We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of Venice”
Review of St. Mark's Square

St. Mark's Square
Ranked #4 of 800 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It is said that Napoleon called San Marco "the drawing room of Europe." And it is a breathtakingly beautiful place. But the square has long been a lure for massive numbers of pigeons, drawn by the massive numbers of tourists who readily feed them. While the tourists happily post for photos amid the flock, there are concerns that the birds' presence--and what they leave behind--will damage the centuries old architecture and art work.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited by chance via a free walking tour in the afternoon. This is one of their highlights.. We went through small alleys to get here and viola a big piece of land welcomed our eyes! Must-see, must-visit with a tour guide - whether paid or free - due to the richness of history!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mark's square"
in 1,249 reviews
"high tide"
in 274 reviews
"bell tower"
in 582 reviews
"early in the morning"
in 401 reviews
"gelato"
in 389 reviews
"beautiful architecture"
in 259 reviews
"doge's palace"
in 623 reviews
"watch the world"
in 185 reviews
"glass of wine"
in 182 reviews
"visit venice"
in 245 reviews
"san marco"
in 213 reviews
"grand canal"
in 338 reviews
"pigeons"
in 2,115 reviews
"basilica"
in 1,636 reviews
"florian"
in 192 reviews
"vendors"
in 346 reviews
"flooding"
in 198 reviews
Filter

106 - 110 of 33,526 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a joke. It was a ZOO of tourists. It was November, and everyone local commented on how crowded it was. The historic flooding was just in abatement by November 1-2 but yet it was terribly crowded. Not all it's cracked up to be. I heard there are pigeons everywhere in summer, but all we saw was tourists running around. All the shops on the arcades, overpriced. The line long to get in to the basilica - we skipped it. Took a few pictures and 'ran away'.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's an open square, what else is there to tell?... Other than the hordes of tourists (the mornings are empty though) you'll need to weave and dodge in and out from. Again with the flood platforms!? I understand that the city floods on a whim, but are there no better storage places for them, other than on the footpaths.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank dyaasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love Venice so we go every year for 10 days to 2 weeks. Not a day goes by that we don't spend hours entranced by San Marco. However we try to avoid it between 10AM and 9 PM because of all the cruise passengers and tour members standing around. early and late it is a very spiritual and beautiful place. The city still has not gotten rid of the annoying rose sellers but it is worth avoiding them to be there. If someone approaches and offer you a "free rose" ignore them. It isn't really free. They will hound you till you make a "donation" to some "charity" in India.
Sometimes we go really late, after all three orchestras (which are quite good) finish playing and we have the whole square to ourselves. those are the really special times. Listen , look around imagine what it was like 400 years ago. The wealth and power of Venice in it's peak are very impressive. The fact that it was actually a near democracy is very comforting.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This Piazza is a central point for a first look at Venice, and will likely be covered during your trip to the nearby Basilica and the Doge's palace. We climbed the Tower there for great views at Sunset. Be aware of Agua Alta (high tide) in winter mornings - which by the way provide a cool setting for photographing the reflections of the various buildings in the piazza.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank UDCAKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Mark's Square also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to St. Mark's Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing