We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real "find" in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes
Ranked #194 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 27 March 2012

La Fenice is well located and near to La Fenice Opera House. It is charming in all respects.
We had a delightful stay enhanced by friendly and very helpful staff. The rooms are good sized and everything was immaculate. The location is quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Room as they are a bit larger.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poipu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

We went there 15 years ago, wanted to have a cheap week end in Venice so went again. It is perfect as we were going to the opera which is next door. Obviously, the hotel needs refreshing BUT the rooms are clean, quite large and perfectly adequate for a week end. the location is grand, a bit more in the town so you feel like you are in the more "real" Venice than staying right next to San Marco. the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is nothing special; but fine. Good value for money (do not expect modern, trendy!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margauxhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A fine and quiet Venice location, adjacent to the Opera House and only steps away from major sites and vaporetto's. The hotel has not much changed in the last twenty years and the amenities are all right. A good ratio quality/price for Venice, especially the spaciousness of the rooms and bathroom, with friendly and competent staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Location:
The hotel could be a little hard to find if you're not prepared, but it's not far at all from St. Mark's. We got a water taxi (Venicelink) from the airport to Trinita Pier, and from there it was about 2 minutes walk. We found the hotel very easily but only because we had a small map. Venice can be very confusing anyway due to the narrow streets!
It is a great base to see the all the main sites as it is so close to St. Mark's. It was also in a very quiet area, and we had no problems with noise whatsoever...from outside or inside the hotel. It is not on one of the main canals but you do have canal-view rooms. Our room looked out onto a small canal and a bridge, very pretty.

Rooms:
Our room was very spacious, with a bedroom seperated from another room by an archway. the second room had a large double wardrobe, desk, chair and stool/bench. The bathroom was the biggest I have seen in any hotel I have stayed in, with a large bath and shower, bidet, toilet, hairdryer and sink and plenty of space in between. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean. Bath/shower gel was provided, along with tissues, shower cap, soap and a small vanity set containing cotton wool pads, cotton wool buds and nail file. The hot water didn't take long to heat up and it was powerful. We had a large mirror in the bedroom, a full sized mirror, 2 long mirrors on the wardrobe as well as a large mirror in the bathroom (great for getting ready!). Two decent bedside tables with lamps, a minibar fridge, and a TV. We were able to get the CNN news channel. The room was always warm (Venice was absolutely freezing when we went so this was a God-send). The window was secure, with bars and heavy shutters. There was also a small safe in the wardrobe which was very handy. The decor of the hotel room was very traditional italian, which may seem tacky and 'over-the-top' to some people but we found it charming. The room was very, very clean and the maid was in every day on our request. Towels, bath mats, and toiletries were all replenished.

Downsides: the hairdryer was weak, thankfully I had brought my own. Could probably do with more plug sockets in the room. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Hotel staff:
All staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us guides, told us a great places to eat, and provided us with room service and drinks.

Breakfast:
Continental breakfast was good. Toast, croissants, yoghurt, cereal, tea, coffee, cappuccino/coffee/hot chocolate etc. machine. fruit juice, ham cheese, bread rolls, jams, marmalades, spreads.
Downsides: no fresh fruit!

All in all, I can't really criticise the hotel too much - any downsides were extremely minor. Would definitely stay here again. A great base from which to explore the beauty of Venice.

Room Tip: We had room number 157 - this was more than adequate size for a couple staying 3 nights.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. Room and bathroom were clean. We got a room that was a little cheaper than a double because it had two single beds pushed together, and you could barely tell it was two beds instead of one. There was a nice wardrobe to hang our clothes, and it locked. There is internet access-- 2 euros for 24 hours worth of internet. Not the fastest internet but certainly adequate for checking email, etc. Slow if you are uploading pictures from a camera or trying to watch a video. It was fairly quiet except for New Year's eve, which is understandable (there was a lot of noise coming from the restaurant that is attached to the hotel). No more than a few minutes away from St. Mark's Square; can't beat the location if you want to be that close. All of the concierges except for one were very friendly and helpful. The best part was the continental breakfast, which includes toast, croissants, cereal, plain and sweetened yogurt, jam, honey and Nutella, tea, juice, and there's a cappuccino maker as well. It lasts from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. and is constantly being replenished. There's a large and comfortable dining area to eat. We had a great stay here and would recommend it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seajrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We made a terrible mistake. The relais and chateau hotel we were meant to stay in was booked so we listened to the concierges recommendation. thus, La Fenice.
The first room we were in had drilling front he street so loud we couldn't stand it and walls were shaking. They moved us to another room that had a closet..yup! First one didn't. The hotel was so strangely located that we were lost every day and also at night worse as we were a bit afraid walking the dark streets. Friends had asked us where we were staying in Venice and I thought that was annoying. Now I know why! You need to stay in a good hotel in Venice! Everything is terribly expensive in the city to begin with but so happy to have finally visited the city! We even had to pay for a small bottle of water. We left after two nights and went to Florence and stayed at a fabulous relais and chateau hotel that was less than the dump in Venice(hotel in Florence called Relais Santa Croce). I was miserable in the hotel and wouldn't walk on floors without shoes......my advise is to save up and go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Both rooms we saw looked like a bordello...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed in 9 hotels which were all 3 stars across Europe. This review is based on the fact it is a 3 star hotel.

Pros: The biggest shower of any of the hotels we stayed in. Bathroom was good. Room was clean and spacious. The air conditioner worked well. The Staff were very friendly and helpful, all spoke english well enough. Free wifi for 15minutes every day, or 2 euro for 24hours. Great location in Venice as many great eateries and San Marco Piazza are all just around the corner. Buffet breakfast was as good as any of the other 3 star hotels we stayed at.

Cons: Finding the hotel could be a bit tricky, however finding anything in Venice is tricky until you've been there before. Had to take the steps up to the first floor where the elevator begins, however staff helped us with our luggage. If you were disabled, Venice is full of stairs anyway, so the stairs to the elevator were not an issue. Our first night we noticed some mosquito's in our room, i think the previous guests whom checked out had left the windows open all morning.

This hotel was fantastic, it met all of our needs during our time in Venice. We wouldn't have a problem going back there in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sylik_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#138 of 384 in Venice
559 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#210 of 384 in Venice
376 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#192 of 384 in Venice
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#157 of 384 in Venice
588 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#128 of 384 in Venice
610 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 384 in Venice
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes

Address: Campiello Marinoni O de la Fenice San Marco 1936, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $147 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Venice near the famous La Fenice theatre, and for more than a century has been a preferred venue for artists and intellectuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing