We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very well located, but the room are TOO small!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #68 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This hotel is very nice, absolutly very well located and charming. The only problem is that the room was very very small, I had to open my bag in the toilet vase to have espace! But is a good place to stay if you are traveling with few bags. This is a perfect hotel for lovers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernanda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Splendid Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

I booked this hotel due to it's location mostly, but also wanted classier hotel. Location is truly amazing, but for that kind of money I honestly expected more. Rooms are OK, but corridors smell funny. Also, rooms weren't cleaned properly. I found numerous black long hairs throughout both bedroom and bathroom. Since we were on a busy schedule, I did not complain the first day, waiting to see what will happen next day. And again, cleaning was very poor.
Also, my side of bed had a huge concavity which made sleeping not so pleasant experience.
Staff was otherwise friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetraZagreb_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Stayed here in November '10 with my husband. We decided to book a deluxe room as the hotel website stated they had a canal view. When we arrived we were shown to a room at the back of the hotel and had been given a small suite but no canal view. The room was so nice we decided to stay put. The furnishings were beautiful, lots of Venetian glass mirrors, silver fittings and muted colours. Bed and pillows were really comfortable (I'm very fussy about bed comfort!) and although the bedroom itself was not large, having the sitting area more than compensated. We had three flat screen TV's, in the bedroom, sitting area and a small one in the bathroom, not that we watched much TV as there is so much to do and out of the 4 days we stayed, the weather was fabulous for November on three of them. Toiletries were really nice, an Italian Brand, Etro, and plenty of them. The bathroom was compact but had quite luxurious fittings and large, fluffy towels.

We ate evening meals in the hotel restaurant twice and the standard of food was good. The breakfasts were pretty ok, given it was the usual buffet type breakfast, but there was plenty of variety and the bakery goods were nice. The evening service in the restaurant was good on our first visit but on our second visit they got our order wrong and at first, their attitude was so what? Ater having a strop, the service improved and we got several apologies. They have an excellent pianist in the evenings who obviously loves his job and is very versatile. We sat down for quite a while after dinner just enjoying his playing. This really contributed to the ambience and we enjoyed both visits. I definitely recommend having at least one meal here but it is best to make a reservation as the weekends seem to be busy.

The hotel is is a great position, just few minutes from San Marco and Rialto but the address on their website doesn't exist - it just refers to the general area. Other people have mentioned this on TA, it is situated on Manzana St Zulian which is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Piazzale Roma and about 5 minutes from San Marco.

Venice is very expensive but I think the hotel was pretty good value for money overall although I'd advise anyone to beware of the mini-bar! I expect to pay well over the odds but a (very) small pack of peanuts was 7 euros which seemed steep!

Shopping in Venice is not a cheap experience, but having said that, Furla, the Italian leather goods company have a couple of shops in the Mercerie and their handbags seemed much cheaper than in the UK!

We loved Venice and would definitely go again. My advice is to wear very comfortable shoes as you will do a lot of walking, buy a multi day ticket for the boats, and ensure you take at least one trip up the Grand Canal and visit some of the nearby islands which are well worth a trip. Just wandering around was a great pleasure.

November is one of the months when flooding is a real risk and there was some flooding in the San Marco area on a couple of days. A flood warning siren sounds across Venice very early in the morning to alert everyone. The Venetians are well used to coping and raised walkways (tables) appear as it by magic and everyone gets around by using these. Seeing the Piazza flooded is a strange experience but all the water recedes by early afternoon and things return to normal. We had fun watching some of the boats trying to navigate under bridges on some of the smaller canals - some made it, one didn't! The flooding didn't cause us any inconvenience at all and it is certainly something to see!

We'll definitely be going back again and will probably choose to stay here as the Hilton is situated on Giudecca which is across the Lagoon. It is a lovely hotel but does entail getting on a boat every time you want to go back and forth, whereas Starhotel Spendid, although a 4*, is really central.

All in all, a great trip!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

From the moment we checked in our stay was terrific! We had room 205, which has two french doors that open onto a balcony over the canal. How gorgeous and romantic! The balcony was a great surprise since we hadn't splashed out for the canal room, which I thought was more expensive. The balcony, plus the nice size bathroom and built-in luggage racks and shoe storage, so you're not constantly tripping over your luggage and shoes, and immaculate cleanliness made the room a dream.

The hotel staff was courteous upon arrival and check-out and spoke an impressive number of languages. The common rooms were understated, yet grand and elegant. The restaurant/breakfast room was also stylishly done with a glass roof that made the space airy and light. The breakfast was good, a typical European buffet with many choices.

The location couldn't have been better, though the directions were a bit hard to follow.

If I were going back to Venice, I would definitely stay here over other places I have stayed in Venice before.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We had a pleasant stay here despite the cold, rainy weather typical of Venice in November. We were upgraded to a deluxe room and our room was still teeny, so I'm glad we never experienced the size of a standard room. Location is excellent - it's situated between Rialto and St Mark's Square. It's quite a large hotel and thus the service was a bit impersonal but we only spent the weekend in Venice and thus hardly spent time at the hotel so it hardly mattered. Have no problem staying here again but would probably opt for something a bit smaller - we only booked this because it was very last minute and it was one of the few places still available. In typical Italian style, double beds are two single beds pushed together. Not a fan of this but we have learned to expect this by now. Additionally, highly recommend splurging on a water taxi if it's within budget. We did this on the way in and took the water bus on the way back and regret not spending the extra 75 euros to take the taxi back to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlepStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

The room is luxurious with its charming design, comfortable bed and very beautiful lamps in the room. The toilet /bathroom was clean and spacious. Our room window has a canal view with great scenery of Venice. The hotel itself is within walking distance from St Marco Square. The breakfast is great as well with lots of fruits.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JY521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We arrived by water taxi (which i'd recommend doing because I doubt you'd be able to find the hotel if you don't already know Venice!) it was 70 euros from Pizzale Roma (the bus stop). Check in was quick and easy and a friendly porter took our bags to our room. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was comfy and there was even a TV in the bathroom! Service was very good... I asked for crisps while I was waiting at the hotel for our flight and was given free crisps and peanuts. Breakfast had everything you need, juices, pastries, cereal, fruit etc
The hotel is five minutes from St Marks square and five minutes from the Rialto Bridge.
The review before mine commented on how they payed 200 euros for a room per night. We found our holiday online and payed 300 euros for two of us, for two nights and with flights included! Couldn't be more of a bargain! So search around and dont just book through the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love-the-sun-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 384 in Venice
2,048 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#100 of 384 in Venice
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $257 - $1,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing