We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Staff and Hotel Casa Verardo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #58 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff and Hotel Casa Verardo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We (Myself,13 and 16 yo sons) are in love with this hotel!!!! The place is so charming! It is very , very close to the St. Mark's Square, restaurants, ATM machines and right behind it, we found a self-service laundry...we were in haven! The people there are extremely helpful, very pleasant and so sweet....I felt like they(every single person/staff there) knew me for a long time...very personal and warm. They did things like sit at their computers, to help me look for trains, boats .....no matter what time, if they were busy or not...they would drop whatever they were doing to help us.... always with a smile on their faces. They were fantastic! Our room was extremely clean and so beautiful....the walls, bedding and that amazing chandelier.... breathtaking! The bedroom was right by the breakfast area(very convenient!) and had 2 doors so we were never disturbed by other people eating breakfast. It was very comfortable and roomy (for 3 people). It had a little separated room with a armoire...almost a walking closet! We had a heated towel rack in the bathroom...toasty towels ...I love it. Not that I care, but I know lots of people do....Yes, they speak perfect English...the whole staff. I highly recommend this hotel. I always like to try new hotels, but after "Hotel Casa Verardo", I will always stay there, when in Venice. Perfect city, amazing people and great hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was the107...we love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvia1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    203
    35
    9
    11
See reviews for
141
320
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is pleasant enough but I felt more misled by the website than I ever have by any other hotel website. I always take hotel websites sceptically, but this one really surprised me.
Our room looked nothing like any of the rooms shown in the website. We had booked a 'deluxe' room rather than the basic 'classic', but even so the room was small with spartan furnishings - we only had a single hard chair to sit on in the room, in their website the 'deluxe' room is shown with a sofa, a desk chair and a footstool, not to mention an elegant chest of drawers and a wardrobe, all we got was a stolid utilitarian wardrobe that looked like it came from a stalinist design manual. I had the impression from the website that all rooms were individually furnished and decorated with as they put it 'enriched textiles'. Actually all the rooms I saw into on our floor were identical to ours. Also, I spotted that a room shown as a 'deluxe' room on the website was included in the photos on TripAdvisor as a 'junior suite' - had someone made a mistake?
The wifi is a pain to use, it is free but parcelled out in such mean packages that it gets irritating to keep having to go back to the reception desk to ask for another session.
The rooms on the first floor all appear to open into the breakfast room, which seems a bit strange. I'm glad I didn't have one of those rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Casa Verardo the 2nd weekend of December 2011. The location is great - as others have said, less than 5 minute walk from San Zaccharia vaporetto stop and the hotel's directions in what can be confusing Venice were great. Check-in was very efficient and the 2nd floor rooms were comfortable for our party of 2 couples. The hotel is a renovated palace next to a canal (what isn't in Venice), with the typical Venetian uneven floors and lush tapestries. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet with plenty of variety and the smell of cornettos (croissants) greeting us as we came down the stairs each morning. Staff was direct but polite (buona sera!). Had some issues with the "free" Internet, but the staff resolved them without argument. The hotel is very convenient to numerous restaurants, bars, and shops, and Piazza San Marco, but felt a lot further away (very quiet). To get to San Marco, you have to pass over the canal with a view of the Bridge of Sighs...what a nice way to start your visit to Venezia!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We have been at Casa Verardo for a short week end during the the " Madonna della salute " festivity.
it was so pleasant to stay there! The building located in the center but set apart from the traffic is originally ancient furnished , so warm and elegant without be pretentious as many seen Hotel in the city.The room was fine and spacious with a good view over the city. Delicious the breakfast in the morning and the staff very clever and smiling.
We'll certainly return at Casa Verardo !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel itself was very nice. Our room was a little small but it was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the shower was nice, those are usually the two most important things to me. The location was what made this hotel amazing. It is less than a 5 minute walk to St. Mark's square and the vaparetto stop. Even though the hotel is so close to St. Mark's square it feels to be in a less touristy area than other parts of Venice. There are several great restaurants within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. When I go back to Venice I will definitely look towards staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Location, location, location! Just off Piazza San Marco, Hotel Casa Verado proved to be convenient for access to all the important sites in Venice. We were traveling with our daughter and had a good sized triple with a wonderful view of a tiny canal. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. A very attractive hotel and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandSBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We arrived at Casa Verardo and found immediately that our two nights there were going to be difficult. We had paid for a larger room and we couldn't even imagine what a small room felt like if this was described as larger. (Our room had a terrace which we were told counted towards the larger space despite the fact that it was way too cold to even go out there during the day). We had to stack our suitcases as there wasn't enough room for both anywhere. On top of that, the room was stiflingly hot so we were up all night and there was some sort of scent that neither of us could bear.

We left after one night of staying there as we honestly couldn't take it anymore. We complained to the staff and there was no offer of a refund. Another room was checking out as we were complaining and apparently left without paying so the owner paid more attention to the other party than us. We didn't even put up a fight as we simply wanted to just get out of there.

I have never written a poor hotel review before (and I stay in hotels three nights a week for work that aren't always what I would call "nice") but I felt duped by these reviews so I didn't want someone else to feel the same.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 101W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pet75, Direttore at Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear guest,
what to say about your review.....
feeling that a stay is going to be difficult.....small room......too cold to go out..... too hot to remain inside.....no space for a lot of suitcases.... a not pleasant sort of scent....No refund for an earlier departure ..-

But above all; no complain during your stay at our Hotel from you for all the apparent lived problems .
Now, we cannot help you anymore , but let us say only one thing: perhaps it was a bad state of mind, the reason of your disappointment regarding our Hotel ???

Last but not least; the guests that you presume were leaving the Hotel apparently without paying the bill; were not our guests. (they were coming from another Hotel and asking informations for a possible stay with us ).

With all our respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#55 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#69 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#56 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca

Property: Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Address: Sestiere Castello 4765 | Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#78 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verardo is an ancient noble palace of the XVI century at only 200mt. from St. Marks square. A pleasant combination of:*ambient atmosphere *proximity to the main points of interest *reasonable prices 3 floors (with lift), with two "piano nobile" (noble floor), with wide walk-able areas, a big terrace on the roof and another one at the first floor (both with canal view), where you can have breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Verardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing