel more like second-rate guests that had been tucked into a back room, perhaps due to an overbooking (and perhaps because we'd only reserved for one night)?

In summary, this is the impression we took away: The Ca Pagan is definitely a recommended stay PROVIDED that you receive what you're paying for. We could not help but feel a little jaded after checking out, leaving with the notion that we'd fallen victim to a mild "bait and switch" tactic which some Venetian hotels are notoriously famous for. In short, the Ca Pagan deserves its Trip Advisor praise and accolades, but make sure you're left feeling as welcomed guests rather than outsiders crashing for a night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank globalwanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our room was beautiful and very Venetian. I think it was called the Chipendale and decorated in Blue and Gold. Lorna, the receptionist was fantastic and if you follow her instructions they will lead you right to the hotel. Dindo, in the breakfast room, was most helpful and made excellent cappuchino's! He had our breakfast ready early on the day we departed. Venice is very expensive but we were pleased with this hotel and were glad that it was not in a busy area like the Rialto. Would not hesitate to reccomend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Good location in a residential area 15 minutes from St Marks Square. Room was recently renovated, but quite dark.
The black gold gilded wall paper and dark furnishings were too heavy for the small room that had little natural light. All rooms were different and I think that other rooms may have had brighter decor.  Staff were very friendly and helpful and really made this place very special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews