We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Chose hotel from trip advisor after finding many others were not available. However, we weren't disappointed as the location was good as was the room and the breakfast and we will book it again next time we visit Venice

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ByronCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

It is the first time I am staying in this area of Venezzia and the hotel's location is great.
Large clean rooms with new bathrooms. Good breakfast and fast internet.

No elevator but this should not create any issue. A bit difficult to find it the first time but some nice locals helped us out.

Great value and great service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

January is such a great month for a Venice trip if you catch the weather... or even if you don't. I've stayed in the American Dinesen before and it never disappoints. It is worth the extra for a canal facing room - really great value out of season. To wake up in the morning after a silent night to the sound of the first traffic on the small canal is quite something. Dorsoduro is a wonderful backwater itself in a busy city.. there is no shortage of places to eat at night though and nearly all offering local Venetian cooking. I recognise that I was there in a quiet month (some eating places are closed for the month of January) however the staff in the hotel are really attentive, welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was included in my Internet rate making my stay even better value. The usual Italian style breakfast is all you need to kick start the day and the wonderful pot of coffee is perfect. I love Venice - even though it can be colder than cold .. the first night I was there this trip a freezing fog came in off the sea creating a magical closed in end of the world feeling .. every breath was a near death experience ! The reviews of this hotel are excellent .. they are like that for a reason.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharleyBrown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

stayed here last year on my honeymoon and everything from the breakfast to the room facing the canal was great. we landed here straight from the airport and the staff gave us a very warm welcome

Room Tip: facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loverhodeisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just returned from a fabulous 4 day trip to Venice. From start to finish we loved it and will return. The weather was thick freezing fog apart from the last day when the sun shone through. This meant by mid afternoon it was very cold and lots of layers were needed. We didn't care, we had a ball.

Our hotel the American Dinesen was a short walk from the Accademia boat stop in the Dorsduro area.

The hotel was lovely. Excellent service, friendly staff, warm, clean, good breakfast including cold meat and cheese, fresh fruit etc. The only improvements to make would be; a lift (but we knew there wasn't one when we booked), softer pillows and a bar to have a drink on an evening. None of these were important but would have been the cream on the cake. Our room 302, was on the 3rd floor, venetian style with a modern bathroom and full bath (very nice after a very cold day of exploring). Mini bar prices were reasonable for a hotel and the views were to die for. We could see the canal in front and the Grand Canal.

We had an early start for our flight the next day and the hotel made sure we had breakfast which was a nice touch.

We thought Venice was going to be really expensive, but if you stay away from the main tourist drags you get much more value for money.

A fabulous short break. Thank you Venice, we'll be back

Room Tip: Room 302 at the top has great views, quiet because it's high up, but no lift (3rd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We took three long haul planes and two long haul trains to get here - and it was the perfect place to stay, rest and recouperate. Give my regards to Marco when you stay, as I know you will wantto stay. He was an excellent trip advisor and aide to have at the hotel desk. The ambience, the rooms, the facilities were all Venetian and added to our experience of this unique city. Breakfast couldn't have been better after very restful, quiet nights on very comfortable beds. We stayed in a room overlooking the canal. But ... be careful, you will want to live here forever..Accademia is one of the perfect places to stay in Venice, it is a little more secluded, the hotel is the shortest of walks from the vaporetto and you can go to Le petite gallery de Guuggenheim on the way to brunch/lunch. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wombat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

It was our fourth visit to the Hotel American, and it won't be our last. Everything was terrific - especially the staff. The location is close to everything but in a quiet area. We recommend this hotel to our friends as well, who have had the same excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_from_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,856 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,950 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,880 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $172 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing