We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
248
194
32
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
194
32
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel san zaccaria church great location water transportation yogurt stay there again italian breakfast st marks square close to san marco boiled eggs vaporetto stop helpful with directions friendly hotel few minutes walk single room air conditioning restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 483 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

The moment we walked in we were greeted by the very profession and friendly staff. We were given the key to our beautiful Venetian room over looking the city. Gabriele took time to explain everything we needed to know about getting around the area, from public transportation to navigating to San Marco square(which is right around the corner). He told us which vappoette boats to take to the different islands and when was the best time to go. He arranged for us to tour the fascinating Murino glass factory. Staying at hotel Fontana isn’t like staying in a hotel, it’s like visiting family. Thanks for making our stay in Venice so amazing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KristenUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Very close to water taxi stop . The location makes going anywhere in Venice pretty simple, Diego and Gabrielle were extremely helpful in helping us navigate the city and go to the sights we wanted to see. Breakfast was very good and the bar next door was very good as well . Many restaurants close by for those late night dinners after touring all day. The proximity to San Marco square was great for us in that there is live music played in the evenings .Would recommend highly and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jimbudahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

Third visit to the family run Hotel Fontana. This hotel is only a stroll away from San Marco Square and San Zaccaria Vaperetto stop. The Hotel offers excellent rooms with breakfast, has very good Wifi throughout the hotel and unlike other small hotels has a lift. The reception is run by 2 cousins of the Stainer family Diego and Gabriele. Any advice on where to eat, what tours to go on they're are only too happy to help. My wife and I will be returning. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: A room at the back with balcony
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johnboy2824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Fontana. Great location near main water taxi stops. Also close to San Marco and a brief walk to the Rialto Bridge. Hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful with directions. A bit noisy in the evening but with the windows closed — no problem. Breakfast was good and plenty of nearby restaurants. We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AlgisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018

The hotel is in a great position within a short walk of St Mark's Square. Our room was a double en-suite at the front but wasn't noisy, nice size room the bathroom was small but did the job and was clean.
The breakfast was self service with a good selection of cereals, cold meats rolls and croissants.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful and we often came back and had a coffee in the bar in the evening.
Would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CAK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews