We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Should be a 5 star!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should be a 5 star!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a brilliant hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 11am straight from the train station with our bags with the hope of leaving the at reception and to go and explore Venice however instead we were upgraded to a canal view room for the first night and told it would be ready for us in 10 mins.

I cannot fault the service at this hotel, and it is not difficult to see why it was an award winner!

Location is very good, not around the corner from any if the monuments but Venuce is easily navigated on foot and my Wife and I walked from the hotel to San Marco and Rialto Bridge and back again withno worries at all.

I would recommend the Hotel Canal Grande without reservation, it is a Gem of Venice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrimReefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    281
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
291
1,269
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tiantang
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

A very good hotel. A proper 4* hotel which for Venice is a rarity (as many are in fact less stars than advertised). 

The location was very good, it's overlooking the grand canal and right by a vaporetto stand. Only 10 min boat ride to Rialto and 20 to San Marco. Vaporettos run all night. Alternatively, one could walk to Rialto in 20 mins or San Marco in 40.

The rooms were beautifully decorated though they did not have a bath. If you have money to spare, get the canal view or a room with a balcony. In any event, make sure you request your room in advance as not all are the same. Some have good views, others are located in a different building from the main block.

The staff service was great, though they could do with one extra person at reception. The only other downside was breakfast which was 3*.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiantang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

This place is amazing. Gorgeously decorated rooms. Very conveniently located. Staff were fantastico - HUGELY helpful and friendly. The choice of food for breaky was never ending and delicious. Their frizzante wine is the best I have ever tasted. No complaints at all. Perfect. The reviewer who said the place is just for starry eyed young couples is wrong - we are 45 and 50 and well past the starry eyed stage!!!! Highly recommended hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliejersey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, this hotel has perfect location, not too crowded, but still in central location. Just across the hotel is Santa Lucia station. Around 25 minutes walking to St Mark, which also can be reached by water bus (4 stops). If coming from airport, it's better to reach this hotel by private water taxi, though costly (110euro) but it will take you direct infront of the hotel itself. No car / taxi can enter hotel area.
The room was quite small, difficult for those who carry big luggage. Dust could be seen on furnitures' surface, though interior was great. Towel was changed everyday.
Breakfast was good, great selection of hot drinks and pastries. Staffs were friendly and extremely helpful.
The hotel gave trip to Murano's glass factory, entrance to casino and free wifi as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikendayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

This is simply a beautiful hotel. Walkinh distance from the parking station, about 10 minutes. Try not to talk everything the car park is safe. The hotel is very welcoming. It was a lovely piazza in the front. Our room was true Venitian style, fabric on the walls to match the canopy on the bed. The kids had 2 single beds. The bathroom was fantastic had a rain shower head and double sink. The breakfast was delicious full cereals, bread, cakes, cold meats and eggs. Nt to mention coffee and tea. Reception can organize boats trips etc and recommend places for dinner. They did 5 minute walk to Resturant called La Ferrette, home style cooking that was not a rip off for the area. The Zappa di Pesce is a must. Loved this hotel, free wifi also. they also give you a 10% discount for the parking at San Marco. AAA.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonellaP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Italy. We stayed at the Grand Canal for one night and had a fantastic experience. We were greeted very warmly by Dominic and quickly escorted to our room. The room was exceptionally gorgeous. We didn't have a view but the hotel itself made up for it. Breakfast was good although warm dishes were not included. Also, the hotel is quite far from touristic attractions in Venice i.e Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square. It is located right across the train station and a short jaunt from the bus station. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again during our next trip to Venice!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lallous85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just returned from our first and very ambitious visit to Italy - 5 cities in 11 days! This hotel completely lived up to our expectations (which were high after reading the Trip Advisor Reviews). The rooms were lovely, the location terrific and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant & helpful and by "staff" I mean everyone we encountered from check-in to restaurant servers to the bellman/bartender. Enjoying a nightcap from hotel's the little terrace on the Grand Canal at night was nothing short of spectacular and a memory we will savor forever.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbvnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,389 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing