We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #88 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Right on the grand canal and within spitting distance of st marks square and Harry's bar, u could not get a better location to stay in Venice. Lovely terrace bar and restuarant with great views. Very nice breakfast and good atmosphere in the bar.
Room on the small side and we had upgraded and asked for a canal view. We were disappointed not to get one. Overall lovely hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonkeyMonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

The location is practically unbeatable for the price. There is a Gondolier stop right on the patio, practically. The terrace is ON the grand Canal. This is where we ate breakfast each day..and I was back in Venice a week later and took my husband there to eat late lunch..the view is SO great. I wanted him to see where I stayed on my earlier visit.
You walk out the hotel door, take a left and then a right, and you are in Piazza San Marco! Harry's Bar is an overpriced 'institution' across the street, which is packed each night.
My room was on the 3rd floor. There was some kitchen noise from breakfast each morning, as I had my window open. The mini fridge is in the closet..and created a lot of heat, so I found my room warm. The bed was pretty hard..but I found that to be the case in almost every place I stayed in Italy. The bathroom was massive! Huge tub, nice sink, big mirror and heated towel rack. I actually think the bathroom was bigger than the part of the room that had the bed, TV, and desk!
Breakfast is a great experience.. buffet style. Eggs, pastries, meats, fruit and yogurt. You may eat on the terrace or inside. It is so amazing to eat breakfast on the grand Canal.
Location is the key to this Hotel...it is nice, and close to the Piazza, so if that is what you are looking for, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeeandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

First off, the location of this hotel is fantastic. San Marco is practically at the doorstep as are all the high-end boutiques like Prada, Bottega, etc. The vaporetto stop is also at your doorstep. We arrived by water taxi from the airport and literally disembarked onto the hotel patio, at which you can take breakfast.

The rest of the hotel, however, is just OK only...nothing fantastic. The standard room was a comfortable enough size, and the bathroom was nice and spacious. However I didn't like that the room was carpeted, and the carpet looked and felt like it had not been cleaned in a long long time! It felt grimy under my feet and the hotel didn't provide any bedroom slippers, so that was pretty gross. I also didn't like that they have no irons and ironing boards in the rooms - you need to pay to have your clothes pressed. So business travelers, take note.

The service was mixed - some really friendly and responsive staff, but also some indifferent ones. Asked the concierge to recommend a nice restaurant for dinner. He made a reservation at one, and gave us directions. When we arrived, the restaurant looked like a real tourist trap and the proprietor insisted on seating us at a stuffy corner far inside when all the al fresco tables were still unoccupied (we were really early for dinner!). It being the height of summer, we declined and decided to go to another restaurant just around the corner - far friendlier service and had a nice buzzy crowd, and we got a table outside so we could watch Venice go by. So I wouldn't recommend relying on the hotel concierge for dining recommendations - do your own research on good places to eat, and get the guy at the concierge to make reservations for you, but NOT recommend you a restaurant!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinaluis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Had a great 4 night stay at this lovely hotel, a former palace recently refurbished cleverly combining both traditional and contemporary styles. It is conveniently close to the Vaporetta (waterbus) stop at Piazza San Marco. Breakfast on the terrace was a delight with a wonderful view across the Grand Canal and gondolas. The room was very clean, comfortable and had a well appointed bathroom. The Staff were efficient and polite.
This hotel is in close proximity to everything you wish to be close to!

Room Tip: Request a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane_hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The rooms were worn out and should be urgently renovated. They were decorated in a very standard business-like fashion, and were quite small, which is usual for Venice. The staff at the reception was very unfriendly, and the concierge was neither kind nor helpful. However, the hotel's location is great, right next to the Plazza San Marco. And the breakfast is outstanding! It is a must, especially on warm days. You sit right on the Grand Canal, with an astonishing view. The buffet is very complete. The breakfast just nicely completed the romantic Venice experience.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for a room with a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckyduck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband &i have just had a fantastic 4 day trip with my parents staying here. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We had lovely rooms on 3rd floor, we didn't have much of a view but breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine every morning more than made up for that. We booked a B&B package and breakfast was meant to be continental, but we couldn't have asked for more! We helped ourselves to anything from pastries & fruit to eggs & bacon finishing with a glass of fizz!!

The location of the hotel is great, right next to Harry's bar. So you are in easy reach of St Mark's square as well as vaporetto stops there.

We could not fault the experience, a wonderful trip

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneMcc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked a Standard double room at the Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. When we arrived we were informed that there had been a mix up with the booking and although we couldn't stay in the Monaco itself, we were moved to the Annexe of the Hotel Palazzo Selvadego - to a Junior Suite for 2 nights, we were also given a Complimentary meal and drinks at the hotel Monaco that evening. For our 3rd night, we were to pack our things and they would be taken across to the Monaco where we would again be given a better room than the original one booked. We were given the best room in the Hotel 329 - stunning views of the Grand Canal and the room itself was perfect. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower, his & hers basins, toilet and bidet.
We ate in the hotel restaurant twice, the food was absolutely gorgeous. The Staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
We went to Harry's Bar and like someone previously mentioned, the Staff there didn't seem to want us to be there, it interfered with their setting up for dinner guests.
A Gondola ride is a must and thoroughly worth the 80 Euro's
Having said how good it all was, I think 2/3 days in Venice is enough, you can easily walk all around the Island visiting many different parts and although there are plenty of tourists, Venice retains its natural charm.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 387 in Venice
1,683 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#74 of 387 in Venice
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#162 of 387 in Venice
408 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#57 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $193 - $939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 92 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first Casino. Today it is a very special space for events like Weddings, Gala Dinner, Conferences and Meetings from 10 to 600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing