We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for sight seeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #67 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

the hotel is situated between St marks and the Rialto bridge. On arrival we checked in quickly and shown to our room. The room was spacious clean with all the extras you expect from a 4 star hotel.We ate in the restaurant on the first night and was impressed with the service and food,prices were reasonably. Breakfast was to a high standard with a good selection of food.
i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buck0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Splendid Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

lovely hotel, pleasant lobby areas to relax in & admire the canal view. perfect location between rialto & st marks sq.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotchcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is in a superb location, which makes this a benefit. The warm interior is also something that makes this hotel special, especially the very warm and cosy bar. On some levels this hotel is special as the candles, sofas, cushions create a home from home. The barman doesn't just serve drinks, he is amusing and full of charisma. However, on another this attention to a home environment needs work. Whilst the restaurant is superb, it is over-priced compared to the other restauants nearby, The rooms are furnished nicely, the bed is very comfortable especially after a long days sightseeing, but there are distinct lack of power sockets. There is a lack of information given out by reception regarding breakfast: to eat in the beautiful conservatory style court yard you need to book in advance. The breakfast needs work; if you want continental then you will love the hotel's menu but the American breakfast is somewhat lacking. Also, the signage needs to be clearer as you can easily pass by the hotel completely late at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Thetravelelr089,
first of all thank you very much for taking the time to say few words about our recent stay at the Starhotels Splendid Venice and for choosing our Hotel as place to stay. Any suggestions or opinions related to our service or standards is higly taken into consideration, if in any way can be improved, be well assured that our will is to achieve this goal.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back at the Splendid Venice an remain,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

On arrival at Marco Polo airport you can choose to travel to the hotel by land bus, water bus, or water taxi. We chose water bus. It costs €25 for a return trip (€15 one way) and it took an hour and a quarter to reach St Mark's Square. From what I understand, a water taxi costs about €70 (one way) but takes less time and will take you directly to your hotel. It's a ten minute walk from the water bus stop at St Mark's to the hotel.

The hotel is five minute walk from both St Mark's Sq and the Rialto Bridge so makes an excellent base for exploring. It has been recently renovated and it certainly shows. The decor is absolutely beautiful. Even the toilets in the lobby are worth a mention they are so swanky!

We stayed in a lovely deluxe room on the fourth floor (411) that had a canal view. The room wasn't particularly big, but was perfectly fine for a two night stay. The only problem we had with a canal view room was the noise. The Gondola's with the music, the power boats making their deliveries and not to mention the occasional building work that went on in the area. They don't have double glazing so you hear everything!

The restaurant in the hotel is excellent and reasonably priced. We honestly didn't know what to choose for lunch, it all looked good! Breakfast was buffet style. The only hot food to choose from was lightly cooked bacon and scambled egg. The rest was continental. We ordered breakfast in our room on the second day and we were given just one plate of bacon and eggs to share along with the cereals and bread. We called down for a second plate, but just got a grumpy waiter that came to the room, looked at the tray and then left! It just made us laugh rather than annoy us.

The lobby and bar have a very relaxing atmosphere and you could happily lounge around for ages. Internet is free in the lobby (not in the rooms) but you have to ask for a voucher code and it only works for 30 minutes.

The reception staff are worth a mention, they were very friendly and helpful :-)

Room Tip: Don't choose a canal view room if you want complete peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charliesangel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Charliesangel 02,
thank you very much for dedicating a bit of your time to us ad for your preciosus feedback.
It's really a great pleasure to read your comments.. thank you so much.!!. I will pass your comment to all or associates in a way of awarding such great service, and personaly to our Reception Staff . Again thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here recently during a 3 day visit to Venice, was lucky that I was able to get a combined flight/hotel deal from expedia which reduced the cost.
The hotel is in a good position for the main tourist attractions and therefore in the middle of the venetian tourism and shopping district! It's a short walk from the Rialto water bus stop which is easy to get to from the airport and makes it hard to get lost as can always follow the signs back to Rialto.
The hotel is expensive, has a nice bar area but charges 10 euros for a beer, states it has free wi-fi in the lobby but to get this you have to get a voucher from reception everytime you want to use it and then is around 10 euros to use the wi-fi in the rooms.
The rooms were comfortable, with great beds and linen but not very spacious, the furnishing of the superior room I stayed in looked nothing like the web photos.
Seemed to be alot of large groups staying at the hotel when I was there, I would only recommend if for people for first time visits to Venice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wavesBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear wavesBondi,
Thank you very much for your your nice comment and for choosing The Starhotels Splendid Venice as place to stay. Thank you also for recommend our Hotel, we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at th Starhotels Splendid Venice.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a short break to celebrate her 50th birthday and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a luxury suite, free of charge, with a view looking over the small canal 4 floors below The interior has been renovated extensively and our room was very comfortable with a king size bed. The bathroom was beautifully furnished with marble with his and hers slippers and dressing gowns provided adding a touch of finesse. The lounge bar area of the hotel is very relaxing and gondalas can be seen cruising along the canal whilst sipping bellini cocktails served with delicious canapes. The restaurant area has been built around an atrium with a glass roof. Breakfasts consist of croissants, fruit salad as well as the usual hot buffet fayre. We had a wonderful meal one evening and the candlelit dining area added to the ambience of the setting. The wine list is reasonably extensive as well. The location is superb as you are 5 minutes either way from the Rialto and St Marks Square with excellent shopping thrown in for good measure just outside the hotel. The receptionists were helpful to us in locating the Venice Jazz club and a small deli "Alle Arco"

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the canal!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackholer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Blackholer,
It's really a great pleasure to read your nice comment !! Thank you so much.. We are very happy that your stay was both "nice and enyoyble" .. I will make sure that all our associates will be aware of your nice comment. We look forward to welcome you back soon at the Starhortels Splendid Venice and remain,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days during the recent Carnevale. Although it's well located between the two craziest places in Venice, Piazza San Marco and Rialto, the hotel is situated next to a serene and tranquil canal - quite lovely really. It's a little tricky to find coming from Rialto but much easier when approaching from San Marco.

The hotel is modern and the lounge area is very nice indeed. My deluxe room with a canal view was reasonably spacious by Venetian standards. I enjoyed the spotless modern feel to it. Internet access in the room is charged but free wifi is available in the public areas.

The hot breakfast was quite good by Italian standards (remember locals don't do the hot bacon and eggs stuff) and apart from the cheese and cold meats, bacon and eggs were also served in the buffet.

The concierge was helpful in arranging dinner reservations.

My main criticism is that the in-room dining prices were more steep than I had expected. Overall a strong recommendation in Venice, especially for those looking for a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear kahkityoong,
thank you so much for taking the tiem to leave your nice comment about the Starhotels Splendid Venice and for staying with us..
Just two words: Thank you..I will make sure our concierge and alla ssociates will be informed of the excellent service.. We sincerely hope to welcome you back at teh Starhotels Splendid Venice and remai,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,048 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#101 of 384 in Venice
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $250 - $1,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing