We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
161
256
73
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
256
73
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone staircase ca' rezzonico campo santa margherita quiet canal water taxi bars and restaurants no elevator small supermarket venetian charm short walk really enjoyed our stay here buffet breakfast major attractions nice breakfast main sights san marco yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 526 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

14tth century building ideally located within 20mins walking distance to all major tourist attractions.
Helpful and friendly staff (especially Carlo and Maria).
We would have no hesitation in both recommending this hotel to others and staying there again on our next visit.
Ross and Ellinor

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ross w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpausania, Responsabile reception at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Mr Ross
Thank you very much for your review and we are really happy that you coukd spend a lovely time in our Hotel
We hope to see you again in Hotel Pausania....soon!
Maria Grazia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

A perfect little hotel just off the beaten track. Situated in a lovely quiet area but really close to some excellent restaurants and bars. The decor is beautiful and typically Venetian , with faded mirrors and murals on the ceilings even in your room. Friendly staff and a good cleaning regime means we will definitely stay here again and everyone wants to return to this most beautiful of cities!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank taewens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpausania, receptionist at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy, We appreciate your feedback!
Kind regards from Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

First trip to Venice. Travel agent booked this. How she found this little gem is beyond me. Superb continental accommodations in quiet location (you’ll come to appreciate that as an escape from the hordes in St Mark’s Square, trust me). Comfortable and tastefully appointed room with (yes) Murano chandelier for lighting and fresco on the ceiling! Small but functional bathroom with TUB and boy did we soak in that after traipsing around all day. Santa Margarita Square a hop skip away with restaurants, shops, supermarket, and Venice equivalent of a Dollar Tree for all the stuff you forgot and then some. Did that ever come in handy.
Afloat veggie market on the canal right outside your door. Five minute walk to Ca Rezzonico vaporetto (water taxi) station. It’s like like the neighborhood you wish you’d grown up in as a kid. But the best part was the staff. Sabina and Mauro on front desk/concierge and Daniela handling superb continental breakfast in near Zen-like setting with adjacent garden to start your morning. They take great pride in assisting you and ensuring your stay will be memorable. Ours was. PS: Great little restaurant (Al Profeta) around the corner. The ceviche was to die for!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarkSHFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpausania, Responsabile reception at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Dear Guest
first of all we apologize for the delay in responding to the pleasant positive review and we are happy that even the stay in our Hotel could make your stay in Venice unforgettable
We hope we can still have our welcome guest as soon as possible ....
with regard
Hotel Pausania all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Very historical building.
We loved the location away from the crowds.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
Stairs are a bit of a challenge, but that made it so unique for Venice.

The only negative comment about the place: mold all over the bathroom walls and the grout. It should be treated and repainted as needed. It set off my allergies every time we got back to the room.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpausania, Direttore at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive score and nice words: we really appreciate that you took some of your time to write a review about your experience in our hotel. To know that you loved our location, our historical buiding (including our unique staircase...even if a bit of a challenge...as you described it!!) and our breakfast makes us proud and happy!
We are really sorry about the problem of the mold in the bathroom: every low season we use to paint all the bathrooms of our rooms beacuse unfortunately some of them don't have window and, even if we use a particular product to avoid the reappearance, sometimes at the end of the high season (as in this period) we find ourselves struggling with this bad problem again. If you would have informed us about your allergy we would have moved you to a room with window on the bathroom and, anyway, we will start the maintenence next month strict from the room you were to solve the problem asap!
Looking forward of welcoming you again soon here at Hotel Pausania we thank you again
Kind regards
Martina Gasparini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This hotel was great, the price is right, rooms were clean and food was delightful. The only thing I would mention is that most of the rooms are located on second floor without an elevator. The staircase is 14th century, made of stone so make sure you travel light and are in good physical shape. The location is superb!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpausania, Front Desk Team at Hotel Pausania, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Dear Mrs.Lisa,

Thank you for your kind review, it's a pleasure to read it! We are really glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our location.

We are waiting to welcome you again at Hotel Pausania
for your next time in Venice,

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews