We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on spoil yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #89 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2009

First destination on our honeymoon and did not disappoint. Superb location seconds from San Marco Piazza, Doge's Palace and the surrounding sights. On the canal side with excellent views and ideal for that evening stroll. Dinner on the canal side terrace was superb and waiters very attentive. Eating al fresco with views over the water hard to beat! Breakfast also served daily here and a great start to the day. Rooms very comfortable and well furnished. Highly recommended. One small niggle would be the fact that the complimentary breakfast is very basic for those not wanting to order from the hotel menu, but then that gave me a reason to eat one light meal a day (it's hard to resist the fab italian food otherwise).

Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank JMACHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2009

There is only one word to describe this hotel : PERFECT !!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Spent a lot of time researching before we went in Feb 09, but could not have found a better location. Right next to St Marks Square pier. Walked everywhere so didnt buy boat pass. Rooms small but very adequate and well appointed. Take a travel kettle if you like tea in your room (£7 a cup in Harry's Bar next to hotel!) Good continental breakfast included in room price - with fantastic views from restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

It's actually a business man's hotel. The staff has a certain air about them that is professional and yet...distant. Breakfast was basically Continental, a roll, coffee, yes, on a deck overlooking the Grand Canal but does that mean you can't offer what a 3-star in Venice would offer. Perhaps it was because we're American but no, we're old hands at Venice (our 16th trip, from our honeymoon to this year and yes, we will be back in 2009 but staying at the Metropole (our original honeymoon hotel). For the money, the Saturnia is also a find if you want a true Venetian experience, classic, classy. In essence, we were really turned off but that's life.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restondrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Spent 3 nights in Venice and stayed at the Monaco. Beautiful hotel in a very convenient and central location. Situated right on the Grand Canal and the water bus stop is just outside. You can also get a direct ferry to the airport from this stop. Our flight was delayed on the trip to Venice so we arrived much later than expected. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and accommodating especially considering how late it was.

The room was small but had everything you needed including an umbrella. The bathroom was lovely with a sunken bath. As mentioned in a previous review we got a great rate as it was off season. It may not seem as good value in peak season.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skof10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We just got back from a weekend in beautiful Venice and we stayed at the Monaco. I really loved this hotel and would say it is a perfect choice for Venice.

The location is fantastic. About three minutes from Piazza San Marco and right on the Grand Canal. There’s also a water bus stop just outside so it’s really easy to get around in Venice and also to and from the airport.

The hotel itself is lovely. It’s in a beautiful old building but has been renovated to a really high standard. It’s a real eclectic mix of old and new and has real contemporary twist that works perfectly. They have obviously put a lot of thought into getting the design really right.

The rooms are large and fitted to a high standard. The only small complaint I would have about ours was that it was quite dark. It wasn’t really an issue though.

We got a really good deal on the b&b rate so thought it represented really good value for money. I’m sure in peak season though the rates would probably at least double so not sure it would be quite so attractive then.

All in all I don’t think you could go wrong with this hotel. I travel a lot (in Italy and beyond) and it takes quite a lot for me to be really impressed with a hotel. The hotel Monaco and Grand Canal really impressed me though and I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank Massingberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Booked this hotel as a package for a city break as it seems a perfect location for sight seeing and supposedly superior class.
Yes the location was great but as for superior class... its all a facade.
Asked for a room with bath but got a shower instead (although very nice shower) Maid service is a bit hit and miss, I dont think they vaccumed the floor for the whole four days we were there.
Felt very inpersonal and business like, and although on first impression it looks opulent it is very uncomfortable. Only one hard chair in the bedroom which was very cramped, and the lounge bar very cold and uncomfortable, not to mention expensive! Forty five euros for two cups of tea and a toasted cheese and ham sandwhich made with cheap square ham out of a packet. As for the complimentary breakfast, a croisant and some stale bun thingy (anything else you paid a very high price for, and even then there wasn't much choice), it was a joke! the only good thing being a nice view of the canel while you ate it! They try to push the restaurant, the menu looked grand but after the breakfast and bar experience we didn't want to risk it as the prices were very high. However to their credit they provided a very classy and useful umbrella in the room for our use during our stay!
Check in and check out was very efficient but then I would not expect less. This could be a beautiful hotel due to its position, but unfortunately I feel they are cashing in on this to the detriment of thier guests.
Venice is a very expensive place and we really didn't mind paying high prices if we got quality which here was unfortunatly lacking. This is definately not up to the standards it professes to hold. Businesslike and certainly not for a romantic trip to Venice!

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank Snorripigzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 387 in Venice
1,684 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#75 of 387 in Venice
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#163 of 387 in Venice
408 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $196 - $951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 92 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first Casino. Today it is a very special space for events like Weddings, Gala Dinner, Conferences and Meetings from 10 to 600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing