We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,663)
Filter reviews
1,663 results
Traveller rating
894
492
151
78
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
492
151
78
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharry's bargrand canalpalazzo selvadegowater taxiterrace restaurantgondola stationst marks squareperfect locationbeautiful hotelconcierge staffsan marco squarevaporetto stoprooms are smallcroissantsjunior suitestay in venicemurano
Filter
Updating list...
881 - 886 of 1,663 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2009

There is only one word to describe this hotel : PERFECT !!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Spent a lot of time researching before we went in Feb 09, but could not have found a better location. Right next to St Marks Square pier. Walked everywhere so didnt buy boat pass. Rooms small but very adequate and well appointed. Take a travel kettle if you like tea in your room (£7 a cup in Harry's Bar next to hotel!) Good continental breakfast included in room price - with fantastic views from restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2009

It's actually a business man's hotel. The staff has a certain air about them that is professional and yet...distant. Breakfast was basically Continental, a roll, coffee, yes, on a deck overlooking the Grand Canal but does that mean you can't offer what a 3-star in Venice would offer. Perhaps it was because we're American but no, we're old hands at Venice (our 16th trip, from our honeymoon to this year and yes, we will be back in 2009 but staying at the Metropole (our original honeymoon hotel). For the money, the Saturnia is also a find if you want a true Venetian experience, classic, classy. In essence, we were really turned off but that's life.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restondrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Spent 3 nights in Venice and stayed at the Monaco. Beautiful hotel in a very convenient and central location. Situated right on the Grand Canal and the water bus stop is just outside. You can also get a direct ferry to the airport from this stop. Our flight was delayed on the trip to Venice so we arrived much later than expected. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and accommodating especially considering how late it was.

The room was small but had everything you needed including an umbrella. The bathroom was lovely with a sunken bath. As mentioned in a previous review we got a great rate as it was off season. It may not seem as good value in peak season.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank skof10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We just got back from a weekend in beautiful Venice and we stayed at the Monaco. I really loved this hotel and would say it is a perfect choice for Venice.

The location is fantastic. About three minutes from Piazza San Marco and right on the Grand Canal. There’s also a water bus stop just outside so it’s really easy to get around in Venice and also to and from the airport.

The hotel itself is lovely. It’s in a beautiful old building but has been renovated to a really high standard. It’s a real eclectic mix of old and new and has real contemporary twist that works perfectly. They have obviously put a lot of thought into getting the design really right.

The rooms are large and fitted to a high standard. The only small complaint I would have about ours was that it was quite dark. It wasn’t really an issue though.

We got a really good deal on the b&b rate so thought it represented really good value for money. I’m sure in peak season though the rates would probably at least double so not sure it would be quite so attractive then.

All in all I don’t think you could go wrong with this hotel. I travel a lot (in Italy and beyond) and it takes quite a lot for me to be really impressed with a hotel. The hotel Monaco and Grand Canal really impressed me though and I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank Massingberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews