We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #56 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We booked well in advance so got a good price for 4 nights here in December. It’s an excellent hotel well located for reaching everything in Venice. We had room 110 which was a good size with a lovely bathroom. The room was warm with heating which we could control ourselves. The bed was big and very comfortable. It’s at the back of the hotel so no view but that meant it was nice and quiet. The lobby and breakfast room are very grand and the whole hotel feels very luxurious. Breakfast was great with lots of choice of savoury and sweet and an excellent coffee machine. We took the Alilaguna boat from Marco Polo airport and the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the stop so very convenient when you have luggage. It’s ideally situated for many of the main landmarks and vaparetto stops. The only thing we missed was a hospitality tray in the room so we could make a hot drink after being out in the cold. There is a fridge with soft drinks in the room but no way to make hot drinks. We asked at reception about using the coffee machine in the breakfast room but weren’t able to. The receptionist very kindly made us drinks to take upstairs but this was a favour and we couldn’t really ask this again. Really minor point though. Overall an excellent hotel which I’d highly recommend and would return to if coming to Venice again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A3P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Well located hotel, just off Saint Marks square easy to get to by local transport or water taxi. Staff were helpful and available to answer questions about Venice. They organised a water taxi for us. Breakfast was good. Room was well sized and maintained.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank noal3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Two friends stayed at the Hotel Violino d'Oro for three nights in October, 2017.
The hotel was immaculate, the service was excellent, the morning breakfast buffet was great. The hotel was a short walk from St. Mark's square, right where all the high end shops are located. There is a gondola station right beside the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 104 with 3 windows overlooking the Gondola station. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Only a short walk to ST Mark's Square, this hotel is ideal for those visiting Venice. The staff is friendly and the hotel extremely well maintained. It's also a short walk to the water bus station from the airport (an ideal way to get to the hotel). Breakfast included with the room.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The staff were amazing - super friendly, helpful no matter what time of day. They also respond to emails promptly. We got a basic room for a great price and were very satisfied with the facilities including the shower quality. The breakfast was included and was better than most restaurants that you would have to pay for. Fresh juice and prosecco is a great way to start you morning before a walk through San Marco square. Thank you for having us, we would recommend every time.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jl31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

This hotel is in the best location close to St Marks Square. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is adequate and there is variety. We have enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

First visit to Venice. Lovely boutique hotel in an excellent location. Easy walk from waterbus stop from and to the airport. Got lost a few times in the narrow streets but there's always a sign to San Marco,which is only a couple of minutes from hotel. Small room, very clean and comfortable bed. Friendly staff and good breakfast. We were at the front of the hotel, overlooking the gondolas, and could be a bit noisy but, for us, just added to the atmosphere. We were only there for 3 days and walked everywhere, up to Rialto, over the Accademia Bridge and wandered around that area, away from the crowds. We took a gondola ride from outside the hotel. The location was perfect and the hotel was lovely.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#64 of 387 in Venice
782 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#50 of 387 in Venice
1,317 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 387 in Venice
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $104 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing