We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Great Value in Venice”
Review of Hotel Caneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caneva
Ranked #344 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I can highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to save money but stay in a great location in Venice.

We stayed for 5 days and our room was bright, clean and spacious. Clean towels were provided and our room was directly next to the bathroom, which was kept so clean that you would never know it was shared. Do not be concerned about sharing a bathroom as we had no problems with accessibility.

The location can't be beat (easy to find when following the hotels directions), 5 minutes from San Marco square, 2 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. The first time finding it was a little tricky but it is in a quiet area right on one of the side canals and all other areas are easily reached by foot.

If you are not too fussy - this is the perfect place to stay when in Venice - if we ever go back we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracyw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

I tried to book in for room in may, it has fast respond for within 24 hour , but then my plans changed and wanna cancel, I send email day for threaded still no reply , then I make phone call finally got an answer from a man saying ok! But still no written reply

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delodelodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed for 3 nights last July. The hotel is quite near to the main attractions but is located at a quiet street near Rialto (a 2 min. walk from Rialto).

It's an old building - there are some little cracks on the ceiling and the walls need to be painted - but everything is very clean. Our room was cleaned and the towels and linen were changed every day. We were given a given a room with views to the canal.

The breakfast was rather basic but nice and the staff was very friendly. Strongly recommended if you are looking for a quiet place and don't want to spend too much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fylgja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed here with my cousin for 4 nights in October 2010. This is a cute little hotel right on one of the side canals. Location can't be beat, 5 minutes from San Marco square, 2 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. The first time finding it was a little tricky but it is in a quiet area right on one of the side canals. This hotel was better than some of the 2 or 3 star places I have stayed at in Europe. We had a shared room on the 2nd floor with twins beds. The room was small but had a sink. The shared bathrooms were super clean. Our room also had a view and a small balcony of the canals. Breakfast was simple but got the job done, mostly cereals, croissants, coffee, and tea. Food is expensive in Venice so that helped. Staff was very kind and friendly to us. Saved money because we paid cash. We paid 70 euros a night instead of 90. Hopefully I can make it back soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottinLA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

great location, very clean ,slept well,very close to the rialto bridge and st marks square what more could you ask for.a good place to eat try del moma not far away.
hotel staff were friendly

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara_miglentsis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We have just returned from Venice, we had 3 nights at Hotel Caneva and it was great. We had room 30 which had a tiny little balcony which really made our stay as we could sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the gondoliers go past.

The hotel is very close to Rialto Bridge so get the vaporetto from Piazza Roma when you arrive with your luggage - don't try to walk like we did!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lullaby200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

There are many great things to stay about this hotel considering its low price and 1* rating, so don't let these factors put you off! The hotel is in an excellent location, (easy to find when following the hotels directions) and just minutes away from Venice's most popular sights. The staff were very friendly and the whole hotel was spotless. The breakfast was basic, with breads and cereals, but plentiful all the same. We were also lucky enough to get a view overlooking the canal, which was an added bonus! Although the hotel only has air conditioning in the lobby, we did have a large fan in the room which was sufficient in the 30degree heat. Overall we had a fantastic three nights and just wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevie_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#231 of 387 in Venice
81 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
372 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#106 of 387 in Venice
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#228 of 387 in Venice
405 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#100 of 387 in Venice
586 reviews
Al Piccolo Hotel
#246 of 387 in Venice
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caneva

Address: Castello 5515 | Ramo dietro la Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $92 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Caneva 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing