We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service + Beautiful Setting = Happy Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #29 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Ivyland, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service + Beautiful Setting = Happy Traveler”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After a long business trip in Verona, my husband and I decided to take 3 days of R&R in Venice to chill out and also celebrate our wedding anniversary. With the dollar being weak as it is these days, I did quite a bit of research to see what we could get for our money. The Cipriani, although expensive, was the same price as all of the other top rated hotels but had the added features of a pool, world class restaurants on-site, and the benefit of being just a boat ride away from all the action. It appeared to be ideal for our plan of equal time spent on relaxation and site seeing. I had no idea that it would be a little slice of heaven.

From the moment we arrived we were treated extremely well. The staff saw that we were a bit frazzled from our journey and immediately treated us to some complimentary drinks by the pool. I don't know if this is standard practice or not, but we were also upgraded from the standard room we booked to a suite by the pool! To say we were pleased was an understatement. This room was amazing complete with a huge bathroom (unheard of in Europe!) and a beautiful semi-private courtyard (I've included a picture of this as it became our absolute favorite spot to hang out. The only thing you cannot appreciate from the photo is the great smell from the flowers that greeted us every time we stepped outside). They also left a bottle of Prosecco with a hand written note welcoming us to the hotel. Awesome.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant that evening, and it was a real treat. The food was very good, but the wine was amazing. I appreciated being able to discuss the selection with someone so knowledgeable, and it really made our Anniversary dinner very special.

Here's what really spoiled us and made a lasting impression:
-Reserved Pool Seating. No more getting up early and laying out your towel to get a good seat. Our two comfy lounge chairs were waiting for us each day whenever we made it to the pool. No one else could sit there. Plus, our chairs were located right through our private courtyard so it was a short trip to the pool.

-Excellent Concierge Service. Whenever we asked for anything....advice on where to go, restaurant reservations, packages to be shipped, etc. it was done and done well. No problems.

-The shuttle. The boat that brings you up and back to Venice was tremendous fun. We loved arriving right in the heart of the city and then being whisked away to our little oasis out of the hustle bustle.

-Turn down service and ammenities. I've been to great hotels with turn down service, but this really went above and beyond. Our pajamas were laid out beautifully, our slippers by the side of the bed, everything in its place. I'm a bit of a neat freak so this was awesome. I also loved the amazing products that were used, and they were fully replaced each day.

The only issue I had with the hotel was that all of the food was truly expensive. While I expected it at the restaurants, it would have been great if pool side would have been more reasonable. We ordered a ham sandwhich at the pool and it turned out to be 35 euros (about $50). In my opinion that is unnecessary and over the top. To avoid these types of charges we went into town and picked up some food at a local market for snacks.

After 3 days, our goal was accomplished. R&R in a European City. If you are looking to spoil yourself, the splurge was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    118
    34
    15
    12
See reviews for
122
468
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The legacy of this hotel tied in with the Orient Express train from Paris - Venice is a glamourous package to be sure. But the hotel on it's own is pretty much a typical 5* hotel in terms of service and amenities that one would expect anyway.

Stayed here for 3 nights in early November 2011 and hotel was nice and rooms were lovely. Service in the restaurants are a bit hit and miss but generally ok if you ask to speak with the restaurant manager as it then gets sorted out pretty quickly.

Just be aware that you are not near where all the main attractions in Venice are so it's always a bit of a traipse getting about the sights even with the hotel boat. Personally I would only stay here if I'm not doing much in the main attractions like San Marco or Accademia etc districts. Very nice if you want to get away from the madding crowds in those main areas.

Really cool to arrive on their own hotel boat by private transfer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poshredkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is a real class act from the friendly discreet and family oriented staff to the comfortable rooms and good food, this hotel takes a lot of boxes. We all want to return to this stunning venue.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanSmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon after taking the Orient Express to Venice. Although only here for two nights it was quite magical. We had booked a double garden view room but when we arrived late at night we were given the most beautiful suite overlooking the lagoon complete with chocolate heart shaped cake, pink champagne and a lovely note from the manager wishing us a romantic honeymoon. The service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We enjoyed a full cooked breakfast in our room both mornings we stayed and enjoyed cocktails and coffee in the pool bar of an evening. Although we did not eat at the hotel we heard from other guests that it was second to none. The turn down service of an evening was excellent, down to slippers placed by your bed and complimentary robe laid out for you. Bulgari toiletries were replenished daily when opened as was the fizzy and still water bottles placed each side of the bed. An enchanting place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Forget the crowds forget the hustle and bustle of St Mark's Square and the long wait to view churches and museums just book a table for lunch at Cipriani's and sample the best of Venice. We have visited Venice many times but this was by far the best time we have spent in Venice. First go to the private launch that takes you to the Island from St Marco Square then on arrival go to the lounge and order a champaign cocktail until its time for lunch and then enjoy a memorable lunch in the Fortuny restaurant. A real romatic lunch - the food is excellent the service first class and the memory will last for ever.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deejohnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in this enchanted place towards the end of September.
I think I can say that the Hotel Cipriani is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. Staff and service excellent, food fantastic.A step away from Piazza San Marco.
I also recommend a walk in the garden and enjoy the relaxation of this enchanted.
Fairytale atmosphere. I love the Cipriani

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ami s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is a wonderful magical hotel. We were there during the Venic Film Festival which I didn't know was on at that time till we got there. And there were so many people in Venice that it was so nice to get back to the tranquil hotel.The staff is amazing. We had a garden room thanks to our daughter with our own little terrace and private lounge chairs by the pool. I left a dess at the hotel and they found it and shipped it back to me ASAP. When you walk through the gardens it is amazing and serene. They grow their own herbs and vegetables in garden for the restaurant.We spent our last night eating at the restaurant on the waterfront and there again the service was truly amazingThe shuttle that takes you back and forth is a Godsend. I was on this shuttle boat and there were some people off of a cruise ship who obviously came to look at the hotel and their comments were as they returned to Venic said "Now back to reality".
Was the highlight of our stay in Italy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#85 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Belmond, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing