We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel but little recognition of Starwood status”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #96 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but little recognition of Starwood status”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location and some rooms have spectacular views. We stayed for 3 nights and booked 2 connecting rooms. We were hoping for an upgrade as Starwood Platinum members, but did not get one. Oh well, maybe next time. Still, even standard rooms were very nice.
Just a word of warning: this hotel (and many others) offers complimentaly water taxi to Murano island and back. If you choose to take it, be aware that there is a high pressure sales pitch awaiting you at the island's glass factory. If you can handle it, the trip is nice and you can explore the island on your own after they let you go. It was a bit of a surprise for us that we had to sit thru the sales presentation, as nobody at the hotel mentioned it to us. They probably should warn their guests when offering a complimentary water taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    636
    251
    130
    89
See reviews for
516
1,205
62
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Westin last month. Most wonderful experience. We stayed in the room that had a walk out balcony directly overlooking the Grand Canal - wow that was wonderful. The wall paper in the room was insulated fabric so it is absolutely quiet. Glass chandaliers. Most comfortable beds. Well appointed bathroom.

You cannot beat the location. Within 15 minutes, you can pretty much walk as far as Cannaregio. Finding the hotel from the main street I must admit was a bit difficult, as you need to travel through a several small corridor looking streets to get to the front of the hotel. What is unique about Venice in general is that because there's no cars, it's absolute silence on the streets by about 10am (at least in the month of March). Opening our windows, all we could here were a bunch of alley cats.

I must say that the buffet breakfast was the best of the 6 cities we stayed. Lots of variety and great selection of hot and cold items. Our favorite was the mango puree ! The seating area itself was fantastic. There's an indoor and outdoor section. The outdoor section is adjacent the Grand Canal. What a wonderful experience.

The only suggestion I'd like to make for management is the cost of some of the items. I appreciate that Venice overall is extremely expensive and items must be delivered by boat, but 10 Euro for a bottle of water is a bit steep.

Overall, highly recommended. Would live to visit again.

Room Tip: At least temporarily, there's construction on one side of the hotel. It can get pretty noisy sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newbie_Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed and gracious feedback on your recent stay with us at The Westin Europa & Regina. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that you enjoyed our location and our Restaurant terrace overlooking the Gran Canal. We have shared your thoughtful feedback with our entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With best regards
Executive office
The westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This grand hotel is a 5 minute walk from Piazza San Marco but removed enough off the beaten path that it retains a sense of privacy and intimacy. It is a classic palazzo or probably several palazzos joined in the lobby overlooking anything from a roof top to the grand canal. The rooms are decent (probably about 200 SF and up), bathrooms either tiny or spacious (we reserved two rooms for my family, did not receive connecting rooms as requested and my children had a spacious bathroom and slightly larger bedroom than my wife and myself who had a pint sized bathroom with no room for towels and a doorstop perched in front of the toilet in perfect location for a stubbed toe or two). Since king-sized beds are merely a housekeeping feat of joining two twins, I couldn't help but wonder why my wife and I (who's paying the bill anyhow?) were consigned to the less desirable of the rooms. The HVAC in this hotel is an either/or phenomenon and not one that the guest has any say over. There was no A/C in the rooms during our stay. It will get turned on as the weather warms up but not quite yet. The rooms were warm and stuffy and we were assured by the front desk we could leave our windows open despite noticing dead mosquitoes (from previous guests?) on the ceiling and walls when we arrived. Well, you know how this story goes with a sleepless night due to the buzz of mosquitoes in my ear. Hey, this is a 5 star hotel -- they should have figured this out by now. 10 euro/can of soda in the room fridge and 35 euro buffet breakfast didn't have too many takers. The hotel eating area looks out over the grand canal but had precious few takers for breakfast. It's really a shame since the view is beautiful. So, as I looked out from my room window over a rooftop and angling a view of the canal, I couldn't help but imagine what life would be like (let alone this review) if I could afford one of the suites overlooking the grand canal that I peeked into one morning as I waited for the elevator. I'm guessing the room beverages and hotel breakfast would have also tasted pretty good. Ah, la dolce vita.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thislandisyourland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel is in a fabulous location overlooking the Grand Canal. We had booked a superior double but we were given a complimentary upgrade to a small suite on arrival. The room itself was perfect, as was the complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries, but it directly looked onto a construction site next door. This work started at 7.30 each morning on weekdays, and disturbed me every morning. We didn't ask to move rooms, as we decided that the room itself was worth the noise, but we have wondered if we would have have been given a room with Grand Canal views if we hadn't been upgraded!

The hotel stops serving bar food at 10.30pm, we were caught out one evening and ordered room service. Two very mediocre sandwiches plus service came to 75 euros, and the service trolley had two glasses for water but no water, which would have cost 10 euros extra from the mini bar!

All in all we would recommend staying there, just be careful on which room you accept and avoid the room service!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelNew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We went to this hotel on a three day break with Citalia. We paid in advance for a Grand Canal room and then we arrived we had been upgraded even further to a room with a terrace to sunbathe. The service was superb, the staff friendly and helpful and the food out of this world. For breakfast we even had prosecco with the smoked salmon - amazing. We loved it!

Room Tip: Pay more for a view of the Grand Canal - you will spend ages just watching the world go by as you si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra201255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. Lovely room, with a view of the courtyard and the grand canal, excellent service, lovely restaurant. And those Westin beds! We couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We had a small, inexpensive room, and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelteamCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks to you for sharing your recent stay in our property with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to hear that we met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
With best regards
Executive office
The westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were blown away, they gave us an upgraded room with what is probably one of the best views in Venicia. Service was outsanding. Very nice staff and very helpful. Clean and well maintained hotel. Very close St. Mark's Square, San Marco Basillica and to Musica a Pallazo (which was a great performance too). To get to the closest bakery, travel left on street with high end shops. It's next to Le Cafe. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS WESTIN HOTEL. BEST TRIP OF A LIFETIME.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinterTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room with view and we have shared your feedback with all our staff and they are very pleased you appreciated the service.
We look forward to welcoming again at The Westin Europa & Regina in a near future and we remain with our best regards
Executive office
The westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#73 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#45 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Property: The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#60 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing