We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience St. Mark's Square
from US$35.70
More Info
from US$21.90
More Info
from US$51.80
More Info
from US$41.40
More Info
Reviews (33,566)
Filter reviews
33,566 results
Traveller rating
20,906
9,231
2,763
463
203
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20,906
9,231
2,763
463
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark's square high tide bell tower early in the morning gelato beautiful architecture doge's palace watch the world glass of wine visit venice san marco grand canal pigeons basilica florian vendors flooding
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 33,566 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It's an open square, what else is there to tell?... Other than the hordes of tourists (the mornings are empty though) you'll need to weave and dodge in and out from. Again with the flood platforms!? I understand that the city floods on a whim, but are there no better storage places for them, other than on the footpaths.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank dyaasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We love Venice so we go every year for 10 days to 2 weeks. Not a day goes by that we don't spend hours entranced by San Marco. However we try to avoid it between 10AM and 9 PM because of all the cruise passengers and tour members standing around. early and late it is a very spiritual and beautiful place. The city still has not gotten rid of the annoying rose sellers but it is worth avoiding them to be there. If someone approaches and offer you a "free rose" ignore them. It isn't really free. They will hound you till you make a "donation" to some "charity" in India.
Sometimes we go really late, after all three orchestras (which are quite good) finish playing and we have the whole square to ourselves. those are the really special times. Listen , look around imagine what it was like 400 years ago. The wealth and power of Venice in it's peak are very impressive. The fact that it was actually a near democracy is very comforting.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This Piazza is a central point for a first look at Venice, and will likely be covered during your trip to the nearby Basilica and the Doge's palace. We climbed the Tower there for great views at Sunset. Be aware of Agua Alta (high tide) in winter mornings - which by the way provide a cool setting for photographing the reflections of the various buildings in the piazza.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank UDCAKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

Great place, try yo go as early as posible and avoid the rainy season, since in November it could get a little with water.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank dquesadajimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed just a few steps away from st.marks...it was beautifull...you can feel the aura all over...every point of interest is near..to be honest you wont find anywhere else such a spacefull square at venice

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank hollyfrankk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews