We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveller rating
793
494
90
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
494
90
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gondola station great location gondola service san marco vaporetto stop designer shops water taxi mark's square private terrace gondoliers singing minute walk pastries small canal bottle of prosecco breakfast room grand canal the hotel staff coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Violino d'Oro for three nights in late June/early July. We loved this place. The location couldn't be more perfect. Steps from Piazza San Marco and the San Marco vaporetto stops, this hotel suited us perfectly. This was our first trip to Venice and the location made seeing the city so easy. Right outside the front door is a gondola "station" (the correct term escapes me) from where we took a 40 minute gondola ride. We had a triple room, which provide more than enough space for this family of three. We stayed at several places across Italy on our vacation and I can say that the breakfast at Hotel Violino d'Oro is particularly good. The pastries and rolls were of excellent quality which is not always the case at hotel breakfasts. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Venice and I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank OregonRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've had the pleasure of making this fine hotel my temporary home when I visit. Be sure to make your stay in the low season. The crowds are gone, the weather is fine and the merchants are more relaxed... which means you'll be too. The Violino will make you feel at home too. One time there and you'll be hooked! Ciao.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicByMikeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying back to Australia. Its located within 5 mins from San Marco Piazza and on the door step of all the designer shops if you fancy doing some shopping. The Rialto bridge is probably a 20 min walk. Location was just superb. We had restaurants on our doorstep and a 5 min walk to the water stop for the water taxi to the airport. The hotel itself has a very old historical feel to it. I felt like I had gone back to the 20s. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was pretty big. Although it felt like the room needed a serious refurb, we still had a comfortable sleep. The only downside to the room was that there was no safe. There is free wifi available but you need to ask the front desk for the password. It wasnt given to us upon check in.

A buffet breakfast is available. No hot food but it wasnt needed. All the staff were friendly.

If you are planning to go to the airport on the ferry I would recommend you going to the water stop to gert yout ticket the day before and enquire about times. Lucky we did this as we found out that the ferries will stop running at 1pm due to the America Cup Sailing competition. We would have been stuck with a water taxi costing 100 Euro compared to 15 Euro on the ferry.

Overall, the hotel was great due to location. It was easy to get to from the water stop although be prepared to go up and down a couple of bridges. Not so easy with luggage and a 6 month old baby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comment, it makes us want to do always more and better.
Hotel Violino D'oro is housed in a historical XVIII century venitian palace. Our aim is for our guests to feel the Serenissima Republic atmosphere: that's why all rooms -as the hotel- are intentionally styled according to the taste of that magic period.
I'd say you had gone back to 1700, rather than the 20s, but you gave us the wonderful idea of instructing all our guests-to-come, with a bit of venitian history; if they are interested in such things, of course!
p.s. At present time safes are only on the ground floor and will shortly be placed also in every room.

With Kindest Regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is located within a short walk of San Marco piazza. The staff was extremely helpful with dinner suggestions. Our room was small but this is very typical of European hotels, but with the small amount of time spent in the room the space is adequate. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to wonderful Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at Violino d'oro at the end of our 12 day cruise. Our room was available at 10 am when we checked in. The staff was friendly and had great restaurant recommendations. The location is the best one block from St. Mark's and the vaporetto and ferry stops.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitlinTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews