We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,421)
Filter reviews
2,421 results
Traveller rating
2,045
328
39
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,045
328
39
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station water taxi small deck prestige room beautiful hotel four poster bed the hotel staff watch the boats across the bridge main building hotel antiche figure pastries santa croce venetian style sister hotel murano glass factory an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 2,421 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Grand arrival by private water taxi from the Airport somewhat spoiled by chaotic check-in (not a good first impression). Thereafter, all very good or excellent - lovely double aspect room (Pietro Longhi) with views over Grande Canal. Room had all the normal amenities plus a well stocked fridge - only thing lacking was coffee/tea making facilities. Friendly staff with inside seating for breakfast and a few seats on canal decking area - albeit birds will try and steal your breakfast! Hotel does not offer lunch or dinner but can make up a pack lunch. Welcome drink if you book direct and “free” water taxi to Signoretti Glass Factory on Murano. Great location 5-10 minute walk to main St Lucia station and water (vaporetti) taxis terminus (Ferrovia or Piazzale Roma) plus restaurants in Cannareggio area - highly recommend Trattoria Pontini or Da Gigio. You can walk to Piazza San Marco (St Marks Square) in about 30-45 minutes depending which route you take or get water taxi No. 1 or 2. Also convenient for Cruise Terminal - via main station or water taxi 10-20 minutes. In summary I would rate as an excellent boutique Hotel at around €400-450 per night B&B - apart from the check-in.

Room Tip: Ask for Grand Canal view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

My daughter and I stayed 4 nights here in mid June. The rooms have real character, and we had a view of the canal from two windows. The bathroom was huge. The location is off the beaten path meaning it is much quieter and more relaxing without the usual Venice crowds. If arriving into the train station, make sure to ask the hotel in advance for porters. We had really heavy suitcases, and struggled to get them up and down the steps on the Canal bridge. We didn't make that mistake when we left 4 days later! Breakfast was lovely, which we had on the Canal terrace every day. Service was superb and every staff member was so helpful. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tessedwards67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

From when we walked in the door to when we walked out 2 dayslater,we received excellent friendly service all of our questions answered , staff went above & beyond. Beautiful room, clean and welcoming.Highly recommended!! Will definitely stay here on our next trip x

Room Tip: Canal view
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank EziaEuro2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in July 2018. Great time. The hotel is right on the canal in a great location. Lots of restaurants and bars very close.
I can't say enough about the hotel staff. Some of the nicest people I ever met. Super friendly and helpful. Listen to Ramon's recommendations on local restaurants. Every one he suggested was very good and not the typical tourist trap. Ramon was a fantastic help with every aspect of our stay as was all of the staff.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank miket168_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We visited Venice the first week in July for two nights and chose the Hotel Canal Grande for our stay. It was so very close to the train station and since we only brought what we needed from Tuscany for the two night stay, backpacks were our luggage and no issues getting over the bridge. Our room was lovely; we stayed in the Canal Grande room; with a lovely first-floor private terrace with a bistro table and chairs. The bed was comfortable and beautiful. We were delighted to receive a bottle of prosecco and cookies after registration as a lovely birthday surprise. The bathroom was beautifully decorated as well with an updated glass shower. We did have to be careful to shut the doors tightly as water would leak out under the doors if you didn't pay attention.

Service was truly the best; as was written by many hotel customers. We wanted for nothing during our stay, really. We took the offer for the free visit to the Murano island glass factory, which we access by private taxi, no charge compliments of the hotel.

They provided several recommendations for lunch and dinner, which met our expectations each time.

This hotel comes highly recommended by us.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank theKingstonfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews